We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nomandy inn and suits minneapolis mn.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    229
    60
    26
    23
See reviews for
155
159
54
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
eagle river
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed two nights and had a wonderful time. We arrived a half hour early and were able to get into our room right away. Room was spacious and very clean. The bed was so comfortable I wish I could've taken it home. Loved the ipod, iphone doc next to the bed. Had a couple drinks at the bar and the bartender was very nice and we had get service. Great location to do lots of walking. Easy drive to get there from the interstate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the new additions that we have added to improve the guest experience. Our brand new i-homes and pillow top beds have been added to all 200 guest rooms. If you are interested in purchasing information for the beds you can contact our Reservations Manager Chelsea @ 612.370.1400. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we hope to be of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here while attending the AMA Supercross on April 13th. Check-in was quick and easy. The front desk staff was very polite. Our room with double beds was clean and spacious. The bathroom sink was separated from the bathroom which is a nice plus. The shower has wonderful with a large showerhead and plenty of hot water. Complimentary in room coffee and bottled water is always nice. Upon arrival we discovered there is a free shuttle that took us to the Metrodome and picked us up. Great perk! I've heard they will even take you to the Nicolette Mall but it is only about a 10 minute walk. Great street of bars and resturants.

We didn't use the pool or eat in the resturant but they both looked nice.

Room Tip: The walls are thick. We were on the third floor and never heard anyone above or below us. Hallways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to downtown Minneapolis. Your kind comments are very much appreciated. The AMA Supercross event at the Metrodome was a fantastic event and we enjoyed all who stayed with us during that time. On a side note I would like to mention for future travelers that our shuttle service is available from 7am to 10:30pm to events happening at The Minneapolis Convention Center, Guthrie Theater, Orpheum Theater, State Theater, Orchestra Hall, Target Center, Target Field, Metrodome and University of Minnesota campus. Since Nicollet mall is located only 4 blocks away we do not offer this service to the local bars and restaurants. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here here two nights. This is a perfect place to stay if you want to enjoy the downtown area. Very reasonably priced and close to the skywalk. The experience here was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis. It is great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay here. On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor because of our fantastic location and reasonable prices. We hope you can make it back soon so we can be of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I just stayed 4 nights at this hotel as I was in Minneapolis for a conference. Don't be fooled by the outside look which is very 70s. The rooms inside are modern, comfortable and tastefully furnished. The internet speed is very good. The hotel as an onsite restaurant and I highly recommend the meatloaf they offer. The convention center as well as Nicolette Mall is in walking distance (about 10 minutes). This hotel is probably the best value in town. My colleague stayed at the Holiday Inn Express close by which is not as nice, has to restaurant and was more expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the pool as it can be very noisy depending on the type of people in the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis. Your comments you posted on Tripadvisor are valuable to future travelers searching for great properties at reasonable rates. We work hard to ensure the guest is always getting the best product at The Normandy. Recently we have refurbished the original brick at the front of the building and also have many new exciting plans for the future that I'm sure you will enjoy! As one of my personal favorites I am glad you got a chance to try the veal and spinach meatloaf as it is one of many classic dishes that are perfected by The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar. Thank you again for choosing The Normandy Inn & Suites and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orr, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is an old favorite of many travelers over the years. I stayed in it for the first time about 40 years ago. It has expanded a bit over time and has been updated, but it remains a nice-sized hotel of 4 floors. The location is great for walking around downtown Minneapolis.

The price was more reasonable than other downtown hotels, and their parking rate was definitely more reasonable than the others. Rooms are large and very clean, and the staff is friendly. Maybe the best part was the arrival in the lobby of fresh-baked cookies every night at 10:00. There is a nice restaurant on the premises--The Normandy Kitchen. They serve blueberry pancakes, which were always the best in town. They're still made from the original recipe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis. Classic, Comfortable & Timeless the Normandy Inn & Suites has been Innkeeper to Minneapolis since 1925. On behalf of our entire team we appreciate your gracious comments. Through the times it is important to update and improve the guest experience and we love to hold on to the valuable traditions that guests value so much. We are glad you have been able to see the evolution of The Normandy and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Walk to the twins game or any sporting event...And have fun downtown MPLS.....No driving leave the car and enjoy downtown FUN...........Great shopping.....Use the sky walk to anywhere downtown....clean

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and our location. Whether it be the Metrodome, Target Center or Target field we are a great place to stay for sporting events. Also, be sure not to miss out on our complimentary shuttle service before and after to any of these venues during game day. Thank you for submitting a review on Tripadvisor and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.