We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have spent 3 nights in Best Western Plus. I had a reservation for a king room but by the time I check in they ran out of king rooms so I got a free update (thank you Best Western desk staff!) to a suite. That room was even bigger than my one room-one bedroom apartment, with a fridge and microwave oven.
Pros:
I really enjoyed sleeping here, it was really quiet even though my room was facing a street in downtown. There were additional comforters in the closet in case you feel really cold in Minnesota winters.
Location-wise, it is 5 blocks away from convention center, 3 (or 4 ?) blocks away from Nicollet Avenue, 1 block away from the closest skyway entrance and 3 blocks away from the light rail station.The city is safe in general if you are planing to walk to the hotel at 9 pm. However, if you will visit Minneapolis in winter, its distance to skyways may be a problem.
I am obsessive about the cleanliness of towels and linens. Best Western plus passed my examinations!
Iron and ironing board in the room: a small but an important detail.
Luggage storage works really professionally, they tag your bags and keep them in a locked room.
Free USA Today next to the water dispensers.
Wi-Fi was pretty fast.

Cons
Cookies and milk are consumed in about 15 minutes. They advertise that service heavily, so I wish they had abundant supplies.
There are not a lot of power outlets in the room as the building is old. I had to sacrifice my room phone and clock to charge my cell phone and computer.

All in all, staff was helpful and I enjoyed my visit. This was a nice hotel for its price. I can recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! It was a pleasure reading your very informative and detailed review. We appreciate all your positive comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    216
    53
    23
    22
See reviews for
146
137
52
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location near our conference and local excellent restaurants. Clean, comfortable, charming. Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant adjacent had both well prepared comfort foods and interesting chef's selections. Great coffee, too. A great value, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We really appreciate your excellent comments about our location, great value, friendly staff, cleanliness and Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! We hope you get a chance to come visit us again soon so we can provide you with another superior lodging and dining experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward County
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel combines the best in vintage charm, amenities, location and good service. We were in Minneapolis for a combination of business and holiday and were very pleased with the facilities at the Best Western. Hotel restaurants are often over-priced and/or mediocre but two fine dinners and a great breakfast at the Normandy Kitchen proved otherwise -- excellent classic and home cooking with friendly but polished service. Parking was convenient and we could walk to many of the places we wanted to be. All hotel staff, from the owner (filling in at the bar) to the cleaning staff went out of their way to be helpful. Milk and cookies at 10 p.m.? Nice touch!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review you submitted on Tripadvisor! I am glad you got a chance to experience the best of what The Normandy Inn & Suites and The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar have to offer! It was a pleasure being of service to you and we hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel was not very clean. No power outlet close to the bed. They have a weird policy for cleaning bed sheets and towel. They will clean your bed every third day of your stay, unless you don't tell them to do it everyday. Staffs were not as friendly as I expected. The view of the pool inside the hotel was nice though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites. I apologize that we did not live up to your expectations. Our friendly/courteous staff and overall cleanliness have been unquestionably superior to the other local hotels in the past. I could not clearly pinpoint the exact issues in your review based on limited details and would really appreciate additional information. I can be contacted directly @ jjuza@bestwesternnormandy.com or 612-370-1400 ext. 504. As for cleaning the bed sheets in stayover rooms we have initiated an Environment Conservation Program in an effort to protect our precious natural resources. These tools are used in Green hotels to give the consumer a choice between a full housekeeping experience or a chance to save water and energy resources. I hope my response has been helpful and we hope to see you again at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Normandy is a good solid hotel - quiet and comfortable. Nice restaurant inside and close to Minneapolis convention center. I like the old school charm and spacious lobby. the pillows are great. The parking is cheap for downtown Minneapolis and on ground level - no parking ramp to navigate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! I am glad you enjoyed our quiet and comfortable guest rooms, pillows, cheap parking, location and one of a kind restaurant The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we hope to do it again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Perfect location and you can't beat the price, for the area. The friendly and helpful staff made my time in Minneapolis so enjoyable, and the Normandy Kitchen exceeded my expectations. The coffee at the Kitchen was excellent, which is super important to me. Best of all, you are within walking distance of all the night-time hot spots and the Nicollet mall, which has a variety of shops and a farmers market twice a week. I would recommend to anyone looking to stay downtown.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your very helpful review you posted on Tripadvisor! It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, great price, friendly staff and fantastic Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! Coffee is also very important to me so I'm glad you were able to enjoy. Thank you again for the wonderful comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon Heights, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel the night before the Twin Cities Marathon so that I could walk to the start. Just five blocks away from the venerable Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome, and six blocks from the Old Spaghetti Factory on Washington Avenue, the location was perfect. The room was clean. Everybody was courteous. It was the least expensive hotel within walking distance of the marathon. The decor is getting a little dated. (It is sort of a mid-'70's groovy, one could easily picture John Travolta swaggering down the halls in his white disco suit with wide open lapels, stylish bell-bottoms and gold chains, striking over the green carpet with the heavy dark wooden beams overhead.) The bed was a little soft for my taste, but some people like that sort of thing. I liked that the rooms were a little bit unique - it wasn't just a stack of square boxes. Parking was easy - no confusing valet/underground parking situation like you get with a lot of downtown hotels. It was great. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We enjoyed accommodating many T.C. Marathon runners this past weekend. We appreciate your 5 star review and I was very amused by your John Travolta reference. We hope that you get a chance to stay with us again and I hope the marathon went well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.