We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great property, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
kansas city, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great property, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

i stay here often for business. this is one of the few hotels that everyone has a great personality, and the food is good. after three years, i have no complaints. the rooms have always been clean, and when you forget something, the front desk has something for you. if you leave something in your room, the staff makes sure it arrives at your home. this is a nice place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive feedback and the fact you are a repeat customer! It is great to hear that you enjoy our clean and comfortable guest rooms, classic Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar, and our wonderful staff! We look forward to your next visit at The Normandy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    216
    53
    23
    22
See reviews for
146
137
52
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha Nebraska
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for a football game and it was a good experience. The check in was smpoth and the front desk employees were able to help us find great places to eat and drink. The hotel is located about six block from the Nicollet mall and most bars and restaurants. The rooms are updated with flat screen televisions, Keurig type coffee makers, a refrigerator, lots of outlets for your electronics, and nice bedding. You can tell it is an older hotel but they do a nice job of keeping current. There is no breakfast offered but an on sight restaurant available. We did not use the pool or hot tub but it is in an atrium in the middle of the hotel and was being used by many people. Warm cookies and milk are put out every night at ten..nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for submitting your kind and informative review on Tripadvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Normandy Inn for the football game. On your next stay I would suggest giving our Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar a try for either breakfast, lunch or dinner. We will also have a beautiful new renovated pool area coming by the end of December! Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have an annual conference in Minneapolis. I have stayed at the Hilton before, but it's usually very pricey. This year I wanted to save some money and also see what was available comparable to the Hilton's price. The Hilton has a decent price, and their conference rate was better than other highrise hotels downtown. But the Best Western Normandy Inn is a much, much better choice for the price. The only drawback is that you don't get the views like those at the Hilton, but the view is not worth an extra $50 a night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad you got a chance to discover that even at a lesser price we can still provide a superior guest experience. We hope you get a chance to visit us again next year for your conference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, IA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Best Western, picking it for the price and location, as was there for a concert at the Target Center. It was about an 8 block walk and was a comfortable distance. Most hotels closer were much more expensive. The outside didn’t lead me to high hopes, however upon entering was greeted with a warm inside, and well decorated. The staff were helpful and friendly, particularly in the restaurant and lounge area. The Normandy Inn had decent food, a bit overpriced, but the waitress and her expertise, kindness and knowledge of the local brews and wines did the restaurant much justice. I would definitely stay here again if needing to stay downtown in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments posted on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Normandy Inn and dining experience at The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar. I was extremely happy to read your comments on how well your server was knowledgeable and kind. We hope you have a chance to visit us again and if going to a concert at the Target Center be sure to catch our complimentary shuttle for a ride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I really like the interior decoration which gives the feel of a medieval castle..

Their gym, pool and sauna facilities are amazing. They have a bunch of board games in the common room that can make you feel really cozy right by the fireplace in the cold wintery weather of Minneapolis..

Another sweet perk is the complimentary milk and cookies they give out at 11 pm everyday.

Their cafeteria food is really oily though. :-) The room service was excellent and the staff were quite nice as well. They let us check in earlier even though they didn't have to... My best western points are also loading up..

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our interior design, fitness center, pool area, friendly staff, complimentary milk and cookies and room service from The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar. One correction for our readers would be that we serve our cookies at 10pm. I also question the cafeteria comment as we have a fine dining restaurant? Overall, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Cookies and milk in the lobby every night, free shuttle service to convention center, and incredibly helpful and courteous staff put this hidden gem over the top. The rooms are very clean and the food at the restaurant is good. The best part is the staff, can't say enough great things about everyone we met!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for submitting your very positive review on Tripadvisor! It is very nice to hear that our friendly and professional staff was able to take care of all your needs. We also appreciate the positive comments about our cleanliness, cookies and milk, complimentary shuttle service and wonderful Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! We hope you get a chance to come visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

When I first saw the outside of the building, I was a little concerned with what I would find inside. However, from the moment we stepped inside I was impressed with the cleanliness and friendly attitude of the desk workers.
Our room was on an upper floor toward the back and was very clean, quiet and had very comfortable beds and pillows. We had a small coffee maker in the room which was on our large bathroom vanity, however, there was no outlet there to use to make coffee. I moved it to our tv stand/dresser to make coffee everyday. It was no big deal- just a little inconvenient.
The pool area was a wonderful bonus at the end of a long day. There is a pool, whirlpool and sauna, with a restroom and shower area nearby. The hotel also provides free milk and cookies late in the evening in the lobby which was another nice touch!
The hotel provided free shuttle service to the Convention Center where I was attending a conference. I really enjoyed the service and the friendly drivers! This will definitely be my first choice hotel when I am staying in the area again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad that you enjoyed our friendly staff, clean and comfortable guest rooms, pool area, shuttle service and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and milk! We are glad that you will be choosing us on your next visit and we will be happy to provide our superior customer service and accommodations once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.