We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel without downtown prices.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Minneapolis/Univ of Minnesota

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Minneapolis/Univ of Minnesota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Minneapolis/Univ of Minnesota
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2407 University Avenue SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% More Wyndham Rewards
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel without downtown prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I spent 5 night at the Days Hotel while attending a convention at the Minneapolis Convention Center in Downtown. The hotel is located on the edge of the U of M campus, and 3 miles from the Convention Center. I took less than 15 minutes in rush hour to drive to the convention center or other attractions downtown.
I booked a 1bed Queen NS for $69.00 a night. What a bargain!! The room was small, but had a queen bed,desk, chair. fridge and microwave, and an older 25 inch TV. The room was perfect size for one person. Parking was free and right next to the building. The hotel is located across a parking lot from the football statium at U of M, and also down the street from a little "Campustown".
The breakfast was basic (cereal, breads and coffee). There are several options for breakfast down the street.( Egg and I, Cupcake, Al's) There are plenty of food options within a mile of the hotel..
The staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions that i had. If you are looking for a good hotel near downtown Minneapolis, the Days Hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    163
    150
    59
    23
See reviews for
210
56
47
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devils lake
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I just wanted to msay that the ppl here are great , the service was great and i would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends.. i was down there to go to univ. of minn. trying to get a liver for my brother.. i would have given him a piece of mine but im diabetic.. so its a hard thing to go through.. but all the ppl there made it a little easier they were all great especially their driver steve...thank you all for being so patient and understanding....FARIN AND DON LIGGETT

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ignace, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Great place to stay, shuttle to the Mall of America, plus shuttles to the football games, great staff, i got lost do to road construction and staff helped me return 2 times. Continental breakfast was nice. Pets are allowed for a 20.00 fee.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We made reservations at this hotel due to its proximity to the U of MN to attend a football game. It was conveniently located and within easy walking distance to the stadium. However, on their web site, it states "free parking" for guests. The game started before the hotel's "official check-in time", so we had to pay $20.00 to park there. Don't have a problem with that, but when we checked into the hotel later that afternoon, they should have refunded the money due to be paying guests. Talked to the front desk manager and the hotel manager and didn't get anywhere with them. Not very good customer service.
We've been to two additional sporting events and have stayed elsewhere.
Moral of the story sports fans, stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed here while vising the U of M. Very convenient location, very comfortable. Small breakfast room though for the size of the hotel, consider bringing food- there is a large refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I was not impressed, mostly distressed.

The room is tiny. The AC cannot be well controlled. Too cold or too hot, but always humid.

Their internet connection is VERY slow, often unusable. No surprise, they have only low speed modems. The desk clerk tried to reset the server it but it did not help. Said he knew it was a problem.

There are few places to walk to for dinner. Very desolate in August.

The staff was friendly but not able to find my package until I insisted they look further. Oops, they found it after saying it was not there.

Overall it ain't what the reviewers said it was.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We go to Minneapolis for baseball every year. The hotel provides transportation to and from Target Field. There is a great continental breakfast. Not a fancy hotel, but has lots of pluses - the breakfast, the transportation, parking for your vehicle, very friendly and helpful staff, rooms are comfortable and its affordable. There is no pool here, but we are either at a game or shopping, so not a big deal for us. Bottom line - it's a good hotel to stay at and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Minneapolis/Univ of Minnesota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Minneapolis/Univ of Minnesota

Address: 2407 University Avenue SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Minneapolis/Univ of Minnesota 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Minneapolis/Univ of Minnesota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Minneapolis/Univ Of Minnesota Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Minneapolis/Univ of Minnesota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.