We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderul location, wonderful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
arizona
1 review
“Wonderul location, wonderful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

I just wanted to drop a quick note to say what a pleasant stay I had at the downtown B/W Normandy. The cental location allowed me to walk the town, including the Walker and stroll the wonderful outdoor sculpture gardens on a clear, fall, Veterans Day.

I would highly recommend the B/W Normandy to any type of traverler, Ken Kennedy

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    239
    63
    26
    23
See reviews for
165
168
56
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casa Grande, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Well kept older downtown hotel. We stayed for the Vikings-Lions
game and were pleased with the quality, service and location. Easy
safe walk to the game. 2 blocks from light rail which worked well for
our short weekend stay for the game so no rent a car required!
Great Restaurant....check out the Walleye Dinner!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

We gathered to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the University of MN School of Nursing. My friends and I graduated in 1961 and have pursued many different paths in nursing, medicine and social work. We found the Normandy a perfect venue for our get-together. Staff provided a shuttle for us to go to our gala celebration at the Convention Center.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Well appointed lobby and roomy suites. Easy walking distance to downtown shopping and entertainment. Very good restaurant, with wide menu selections served in a warm and quiet atmosphere. Fantastic complimentary freshly-baked cookies and milk served at 10 pm.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

I was impressed with the clean, very updated rooms. Staff was very helpful with directions and who to order pizza from at 2 a.m:). Bed was very comfortable, had plenty of towels. The only thing was our room smelled strongly of cigeratte smoke even though the hotel is smoke free. Our friends were in the room next to us and their room did not smell at all, so we just had someone breaking the rules in our room, unfortunately. They do accept AAA discount so be sure to ask for it! Parking overnight was $7.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

My wife, our Shih Tzu (Google) and I travelled to Minneapolis on vacation. The Normandy Inn and Suites offered a great location, in house kitchen and reasonable rates. I chose the King Suite expecting a King bed in a large room. I was pleasantly surprised to find the suite with two large rooms with a door separating the outer room from the bedroom. The bathroom was large and modern featuring a glass enclosed shower. The suite rivaled suites I was accustomed to staying in at the Bellagio. The outer room had a nice work desk, couch, recliner and large flat screen HDTV. The wireless internet worked flawlessly. The room was great and the food was supurb. The Normandy has a scratch kitchen with an extensive menu. I ate breakfast in the kitchen each morning during our 4-day stay. In the evening, my wife and I enjoyed room service. Hats off to Nick and Sarah for making the room service an excellent experience. The Inn Keeper, Mr. Mike Noble stopped at my table one morning to ask me how I was enjoying my stay. We spoke for a while and I explained to him that the last time I ate at the Normandy Kitchen was for my high school prom supper in 1960. I was pleased to tell him the food was as good now as it was then. Mr. Noble is a 3rd generation Inn Keeper at the Normandy. His pride in the property and his attention to detail is obvious. Whether you are on vaction or on a business trip, I recommend the Normandy Inn and Suites as the best hotel value in downtown Minneapolis.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

I traveled as a woman alone to business seminar in Minneapolis. I stayed at Normandy Inn for 2 nights .. I felt very safe. Lovely Lobby area-rooms very secure quiet atmosphere for sleeping . Great location !!. Desk staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.