We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Formerly Comfort Suites) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #20 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
St. Johns, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Large rooms and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The entire hotel was spacious. There are essentially two lobbies - one by the dining and bar area and one by the separately enclosed pool. Plenty of room to get some personal space. The pool was nice and clean, the pool area was clean and had plenty of towels and a nice hot tub.

We had a room with a king bed and a pullout couch - but I have to say that the feel of the space was that it used to be an apartment due to the amount of square footage. If I had to guess it is 650-700 sq ft! We are a family of four (boys 9 and 11) and it was very comfortable. It slept like a one bedroom apartment without a bedroom door.

We were there to explore the city and a Twins game. The transit train to Target Field is just down the street. Very convenient and quick. If you like a nice walk, it's not far to the river, Mill Ruins park and the Stone Arch Bridge.

The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was solid - which is something you can expect from a Hyatt Place. Tip : if you're parking in the garage, be sure and let them know at the desk so they can give you a validation ticket.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
12
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a four day weekend with our 2 teens. The breakfast bar was good. Pool not overly large but big enough. The desk staff was very good, although I will say that they seemed short staffed for the traffic in the hotel. My only frustration is there was not an in room safe. Instead we had to make use of the safe deposit box, having to get front desk assistance with each need for the box. In today's age, with everyone having cameras and electronics, I am amazed at hotels not accommodating this need better.

The room was nice sized. The fan system was loud enough to drown out all street noise except for the occasional siren.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has undergone a complete rehab since it has been under the Hyatt Brand. It is great and right downtown in Minneapolis. Our room was actually ungraded to a two bedroom suite which was a nice bonus. My son LOVED the pool as well. We would DEF stay here again if in Minny

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a wedding. We liked the hotel's location well enough, though getting through the skyways to the Nicollet Mall might be a bit complicated if one were not familiar with the area; it's a good ten minute walk to Macy's. The front desk ( fairly young group) worked very hard to do their jobs properly and were successful . Our sixth floor room was quiet enough, but we could still hear sirens - though we slept well. No significant hall noise when we were there. The room was pleasant and well kept, the bed comfortable. Our only complaint was that the room was not serviced by 2pm on Saturday, when we needed to get ready for the wedding - so towels were sent up. The breakfast was fine - the spacious high ceilinged room was very nice for conversation with other wedding guests also staying there.

We especially appreciated the staff telling us about the $5 cab ride option around downtown, as we were taking someone a bit handicapped to lunch that day on the Mall and didn't want to take our car out of the parking garage.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: I believe this hotel had a recycling waste basket set aside….
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family couldn't find a hotel near Bloomington due to a convention, and stumbled upon this one. Very clean! Newly renovated and it shows! Our room was a little noisy due to it facing the hospital side but didn't bother us after awhile. Free breakfast and nice pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I don't give many hotels five star ratings, especially when the AC isn't working for half the trip but problems happen and the staff at this hotel ended up making it right.

We arrived late and didn't realize until too late that the AC in our room wasn't working. I spoke with a manager the next morning and he apologized, said he would have it looked at and gave me $10 worth of vouchers to use at the bar/store. Couldn't ask for it to be handled any differently. We arrived back in the room later that day and the AC was working fine but later that night, it stopped again leaving us to sleep in a warm room. I spoke to another manager the next morning and he again apologized, offered to give us a different room and when I declined, comped us our parking fee for our three night stay -- a $60 value. The AC was fixed later that day.

The managerial staff was obviously trained well in handling these situations and this crew turned a negative experience into a positive one for us. Beyond that, some other positives: an above average breakfast in a very large seating area, large and clean rooms, and a fifteen minute walk to Target field and all the nightlife.

I was looking for a reason to give four stars rather than five, but this hotel did everything I would ask for for $150 a night. Despite other postings, we stayed on the first floor (room 112) and found it to be very quiet. No problems.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a sweet because we traveled with friends. The room was large, bright and clean. The hotel is in a great location for sporting events and it will just get better when the Vikes stadium is built. I'd have awarded 5 stars but the breakfast was a little disappointing for the price.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown

Address: 425 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#26 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newly renovated Hyatt Place, perfectly situated in downtown Minneapolis. Following the recently completed $20 million dollar transformation, guests will enjoy a striking new lobby, 213 luxurious suites, meeting facilities, pool area, workout facilities and a brand new restaurant and bar. Connected to the cities iconic climate controlled Skyway, you are mere minutes away from the Convention Center, expansive shopping options, amazing restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. You're within walking distance to the home of the Minnesota Twins, Target Field, location of the 2014 MLB All-Star game. You're also a short walk to Mall of America Field, home of the Minnesota Vikings. Located less than three blocks away from the revolutionary Hiawatha Light Rail, you can travel easily to and from the MSP International airport as well as the world renowned Mall of America. A short stroll to the Mississippi waterfront is home to the Mill City District. Rich in history, the area boasts fine dining, striking views of Saint Anthony Falls, gorgeous parks, and extensive walking and bike paths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Minneapolis
Comfort Suites Minneapolis
Minneapolis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.