We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Value In Minneapolis/Downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Formerly Comfort Suites) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Value In Minneapolis/Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel represents the best value I have found in Minneapolis/downtown. While a bit of a walk from the main downtown area it is manageable. The rooms are very very big and the hotel is very nice since the re model. The rooms can fit a family or a few couples depending on the size you select.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jpb, Thank you so much for the great review. The room size is one of our best selling features as they are at least double the standard hotel with two 42" LED TVs. It sounds like you made your way around town. I hope to see you on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
28
16
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there for a busy, stressful conference that ran ALL weekend and I pretty much never left the hotel--the staff was excellent in every department. Patient, friendly, calm, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel itself is nice, and the lobby decor interesting, too....and really, it was the people who made it a great, heart-warming experience.

Room Tip: Get a room on the "outside" or you'll be looking in on the pool with fluorescent light...
See more room tips
Green Features: I wish there were vegan food options--as that's the most environmentally-friendly thing you can do :-)
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jenny B., Thank you for the great 5 point review. It was wonderful hearing all your comments about the staff. We are do for a menue change soon in 2015 and perhaps our corporate office will add more Vegan items. I hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, South Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first time staying at the Hyatt Place. I called ahead of time to see how parking worked. The staff was very helpful and their directions were spot on. Check in was fast and the staff courteous. Rooms are huge, beds comfortable, and bathroom was clean. Due to a high volume of people staying there were extra toiletries and towels in the room with a note from the manager, a nice extra touch. Breakfast was nice, fast, and there was a nice selection of both hot and cold food items. The hotel is connected to the skyway system and you can get to the Nicolette Mall, Downtown, Target Center and Target field. The light rail is 1 block away with access all over Minneapolis and St Paul. My only complaint was that there was only 1 elevator to the rooms that was working. You had to wait a while due to how busy the hotel was. This was a minor issue and I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying here again. Some people complain about the noise but remember you are downtown in a major city. Sirens and car noise come with the territory.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Craig, Thank you for the nice review you posted on Tripadvisor along with the pictures. I am glad to read that you understand the outside city noises. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will choose the Hyatt Place again when you find yourself in Minneapolis.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted to choose a downtown hotel during my visit to the Twin Cities since I was heading off to one of the Garth Brooks concerts. The Hyatt Place came in at a great price.

Space is not sparse at this business hotel that is great for those traveling for work or pleasure. My king bed room had a great bedroom and separate living room area with more than enough space to relax in.

The hotel lobby/atrium also doubles as the bar and kitchen offering a better-than-continental breakfast (complete with hot breakfast sandwiches) and a lively after-work bar atmosphere. The staff were fantastic, and made an effort to give exceptional personalized service (they knew me by name after only one visit for dinner!)

The workout room is above average with new equipment, and the pool is good for those who want to get in a quick swim. The only downside is that additional gym equipment like swiss balls and workout mats are not available - but I was able to modify my routine.

The Hyatt Place is connected to the rest of downtown via the SkyWay system. This proved useful on frigid days when I wanted to go to the Nicollet Mall, and even to get to the concert at Target Centre. Access to the LRT is two buildings over via SkyWay and is also easy to access.

Overall, a great stay. I would not hesitate to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear John H., Thank you for the great review on Tripadvisor. It was great to have all the Garth Brooks fans in town for the concerts. I believe you highlighted almost every amenity we offer include our great bar and staff. I hope to see you when you come south again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Hyatt Place for the yearly US Open Racquetball Chanpionships in October. This was one of the host hotels, but also the farthest from the Target Center. Best decision ever- it was less expensive and the rooms were fantastic! We love the bedroom with separate living room area. The 24 hour bar/kitchen had excellent options. Nothing like coming back to the hotel after a long match with the staff ready to make you anything you wanted to eat! The free breakfast was great. We do a lot of traveling with our kids events, and have stayed in a ton of hotels. This met all of our practical needs and the staff went out of their way to help us.

The hotel is a 20 min walk to the Target Center but if you walk 2 blocks, you can ride the train straight to the Target center. The cost for an all day pass on the train was $6. Done- we will be back next and absolutely will go back to Hyatt place!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jenniffer H., Thank you for the great 5 point review. It was a pleasure hosting all the players from all around the world. We hope to see everyone again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were sitting in our room and people walked in with keys to the same room. Thankfully we were there and none of our stuff came up missing. Then when we tried to get back in later our keys didn't work. While the front desk lady was nice she didn't apologize and pretty much said it happens. That shouldn't happen! If your expecting a shuttle turns out they really don't have one and parking isn't included it's $20 a day. Overall nice hotel and pleasant staff just misinformed on website and unapologetic.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Apruett, Please accept my apology for your room being rented to another party. This is not a typically thing and is actually very hard to do in the computer. I am curious as to where you read that we have a shuttle. On our Hyatt Place web site, we do not list a shuttle service and the parking cost is clearly stated in the middle of the home page. We attempt to monitor other web pages, but cannot control what they post. I can be reached by email at Jay.Slaboch@hyatt.com or 612-333-3111. Hope to see you again when you are back in Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannaska, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lots to love about the top floor view of the city! Bedding was plush, bathroom was spacious, staff was very pleasant. Hot breakfast and tasty evening snacks made it a very pleasant base of tourist explorations.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Bizzie, Thank you for the great review. The staff works hard at trying to make everyone's stay special. I hope to see you again during your next visit to Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown

Address: 425 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newly renovated Hyatt Place, perfectly situated in downtown Minneapolis. Following the recently completed $20 million dollar transformation, guests will enjoy a striking new lobby, 213 luxurious suites, meeting facilities, pool area, workout facilities and a brand new restaurant and bar. Connected to the cities iconic climate controlled Skyway, you are mere minutes away from the Convention Center, expansive shopping options, amazing restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. You're within walking distance to the home of the Minnesota Twins, Target Field, location of the 2014 MLB All-Star game. You're also a short walk to Mall of America Field, home of the Minnesota Vikings. Located less than three blocks away from the revolutionary Hiawatha Light Rail, you can travel easily to and from the MSP International airport as well as the world renowned Mall of America. A short stroll to the Mississippi waterfront is home to the Mill City District. Rich in history, the area boasts fine dining, striking views of Saint Anthony Falls, gorgeous parks, and extensive walking and bike paths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Minneapolis
Comfort Suites Minneapolis
Minneapolis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.