We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
1 review
“Wonderful had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I Stayed for the Minneapolis blarney blast over st Patrick's day weekend. It was an excellent establishment and had so much fun! The people who worked at the front desk were friendly and helpful ! We didn't have any issues.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
On behalf of our entire team at The Normandy Inn & Suites we would like to thank you for joining us in our wonderful St. Patrick's Day weekend. It was a great time had by all and we appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon for your next planned trip to beautiful downtown Minneapolis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    202
    48
    23
    22
See reviews for
129
126
48
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I would like to give kudo's to the staff at The Normandy hotel! My stay was exceptional! I was part of the Minneapolis St Patricks Day Association and I must say the facilities, food and the entire staff hosted the best St Patricks day celebration I have attended. My children and I loved the hotel. The rooms were perfect we had a great time in the pool! Thanks!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about The Normandy Inn & Suites. It was our pleasure to celebrate St. Patrick's Day with you! Overall it was a great time had by all and we look forward to doing it again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My group had a private party in the Continental room as well as in the Normandy Kitchen. The staff and management went above and beyond in anticipating our needs. The food was superb and the rooms were far better than the price for a downtown location! I highly recommend both the hotel and the restaurant!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
On behalf of all the staff at The Normandy we thank you and are thrilled that you enjoyed your function! Our newly renovated banquet and meeting space is ideal for groups ranging from 10 to 200. Thank you for your high recommendations and we hope to serve another function for you with the same expertise in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The location allowed us to travel throughout downtown Minneapolis quickly, which was great, but the building seems to need some freshening up. There were also at least 3 birthday parties occurring within the pool area, which made it almost unusable. The check-in/check-out process was easy and parking was very convenient for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn and suites as your preferred hotel when traveling to downtown Minneapolis. We appreciate your comments on the ease of the check-in/check-out process, convenient on-site parking and great centralized location. We are constantly improving The Normandy and can assure you that in a future visit you will see our changes that give The Normandy a fresh new look. Our beautiful large indoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna area is a wonderful place for small gatherings or individual relaxation. We do not allow large parties in the pool area and apologize that it was a popular place during your stay. Again, the staff at The Normandy appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This is my favourite place to stay in Minneapolis. The staff is great and the hotel has so much charm. It is close to the metrodome, target field and centre and many wonderful pubs and restaurants. It's in a great area, we have never felt unsafe walking to and from the hotel at night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites as your preferred hotel when traveling to beautiful downtown Minneapolis. It is wonderful to hear your feedback and rave reviews of our property! Our perfectly centralized location is always a great selling point but we believe our commitment to cleanliness, security and service put us over the top. On behalf of all the staff at The Normandy we are glad we can be your "go to place" and hope to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel was in a good location for downtown Minneapolis and near to Skyway and transport routes. Unfortunately the hotel could do with a good upgrade, it appeared to be under renovation but does need more work, outside as well as inside.
Staff were good and check in were helpful.
Room was a bit dull and the lighting was poor. The air conditioning / heating unit was so loud we had to turn it off to get a good nights sleep.
The bar was again a bit of a let down and the staff were not very friendly, we thought the food in the bar was poor and one night in there was enough.
The best part of the stay were the cookies each night at 10pm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
The Normandy Inn maintains a classic and comfortable atmosphere inside and out. We make every effort to keep our accommodations up to date with the most modern amenities and comfortable room appointments while staying true to our old-world charm. The construction you encountered is an example of us constantly improving The Normandy. We are very excited as our renovation project is finishing up as we have upgraded our complimentary wireless internet, improved lighting and constructed modern hallway ceilings. We are happy to hear you received wonderful service from our front desk staff but would like to know more about your experience in our restaurant. It is very important to us that every guest enjoys their stay and feedback on how to improve is of great interest to us. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will give us another chance in your travels to Minneapolis as I am sure we will not disappoint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.