We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
1 review
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is outdated but in a very convinient location in the heart of downtown Minneaapolis. Cookies and milk at night is great and free shuttle... other than that,front desk is amazing..

When I checked in into our room, we hve those 2 queen beds and there was a nasty,dirty washcloth hanging hidden by the end of shower curtain, under our bed was wrappers of candies and
condoms.. I was disgusted but since me and my family are to stay for new years eve we did not relly demand for anything even thou we shouldhve. We paid for a full price but checked in into a room that seems like wasn't cleaned properly. I talked to front desk aabout it and I assumed they talked to the right personnel for doing such aa horrible job.

Another thing is that personnels walking with radios should be on low in the guest room hallways. I heard this woman talking on her radio all out loud and I peak outside my door nd there is this middle aged woman and kinda told her to lower it hold.. we are not in the projects for sake.

In all, we wouldn't stay there no more. I was expecting but somehow from the mangemnt will come to us and apologize for the dirty things we found in our room but I guess management itself doesn't pay attention to these kind of things...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocodemus, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are very sorry your room had not been inspected and cleaned correctly before you checked into it. Our hotel rooms should be perfectly maintained, perfectly supplied and perfectly cleaned before guests check into them. You paid for an experience that you did not receive, and we understand why this is troubling for you. Unfortunately, we were not aware of thismatter until reading about it on your Trip Advisor posting.

You did not receive what you paid for, and you were inconvenienced. Though we cannot un-do what has happened, we would like to refund your room and tax charges for your New Year's Eve stay, or offer a free room for a future night, which ever you prefer. Please contact us so we can make these arrangements.

The Normandy Inn has a well established reputation of cleanliness. We hope you'll allow us to be of service again, and fully trust your future visits to The Normandy Inn will be entirely enjoyable..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    239
    63
    26
    23
See reviews for
165
168
56
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Had a nice stay while interviewing for a job in this city. Came in on a late flight (11pm) and was hungry, so I was happy to see the free cookies to hold me over until the morning. Front desk staff was polite although not overly friendly and a bit curt. I guess it was close to midnight and he was probably tired.

Room was very clean, and great location downtown. My suggestion if you come from the airport - save yourself the $50 cab fare and take transit for $1.75. There's a light rail station 2 blocks from the hotel (<5 mins walk). I took it on my way back and wish I had done it both ways! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing The Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites as your preferred hotel when traveling to Downtown Minneapolis. Our freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and milk served nightly are always a big hit with our valuable hotel guests. We are so glad you enjoyed them! We pride ourselves as having a friendly polite staff and put a large emphasis on cleanliness so I value your feedback. I also thank you for your insightful tips on how to use the public transportation for navigating your way through our wonderful city as future readers will appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Trip started off well enough, I booked 3 rooms, needed one switched to 2 beds, accomodation made. Was great! Last night there, my friends wallet was stolen out of the bar. When he asked the front desk for help, they were resistant. Manager Joe had a terrible attitude, was not compassionate at all, and when he finally called the police at our request (after 15 minutes of discussion) he told the police over the phone that we were "belligerent drunks" while standing in front of us and making a point to look us in the eye when he did it. Additionally, the lady working the desk (Heidi) swore at us several times, and when we turned to the manager for reasoning he stated "she had a long day". I stay in hotels several times a year for both business and pleasure, and I will never ever save a few dollars and not stay in a Hilton Property. The service I recieved here was worse than I would expect out of a motel 6 on their worst day. I would strongly recommend some hospitality training for these folks if they are going to employed in the hospitality business- specifically if they are going to have a title in management. This was absolutely the worst that I have ever been treated in such an establishment. Stay away!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocodemus, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
The circumstances around the events of the evening in question are not clearly stated in your comment. We understand your wallet and cell phone went missing from a table top in our very crowded bar after the Bear-Vikings game last Sunday. This is understandably troubling and of great concern. However, your associate then engaged in a loud, explitive laden rant at our front desk. You and your friend then mocked our front desk attendant for having a "Minnesota Accent". Overall, your friend's behavior was disruptive to other hotel guests. In two words, he was rude and insulting. I'm sorry the experience was negative for us all. I hope you and your friend find a hotel in the future that is most uniquely suited to handle your needs.

As Innkeeper at the Normandy Inn and Suites, I'm entirely confident our guests will enjoy superb customer service, as is evident in our numerous favorable guest comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our second stay at the hotel, first time in poolside rooms. Access to the pool for us, our adult children and three grandchildren. One of our rooms was the larger suite at the end of the pool area near the exit, VERY roomy, couch, two comfortable though slightly worn chairs, two queens, micro, fridge, desk, flatscreen. The only drawback to the pool area was that in the evening it was almost to cold to sit at the tables and chairs around the pool area. over all would recommend this hotel. Front desk staff were also extremely helpful!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocodemus, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Best Western Normandy Inn and Suites as your preferred hotel on your recent visit to Minneapolis. We're very pleased to know you enjoyed our ammenities and your overall stay here. I am sorry that the pool area was too cold for you. The heating unit for that area was not functioning and is now repaired. Please contact the manager here at the Normandy if you have any further concerns about this. I fully trust the pool area will be entirely comfortable on your next visit.

We look forward to being of service on your next trip to Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in early November. Quaint hotel, excellent staff & the best room-service ever. Food was amazing (my husband had steak frites which he loved & I had a great pot pie) . Had a problem with A/C but I'm sure that's fixed now. Charming hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites. Our energetic staff really appreciates the feedback as they go the "extra mile" to provide a superior customer service experience. The Normandy Kitchen Cafe and Bar has also spent numerous hours perfecting their craft to provide classic, comfortable and timeless menu options. We look forward to being of service on your next visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very convenient location in downtown - an easy walk to Nicollet Mall. Only 1 1/2 blocks to rail system, which we used to get to the airport & Mall of America. Their on-site restaurant was very good, also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocodemus, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Best Western Normandy Inn and Suites as your prefered hotel on your recent visit to Minneapolis. I'm pleased to know you enjoyed our convenient, downtown location, and discovered the near-by light rail service to the airport and Mall of America. Also, thank your favorable review of the Normandy Kitchen Cafe and Bar. We look forward to being of service on your next visit to our fair city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth, mn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is the second time in a few months we've stayed at the Normandy Inn. On both occasions we had newly redocorated rooms which were extremely nice. We had a two room suite which was lovely. Parking is inexpensive and convenient. The adjoining restaurant is handy for grabbing breakfast before you hit the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocodemus, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for selecting The Best Western Normandy Inn and Suites as your preferred hotel in Minneapolis. We're delighted you found everything to your liking. We'll keep the Normandy Inn as the best hotel value in Minneapolis. Our rooms have recently been re-designed and appointed with the most current finishes and ammenities, though we offer a price that's as much as 50% lower than other hotels in our downtown area.

We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.