We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Lakewood, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in this downtown hotel for three nights in order to see the sights in Minneapolis and St. Paul. It's close to the highway and most downtown landmarks. I LOVED that they had a shuttle to the Twins game at Target Field. The room was comfortable, with the only downside being a neighbor with a loud tv. They have filtered water available by the ice machines, which was great to fill up on before heading out for the day. Although we didn't get to partake, free cookies and milk were available every night at 10 :) The hotel parking was reasonably priced, and was easy to manage with in/out privileges. The staff were always helpful whenever we had questions. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms with out the optional door adjoining another room are most likely quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    207
    50
    22
    22
See reviews for
134
129
50
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

They waste money and water washing clean towels. Brought to staffs attention and problem continued. I don't like when hotels make themselves look like there doing a good service by saving the world water and they don't even follow there own towel washing guideline.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 4 star review and "eye opening" comments about our water conservation policy. At The Normandy Inn we take this policy seriously and will be using your feedback to implement improvements to our policy. We will use your review as a training tool to ensure everyone is on board with proper linen replacement and recycling. Thank you again for your feedback and it will only help us get better at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OGILVIE
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel is nicely furnished...it's an old building. Doesn't look like much from the outside, but very nice inside. Shuttle service to/from Target Center and Target Field was a nice ammenity! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our nicely furnished hotel and complimentary shuttle service! We look forward to your next trip to The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place and easy to get to. Check in couldn't have been easier, everything was just as we had discussed when reservations were made. Parking was a breeze and cheap for downtown. Our room was a beautiful 2 room suite, there was a nice downtown view. Bathroom was awesome. Walk-In shower with glass door. Living room had a nice frig- freezer and microwave and coffee pot. Room was quiet.
Made a long stop at the bar, the bar tenders knew all about the tap beer. Had a great time visiting with the other guests, 2 who were from New Zealand and Australia.
Place was very clean, pool area was nice, Public bathroom was great. Lobby areas very nice and many different small areas so you can have a nice conversation. This place has its own unique décor.
Only recommendation I have is to get a new coffee cake recipe, a moister recipe is what you need. And ALL NIGHT cookies...
But lets talk about the highlight of this place- the STAFF. Kudos to Joey and rest of the staff, offered to make dinner reservations, gave us a map and directions and couldn't have done more, offered shuttle service, but it was a beautiful night so we walked to State Theater.
I love how they had umbrellas by the door in case you needed one-
This place has a Best Western name, but this is a boutique hotel all the way.
Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate you taking the time to respond on Tripadvisor and I thoroughly enjoyed reading your 5 star review! Next time you visit us I would love to meet you and talk about the wonderful history of The Normandy. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for the high praise of our lovely hotel and Normandy Kitchen Café & Bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was all around an excellent hotel, ie location, price, cleanliness, friendly staff etc. This was first stay at this hotel but will stay here again in the future. Very clean, helpful staff, comfortable beds and great downtown location within walking distance to almost everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review and positive comments about our centralized location, great value, high cleanliness standards, friendly staff and comfortable beds! We are excited to hear you will be returning and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel while in Minneapolis for the baseball All Star game so it was very convenient to the park and the convention center. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room had an old musty smell to it but for the price and location it was tolerable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our centralized location, friendly staff and great value! Next time you experience anything undesirable please let us know as we are quick to fix any problem. We hope you enjoyed the All-Star game and hope to see you again soon at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel provides a shuttle to Target Field and back at no charge! The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant to work with. Parking is easy and $8.00 per night is charged to your hotel account. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the downtown Minneapolis area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review and positive comments about our complimentary shuttle service, helpful staff and convenient parking! We hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.