We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, really nice well sized rooms with easy parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Formerly Comfort Suites) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great location, really nice well sized rooms with easy parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Positives 1st. Upper floor room was very spacious, clean, and great city views if facing downtown. Easy access self parking ($17 per day) and bring your ticket in to charge and stamp for full stay access and a hotel charge vs day to day. EASY ..great easy walk to numerous restaurant options within 5 block area.
Now the Not so great. Takes too much time to check in and check out due to large hotel and limited # of staff on desk. (A problem IMO) lobby is both noisy and busy due to meetings and seminar folks coming and going

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
11
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I loved staying at this hotel, It was super nice!! Rooms were clean, beds were super comfy , service was great and Breakfast was AMAZING. They put alot of effort into it, Every morning was different; french toast, breakfast sandwiches and then pancakes. Even fresh cut up fruit. Pool is really small though and I Excepted it to be bigger considering the hotel is so nice.

LOCATION: is great if you are into baseball and the downtown vibe. I went downtown and walked down and picked a bar/restaurant to go to. The energy was great down there cause it was right after a game.

Although everything was great, I was not happy for the first whole day of my stay.
First, PARKING is EXTRA. 20$ / night stayed and it is recommended if you're planning on leaving alot, which I was so I had no choice. Leaving the parking lot is extremely dangerous also especially in rush hour traffic when cars are speeding by. We almost got hit trying to leave on our first day! Also the parking lot has very small spots which could be inconvenient if you have a bigger vehicle.

Lastly, these walls at this hotel are thin. I could hear everything from both rooms on either side of me. After 11pm the room beside me was still loud but I just ignored it cause it wasnt that bad and fell asleep. At around 3 IN THE MORNING!!!! I woke up to people laughing super loud and I could hear every word they were saying!!! I was not impressed with this because it did not stop either!
BUT
I told the front desk the next day and they said they would have security around there and were super helpful on the situation. I heard no noise after that but I don't think it was because of security, I honestly think it was because they left. There was security around though. I do recommend a higher floor and maybe a corner room so you don't have the same situation I did.

Overall, I loved my stay but I don't think I would stay again due to parking fees (I understand its downtown but it added another unexpected 70$$!) and for me personally the location is too far away from what I was doing during my stay. (but for anyone else it would work).

Room Tip: Higher level because the whole hotel is open so you're going to hear everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location is very convenient to walk to city attractions and restaurants. Hotel was very clean, friendly staff, and rooms were spacious. I would recommend a higher floor as noise seemed to carry from lobby areas. We were on 5 and it was perfect. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is convenient- makes the town very walkable. Every staff member was friendly, helpful and smiley. Hotel was clean and well-maintained. The continental breakfast was above average. Rooms are large and inviting.
The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 out of 5 was because of noise. I could easily hear goings on in the hallway and next door. Finally, the hotel is located near a hospital, which meant that at ALL hours of the day and night, sirens could be heard from my side of the building. A coworker who stayed on the other side never heard a thing. Request to be put on the west side of the building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Returned to stay after a long absence and found under Hyatt ownership that things are still as great as I remember when Embassy Suites owned the property. Breakfast is adequate and convenience to all things in the heart of Minneapolis makes this property a great place. Rooms are spacious and well kept, pool area though small has great view of skyline and exercise room is for me more than sufficient. Staff was very helpful especially during All Star week that I just attended. Would recommend this facility to anyone family or individual.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One night stay. Late flight ....delayed extra 4 hrs and arrived at 430 AM. I called to let them know and they suggested there car service which is $40 and supposedly cheaper than getting a cab at the airport at that hour. We were happy to be met by a very nice driver in an Escalade and wisked to hotel where despite the time, they were waiting for us with a swift check in. Slept past the breakfast. Good assist at front desk for a day out walking and a late check out. Room and bath met all expectations with a comfy long sleep. Location a bit out of the way relative to the Hyatt Regency or Hilton but we had great weather and were happy to walk around. Surprisingly, and too late to influence my choice, while the rate here went UP after booking on Hyatt's site, the rate at the Hyatt Regency plummeted to about 2/3 of Hyatt Place and this might have influenced me. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: they are all mini suites without door between "living room" and sleeping area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked in advance and got a very good rate, especially considering the downtown location of this hotel. We attended a game at Target Field and enjoyed the short walk to the stadium. There is also a Tram that is easy to access and only cost 50 cents to ride. Here's a breakdown of what we thought of the hotel:

Room: Very large, spacious, great TV's, nice bedding, ice cold air, bathroom door was hard to lock, occasional sirens from nearby hospital

Breakfast: FREE! Not many downtown hotels offer a free breakfast...we stayed Saturday-Tuesday and noticed that the weekday breakfast was better than the weekend. Weekdays they had gourmet breakfast sandwiches that did not disappoint. Plenty of seating, even though the hotel was sold out.

Pool area: One whirlpool was broken, but both times we were swimming, not a single person was in the other one anyways. The pool is small...there were 2 other families swimming at the same time as us and it definitely felt crowded. Nice lounge chairs, good water temp.

Service: We did not encounter any negative or rude employees...all of our requests were fulfilled.

Lounge/Restaurant: We ordered dinner one evening and I would highly recommend the portabella mushroom soup...very tasty! Reasonable prices and quick service.

Parking: For us, the parking was the biggest issue with this hotel. Using the attached parking garage, the fee is $17 per day...IF you don't leave. If you need to leave & return, it can get very pricey. We opted for the fee through the hotel for $20 per day, which is a bit of a pain. You have to stop at the front desk and get a validation card to exit. There are town homes above the hotel and we noticed them using a scan card to get right through. It would be nice if the hotel would also link their parking with their room keys and waive the fee.

We really enjoy staying at the Hyatt Place chain and hope to return to Minneapolis in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Free internet...
Show More
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#3 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#10 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown

Address: 425 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#24 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newly renovated Hyatt Place, perfectly situated in downtown Minneapolis. Following the recently completed $20 million dollar transformation, guests will enjoy a striking new lobby, 213 luxurious suites, meeting facilities, pool area, workout facilities and a brand new restaurant and bar. Connected to the cities iconic climate controlled Skyway, you are mere minutes away from the Convention Center, expansive shopping options, amazing restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. You're within walking distance to the home of the Minnesota Twins, Target Field, location of the 2014 MLB All-Star game. You're also a short walk to Mall of America Field, home of the Minnesota Vikings. Located less than three blocks away from the revolutionary Hiawatha Light Rail, you can travel easily to and from the MSP International airport as well as the world renowned Mall of America. A short stroll to the Mississippi waterfront is home to the Mill City District. Rich in history, the area boasts fine dining, striking views of Saint Anthony Falls, gorgeous parks, and extensive walking and bike paths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Minneapolis
Comfort Suites Minneapolis
Minneapolis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.