We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is great! The staff are awesome and the rooms are clean and nice. Need something just ask and they will get it. You do have to pay more for breakfast but they have milk and cookies each night which is a nice snack. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    288
    70
    28
    26
See reviews for
210
204
65
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Normandy is in an excellent location downtown. Although within walking distance of many attractions in Minneapolis, they offer a free shuttle to places like the convention center. Johan drove me where I needed to go, was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was clean, the rooms were large, and the hot tub and pool were fantastic. Joe at the front desk was so incredibly helpful. I had several needs that needed to be met (including guests arriving at different times with specific needs) and he was friendly and extremely helpful. He went above and beyond to make sure that my stay was pleasant. Milk and cookies at 10 PM were great too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This was a nice hotel. Better than I expected. We stayed for a concert at the Target Center and they offered a shuttle. That was really nice. Parking was on $7. A lot less than most places. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is located directly between two prison release half way houses and one homeless shelter. This hotel has NO security system, NO exterior key card entries, nor a video surveillance system.
During a recent stay, my property was stolen from my room (by a intruder) while the houskeeper was cleaning the room. The hotels insurance company "The Hanover Insurance Co." denied my claim. They stated the hotel was not liable.
Do not stay here and definitely do not leave loved ones or propery at this hotel.
If you must stay here- Refuse daily maid service.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocodemus, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am very sorry for the loss of your laptop computer during your stay at the Normandy. We do not know the circumstances involved in it's disappearance. Regardless, this is a loss and great inconvenience to you. Unfortunately, we cannot "un-do" what has happened. Of course, we removed all hotel charges as a gesture of goodwill, as we discussed prior to your departure.

I understand you are frustrated and angry bout the theft of your laptop. However, several comments in your review are not accurate. The Normandy is not located near prison release halfway houses, and we do have security systems that include audio-visual controlled entrances and nightly security personnel. We are in a safe downtown neighborhood surrounded most immediatelt by highrise office buildings, apartments and a historic church.

Again, I am very sorry for the theft of your laptop during your stay at the Normandy. Theft from our hotel is extremely rare, and we have never experienced a laptop theft from a hotel room prior to this incident, Certainly your experience gives us pause to consider what happened and make changes as nescessary. At the same time, I confidently welcome guests to the Normandy Inn & Suites where everone will experience a safe hotel with appropriate security systems in a safe downtown neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great great hotel. Spotless, old outside, new inside! We got the corner room w/two rooms! A bedroom w/two comfortable queen beds, 3 pillows on each, tv, nice bathroom, huge shower. Then an adjoined sitting room w/a hide-a-bed couch and table and chairs, tv here too, sink and refrigerator. Coffee maker in the room also. They have a nice restaurant on the main floor that made breakfast convenient. Good service and delicious food. Everything was reasonable! Parking only $7 a day too. Fantastic. Thank you Joseph, (at the front desk) very professional. We loved our stay and will come here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed there while attending concert in downtown Minneapolis. Room was clean, modern and spacious. Staff were friendly and hotel had nice layout. Only complaint was $7 charge for parking that gets assigned to your credit card (I'm sure it's in the fine print somewhere but staff could also mention it to avoid a surprise).

They also provided a shuttle from Hotel to Target Center...much appreciated!

Room Tip: Rooms near pool area looked like fun spot but were all taken when we arrived.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 27 and 28 September 2012 on a Cosmos bus tour from New York to Los Angeles. We loved this place with its old style elegance at an affordable price. It feels like a well maintained boutique hotel, not part of any chain. We had a large, well appointed room with two double beds, and everything worked well.
We spent some time just sitting in the lobby and other public areas just soaking up the atmosphere. There is a nice indoor pool with an atrium, and there is a small freezer cabinet in the reception area stocked with fruit juice, yoghurt etc, so we didn't have to go out to buy drinks and snacks.
We would stay here again and spend more time exploring the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#9 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Minneapolis
#6 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.