We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new downtown favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our new downtown favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

First time staying here. Went for a weekend getaway with my hubby. Quaint hotel. Very clean. Loved the cozy feel to everything (lobby, hallways, restaurant, bar). Arrived later at night and was greeted with friendly staff. A little tricky finding our room on 4th floor as we were directed to the wrong elevator, but it actually made us laugh. When we arrived to our room, it was worth the mix-up because it was great. King-size bed, fridge/microwave and sitting area with couch and chair. I was confused if we had been upgraded to a suite or if this was standard? We were pleasantly surprised. LOVED the room-darkening curtain available to allow "sleeping in" a little (which was great since we were without kids). Room was quiet and we slept great. Bed was comfortable. We went shopping downtown and walked there. Had a great time. Went to a Twins game and took the hotel shuttle, which was convenient. Blueberry pancakes were great for breakfast. We did sit in the bar both nights and enjoyed the coziness of it and listening to the baseball crowd coming through. Parking was awesome and only $7/night. I missed the cookies both nights because we forgot, so will have to catch it next time. We didn't use the pool, but I'm sure we will next time when we bring the kids. Overall, had a great weekend in a clean and unique hotel. I'm so glad I found this place and look forward to future stays. I'd recommend this for couples or families. Safe area in a great downtown location. Excellent service all around. Staff were so friendly and helpful all weekend. A great stay. (Only thing I would change, and this is no biggie, are the HUGE pillows. They are oddly shaped and almost "too fluffy." ha! Would've been nice to have a couple "flatter" ones. I saw someone else commented on this too. Maybe bring your own pillow if that is what you prefer?) I don't know how to explain this hidden gem other than it's so "different" in such a good way. Not the typical chain hotel and I think that's why we liked it so much. We're going to Mpls again in July and were supposed to be staying in a nearby hotel, but we're going to try to switch our reservations to the Normandy now! Will be recommending this hotel to others! Kudos to the manager!

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room was quiet. We were also in an end room, so maybe that helped?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your fantastic review of our property! It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed both The Normandy Inn and The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar. Speaking for all the employees here at The Normandy we all take great pride in our work to ensure all guests receive top notch service and a superior product. If you need help making that reservation switch in July I would be happy to help you personally if you contact me directly. Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites and we look forward to seeing you again soon! And don't worry, we will have the cookies and milk every night at 10pm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    215
    52
    22
    22
See reviews for
142
135
52
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed for our first time on a recent Saturday night. We were with another couple and were in Minneapolis to attend a show at the Orpheum theater and do some eating and drinking downtown. This hotel is in a great location for walking to several destinations. There is also a free shuttle to the Theater. We were immediately impressed at check-in with the unique “old fashioned” appearance, the cleanliness, and most of all the desk staff. We were kindly greeted and he took time to check us in and give us all of the information about the hotel and amenities, along with his name and offer to assist if there is anything that we should need. We have experienced such “I don’t care about my job” attitudes from desk staff at MUCH more expensive hotel chains. What a pleasure to stay at this hotel for an EXCELLENT price and such high quality service and accommodations.
We were assigned the exact room type that we had requested, and even given a room right next to our friends who we were traveling with, which was extremely convenient. Our room was noticeably very clean , fresh smelling and spacious, with newly updated furnishings and décor. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room temperature was just right. We did not notice any noise from other rooms or the hallway, which made for a great night’s sleep. We had surface lot parking for the mere price of only SEVEN DOLLARS…unheard of in downtown Minneapolis hotels ! We set out on an evening of walking ( pleasant weather) and made it to several destinations. We did not take advantage of the free shuttle to the theater, but would have if the weather had been an issue. We will definitely stay at the Normandy again. We were very pleased with our stay and thrilled with the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! It is such a pleasure to hear such positive feedback and I will be sure to relay the message to our fantastic staff for a job well done! I am so glad you discovered and decided to stay with us as we also believe we have the best value for price paid of any downtown hotel! It will be a pleasure to be of service to you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLES CITY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room was nice-but no frig or microwave. Wanted to chill a bottle of wine while we were at a ball game and were at the mercy of their ice. The pop machine on our floor did not work, the parking was not inside as we were told. They were hard to work with to be dropped off at the game for handicapped and we had to make repeated calls before they picked us up.

