We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stay in a suite, and the room was huge and very clean. The location is great, close to convention center. Also they have a shuttle that dropped you off at the convention center. They need improve on their customer service. Staff is not the very friendly. I understand it was a busy time, as several convention were going. However, no one ever greeted me. Also My room was not ready at 3pm. I ask to actually move to my room a few minutes, early since I had a conference call to take. However, I feel like since I asked my room was purposely delay. The lady I spoke with was very rude when I made the request to check in few minutes ahead of check in time. She never apologize or try to do anything to accommodate me so I could have some private to take my 3pm call.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, shuttle service and location, however, I am very troubled to hear about your customer service experience. Our staff is very friendly and will always go above and beyond to meet our guests needs. If you would like to discuss this matter more you can contact Jeff directly at 612.370.1400. I hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the customer service experience you deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    206
    49
    23
    22
See reviews for
132
126
50
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ash, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The enbience of the motel was great, and beautiful. The staff was excellent. The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff would do anything they could for you. We would definately recommend this motel to anyone who might ask.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! Your positive comments and recommendation are very important to us. We look forward to being of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My fiancee and I traveled to Minneapolis in early August for a short vacation. We had booked our stay through one of the popular travel sites that offer discounts. We thought that we had booked a single king room. However, when we showed up to the hotel, the only room that they had available was one with two queens. Apparently, the booking site that we used lied to us and there was not a single king room available during at least one of the days. The staff was wonderful in working with us and accomodated us for the remainder of our stay (sans night one) with a wonderfully comfortable king suite! Additionally, we used the hotel's shuttle service to go to a Twins game and it was wonderfully convenient. The hotel is in a great location for walking to places like Nicollet Mall and the light rail stop is only a few blocks away, which provides access to the Mall of America. Overall, the hotel was comfortable, though we did have a very noisy neighbor on night one, which management took care of promptly. I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor! I am so glad that we were able to make things right with your room type and noisy neighbor. We really appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I made last minute reservations to stay the night for our Anniversary! We were greeted with a CONGRATULATIONS!!!! The room we were supposed to get got trashed from the guests the prior night so we were moved to another room and given a discount!!!! The staff was fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful!!!! Thank You Again and can't wait to come visit again!!!

Room Tip: The corner suites are very spacious and clean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! I love to hear stories of when our front desk goes above and beyond what you would expect from your average hotel. Thank you for sharing your review with us and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The location is great for walking around downtown Minneapolis. They shuttled us to the Twins game, and we were able to walk back afterwards. The one compliant we have is the thermostat and air conditioner were very loud kicking in. It probably woke us up 10-15 times that night. For us, sleep quality is most important for a hotel, because we don't spend alot of time at the hotel if we aren't sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor! I am sorry to hear that you had a faulty hvac unit. If reported we can either fix the unit if it is a quick solution or move you to a more suitable room. If you would wish to stay with us again feel free to contact Jeff directly at 612.370.1400 and I will personally ensure a room that is comfortable and allows for a great night sleep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel staff here was very helpful and professional. We ate at a staff recommended restaurant in the area and loved it! The room was updated and well appointed. The hotel rooms and public areas and hallways were large and roomy which is unusual for a metro hotel so that was a nice bonus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review you posted on Tripadvisor! We are happy we could be of service to you. I hope you will have a chance to come visit us again soon at the timeless and classic Normandy Inn & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I recently spent 2 days at this hotel while visiting Minneapolis. The hotel is conveniently located downtown, only a few blocks from the convention center, shopping, restaurants, Target Field and Target Center.

The hotel is quite nice and well kept. Our room was clean and comfortable and enough space to just relax. All of the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, always helpful with suggestions.

I would not hesitate to stay here again as it is in a great location, wonderful rooms and is quite affordable.

Stayed August 14-16

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable while staying at The Normandy. Our whole staff really appreciates your positive feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.