We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy old normandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“classy old normandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

this hotel has the feel of a classy hotel that I entered as a child. the feel is a bit dated yet nice. pool and a bar. filtered water by the ice machine to fill the carafe in your room. not bad at all. I like the idea of the cookies and milk offered at 10pm each night but i think i shall be asleep before then.

Room Tip: stay on the 4th floor so you are not too close to the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your review of us as a "classy" hotel as our motto is "Timeless, Classic & Comfortable". We hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon and that next time you can stay awake for our freshly baked cookies and milk which are worth the wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    252
    64
    27
    25
See reviews for
172
181
59
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nervous, never stayed at a Best Western, surprised. Staff was excellent. Convenient and clean. I am picky and I would recommend, great value for the price. The rooms have been redone, carpets clean, linens fresh. Very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for revealing our beautiful secret to our fellow tripadvisor readers! I am so happy that you were pleased with your stay. We are glad that you selected us and hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is very convenient. Close to many restaurants, Macy's, Target field, market stalls. All accessible by walking. They have free night snacks with yummy chocochip cookies and milk at lobby. The room is spacious, the bed is very comfortable. I like the best is their blanket, very soft and silky feeling. Staffs in this hotel are very polite and greeted us whenever they see us. The hotel also provide with purify water machine and ice vending machine, and it is free!
Shuttle services provided. Nice gym room and pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your wonderful compliments on our location, cookies and milk, comfortable and spacious rooms, gym, pool, shuttle, purified water and our polite staff. It was a pleasure being of service to you and we hope you have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Downtown Minneapolis - close to games & close to lots of other amenities!!! CLEAN & GREAT service!! Also, had a shuttle service available to the Twins games - very helpful staff that gave us a ride!! LOVE this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! It is great to hear that you enjoy our hotel so much! We hope that you have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
527 reviews 527 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in July. The room was spacious and comfortable. Very nice with a docking station for IPad / IPod! Even though we were on the first floor it was quiet at night. The gym in the basement was nice and everything was working. The location is very good - easy to go by car, and at the same time at a short walking distance from shops and restaurants. The parking fee is very reasonable. The inside pool is large and the pool area is very good. Our teenagers spent quite a lot of time there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your very positive review on Trip Advisor! It means a lot to us knowing that you are a very frequent traveler. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our i-homes, quiet rooms, perfect location, affordable parking and fantastic pool area! We hope you get a chance to come visit us again soon at The Best Western Plus Normandy Inn & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is a gem! The exterior of the hotel is nothing special, but don't be fooled. Our suite was beautiful, clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel location makes for an easy walk to the Metrodome, Target Field, Nicollet Mall and the Mill Museum. The light rail station is close and Mall of America is easy to get to. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to share your positive review with other Trip Advisor readers. We hope you get a chance to come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel with a group of friends. As budget conscience travelers, we often "settle" for accommodations based more on cost than comfort. We found both here.

We had a king bed room on the second floor that overlooked the indoor pool. The room was large, quiet and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The bath was adequate for two people, with large soft towels. A pleasant surprise was the filtered water that was available by the ice machine in the hallway. I suppose that is the reason the in-room coffee tasted good (not a common occurrence in my experience).

The hotel is really convenient to I-35, but it is several blocks from the nightlife in downtown. We were there on a warm summer weekend, so the walk was most pleasant. I'd advise a 6-8 block cab ride in the winter.

The oddest thing; the hotel serves cookies and milk at 10 pm every night in the lobby, but doesn't have complimentary coffee available in the morning. Coffee is available in the restaurant for $2.50, but personally they can keep their free cookies at night, I want some coffee in the morning.

That said, if I am ever back in Minneapolis, I may well stay here. I enjoyed it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! Your review was very well written and we appreciate your feedback as we listen to all our customers to find ways to constantly improve The Normandy. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you get a chance to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Best Western, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.