Room Tip: Don't know if they had a spa, and there was no breakfast - unless,you paid at their restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn and Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your feedback from your tripadvisor review as it is an important tool for us to make improvements for our future guests. I am sorry there were a few minor disappointments during your stay but hope that you will visit us again so we could have another chance to provide you with a superior hotel experience. For your future stay I would suggest upgrading to one of our suites as they all have microwaves and refrigerators. We also offer a large indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and open air parking with limited covered spots. Thank you again for your time to submit your review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Not the most exciting hotel in the world, but it's within walking distance of much of downtown and is very reasonably priced (except for the restaurant). Very odd layout, so you have to be sure you're finding the right elevator for your room number; do this before hauling your luggage around for less hassle. In-and-out parking very cheap. Free wifi and clean, comfortable rooms. Odd square pillows on the bed, though; no regular-size pillows were in the room, and we just used the square ones without bothering to ask for others. They have free milk and cookies at 10 p.m. every night, which was a nice pick-me-up for us after a lousy run-in with Red & White cab company (don't use them!) Would definitely stay here again but probably skip the restaurant, which is pricey and very slow.

Room Tip: Get a 4th floor room to avoid hearing housekeeping vacuuming and cleaning bathrooms if you want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! I'm glad you enjoyed our reasonable prices, good location, convenient parking, free wifi, clean & comfortable rooms, and freshly baked cookies and milk every night at 10pm. Thank you for your feedback about your pillows as we have ordered more pillows and our always purchasing the best quality products for all our guestrooms. We hope on your next visit you would give The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar another shot to provide you with a fantastic dining experience. Please contact me directly at 612.370.1400 so I can provide you with a special offer to once again try our inspired comfort foods made from scratch that I'm sure will not disappoint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCMO
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I called and made the reservation over the phone for two room to make sure I specifically got adjoining rooms, they said, "Of course"...and "of course" when we got there...No adjoining rooms. The place is clean, the beds were surprisingly comfortable. Pool area was fine for a couple of kids and a quick swim. Yes, there were cookies, but at 10 o'clock? Free shuttle to and from the Twins game was a definite perk. Family-yes, Couples...don't even think about it.

Room Tip: Stay away from the corner unit by the ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your generous comments about our hotels cleanliness, comfort of beds, complimentary Twins shuttle and spacious pool area. It is very unfortunate that we were unable to meet your request for adjoining rooms. I assure you it was not our intention to miss this very important detail for you. I hope that you would consider staying with us again so we could have another chance at providing you a superior experience. Please contact me directly as I will make sure all your needs are met and would love to upgrade you to one of our more "couple friendly" suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is such a great hotel and conveniently located downtown to many venues. They offer free shuttle service to many locations including the Twins games! The only negative critique was the bartender who seemed like he couldn't wait to have his patrons leave at the 11 pm! bar closing time. I highly recommend this Best western hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our wonderful location and complimentary shuttle service to all Twins games. Thank you for your feedback about The Normandy Kitchen Bar as 11pm is the absolute earliest we will close on a slow night and we will stay open until 1am when the lounge is lively. We appreciate your high recommendations of our great property and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSSLYN
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment you enter the doors of this hotel you feel the quality of workmanship and care they take to preserve it's heritage. A spacious hallway with gleaming slate floors leads the the front desk area. The photos framed over the front desk area chronicle the rich history of the establishment.
We were delighted with the suite. It was roomy, updated and very clean with an extremely comfortable bed. Very much liked having the sink separated from the bathroom. The shower was a treat. I actually measured it as we hope to renovate one to that exact size.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The concierge (who hails from Iceland) kindly drove us to the concert we were attending and gave us a tour on the way. We were made to feel right at home. Our quick check-in and check-out were done by Jason and Joe who were very professional and courteous. We have visited the Normandy before and plan to visit as often as possible and would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Thank you for a wonderful visit. Rosemary S

Room Tip: The south facing suite was bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for submitting your detailed and wonderfully stated review of The Best Western Plus Normandy Inn & Suites! Your comments were so spot on that I could visualize walking through our beautiful lobby and enjoying our spacious and updated suites. It is especially nice to hear that you received top notch service from Jason and Joe at the front desk and Johann our shuttle driver. It was a pleasure being of service to you and we hope to see you again very soon at The Normandy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.