We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - first class all the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Formerly Comfort Suites) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place - first class all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last 10 years and always found the quality impeccable. However, I have not stayed since the latest remodel and all I can stay is that it's even better than ever!!

It's convenient because they have quick grab and good deli/food place (a little spendy, but all of downtown is) and the sit down restaurant had great food!

The only draw back....we were there for an event at the target center and MN winters make walking less than ideal. There isn't direct skyway access on nights and weekends and if the skyways are open it's about a 45 minute walk to stay in the warmth. The staff did suggest a quick cab ride would be better, but if you are looking to walk in the winter to the target center there may be closer/better options.

perfect for the Convention Center though!

All in all, we would 100% stay again. We prefer nice quality when we travel and this hotel did not disappoint.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
28
18
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Once I got passed the entrance on the bottom floor (little confusing on how to get to the hotel), I enjoyed every minute in Minneapolis! The downtown area was clean with numerous restaurants and bars of every genre. The hotel is connected to the skywalk which was very convenient. The room was very nice and clean. It had a separate bedroom and living area with TV's in both rooms. The hotel was quiet and the breakfast was decent as well. The furnishings were very modern. Never had a bad experience with any of the staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear NYCbig8487,
Thank you for the great 5 point review of your stay. The staff does work very hard to make each guest feel like they are at home. I love your TripAdvisor icon of Mr. Redlegs. Hope to see you again when you return.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in a suite at the Hyatt last weekend and I was extremely impressive. The room was clean and nicely furnished, the staff was friendly and attentive. There was a complimentary continental breakfast that my partner and I were extremely pleased with due to a reasonable selection of food and strong coffee.

Some of the negatives of the Hyatt Place were:
a) Having to take two elevators to get to the room
b) There was no hand lotion and shoe mitt provided in the room. For me, these features are standard. They provided lotion when asked, but did not have shoe mitts.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear A K, Thank you for the positive review and the highlights of the hotel; both good and bad. We are a mixed use building and do not own the floors below us causing the two elevator system. I hope this did not make it to time consuming for you during your stay. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. It is a lot better than the one near the airport. The room was very clean. The staff was incredibly friendly and the breakfast was fantastic. I highly suggest this place if you are traveling for business. You will feel rested!

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Rhianna S,
Thank you so much for the great review. The staff works very hard to make everyone's stay clean and enjoyable. We just opened last year, so our rooms and layout are a bit larger than our sister property at the airport. We hope that you will stay with us again during your next visit.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed 3 nights at the Hyatt Place Downtown. First I would like to say that the room was beautiful and huge! It was very clean and modern looking. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. They even kept the snack bar open late since we were at a concert until 2 am. My only minor complaint is that the bar does not have much variety. Only the basic liquors.

Room Tip: Great location to Target Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Heather J,
Thank you for the great five point review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff took care of your needs. I hope to see you again when you visit Minneapolis in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

This hotel represents the best value I have found in Minneapolis/downtown. While a bit of a walk from the main downtown area it is manageable. The rooms are very very big and the hotel is very nice since the re model. The rooms can fit a family or a few couples depending on the size you select.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Jpb, Thank you so much for the great review. The room size is one of our best selling features as they are at least double the standard hotel with two 42" LED TVs. It sounds like you made your way around town. I hope to see you on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I was there for a busy, stressful conference that ran ALL weekend and I pretty much never left the hotel--the staff was excellent in every department. Patient, friendly, calm, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel itself is nice, and the lobby decor interesting, too....and really, it was the people who made it a great, heart-warming experience.

Room Tip: Get a room on the "outside" or you'll be looking in on the pool with fluorescent light...
See more room tips
Green Features: I wish there were vegan food options--as that's the most environmentally-friendly thing you can do :-)
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear Jenny B., Thank you for the great 5 point review. It was wonderful hearing all your comments about the staff. We are do for a menue change soon in 2015 and perhaps our corporate office will add more Vegan items. I hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown

Address: 425 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newly renovated Hyatt Place, perfectly situated in downtown Minneapolis. Following the recently completed $20 million dollar transformation, guests will enjoy a striking new lobby, 213 luxurious suites, meeting facilities, pool area, workout facilities and a brand new restaurant and bar. Connected to the cities iconic climate controlled Skyway, you are mere minutes away from the Convention Center, expansive shopping options, amazing restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. You're within walking distance to the home of the Minnesota Twins, Target Field, location of the 2014 MLB All-Star game. You're also a short walk to Mall of America Field, home of the Minnesota Vikings. Located less than three blocks away from the revolutionary Hiawatha Light Rail, you can travel easily to and from the MSP International airport as well as the world renowned Mall of America. A short stroll to the Mississippi waterfront is home to the Mill City District. Rich in history, the area boasts fine dining, striking views of Saint Anthony Falls, gorgeous parks, and extensive walking and bike paths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Minneapolis
Comfort Suites Minneapolis
Minneapolis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.