We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
mn
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This was a nice hotel. Better than I expected. We stayed for a concert at the Target Center and they offered a shuttle. That was really nice. Parking was on $7. A lot less than most places. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    239
    63
    26
    23
See reviews for
165
168
56
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is located directly between two prison release half way houses and one homeless shelter. This hotel has NO security system, NO exterior key card entries, nor a video surveillance system.
During a recent stay, my property was stolen from my room (by a intruder) while the houskeeper was cleaning the room. The hotels insurance company "The Hanover Insurance Co." denied my claim. They stated the hotel was not liable.
Do not stay here and definitely do not leave loved ones or propery at this hotel.
If you must stay here- Refuse daily maid service.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocodemus, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am very sorry for the loss of your laptop computer during your stay at the Normandy. We do not know the circumstances involved in it's disappearance. Regardless, this is a loss and great inconvenience to you. Unfortunately, we cannot "un-do" what has happened. Of course, we removed all hotel charges as a gesture of goodwill, as we discussed prior to your departure.

I understand you are frustrated and angry bout the theft of your laptop. However, several comments in your review are not accurate. The Normandy is not located near prison release halfway houses, and we do have security systems that include audio-visual controlled entrances and nightly security personnel. We are in a safe downtown neighborhood surrounded most immediatelt by highrise office buildings, apartments and a historic church.

Again, I am very sorry for the theft of your laptop during your stay at the Normandy. Theft from our hotel is extremely rare, and we have never experienced a laptop theft from a hotel room prior to this incident, Certainly your experience gives us pause to consider what happened and make changes as nescessary. At the same time, I confidently welcome guests to the Normandy Inn & Suites where everone will experience a safe hotel with appropriate security systems in a safe downtown neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great great hotel. Spotless, old outside, new inside! We got the corner room w/two rooms! A bedroom w/two comfortable queen beds, 3 pillows on each, tv, nice bathroom, huge shower. Then an adjoined sitting room w/a hide-a-bed couch and table and chairs, tv here too, sink and refrigerator. Coffee maker in the room also. They have a nice restaurant on the main floor that made breakfast convenient. Good service and delicious food. Everything was reasonable! Parking only $7 a day too. Fantastic. Thank you Joseph, (at the front desk) very professional. We loved our stay and will come here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed there while attending concert in downtown Minneapolis. Room was clean, modern and spacious. Staff were friendly and hotel had nice layout. Only complaint was $7 charge for parking that gets assigned to your credit card (I'm sure it's in the fine print somewhere but staff could also mention it to avoid a surprise).

They also provided a shuttle from Hotel to Target Center...much appreciated!

Room Tip: Rooms near pool area looked like fun spot but were all taken when we arrived.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 27 and 28 September 2012 on a Cosmos bus tour from New York to Los Angeles. We loved this place with its old style elegance at an affordable price. It feels like a well maintained boutique hotel, not part of any chain. We had a large, well appointed room with two double beds, and everything worked well.
We spent some time just sitting in the lobby and other public areas just soaking up the atmosphere. There is a nice indoor pool with an atrium, and there is a small freezer cabinet in the reception area stocked with fruit juice, yoghurt etc, so we didn't have to go out to buy drinks and snacks.
We would stay here again and spend more time exploring the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Normandy Inn is part of the Best Western chain, but it has the feel of an independent boutique hotel. Housed in a lovely old building, the charm is apparent from the moment you enter the lobby. Little touches (like an umbrella stand full of umbrellas to borrow) are everywhere.

Our suite was amazing; a spacious living room with kitchenette, desk, sofa/chair grouping and TV was well-separated from the bedroom by a hallway with a European-design bathroom (commode and shower separate from sink/vanity), which allowed my husband to stay up later and watch TV/surf the web while I fell asleep in the comfortable queen-sized bed. The decor and fixtures were elegant but extremely utilitarian; the space overall was very well-planned to allow two people to function fully without bumping into each other. It was almost a mini-apartment!

We especially thank Joey at the front desk during our check-in; he was very solicitous and helpful. (Do ask about any possible rate discounts. You'll never know unless you ask!) All the staff was fabulous, and ready to answer any question at a moment's notice.

The location of the Normandy Inn is only 10 minutes' walk from Nicollet Mall and Hennepin Avenue, and there are great restaurants on the way (we loved eating at Key's at the Foshay). The new light rail system is only four blocks away, and will whisk you to Minnehaha Falls and other suburban sights.

The only down side is that no breakfast is offered with the room, but having the kitchenette made things easy; we just walked down to Target on Nicollet and bought provisions for our stay. There is a restaurant on-site, but we never ate there. Minneapolis has two many other wonderful restaurants downtown!

Parking at $7.00 per day was the best deal we found downtown, and once we parked our car, we could really walk anywhere in the downtown area within 15 to 20 minutes.

If you're interested in worry-free relaxation while you explore the vibrant downtown of Minneapolis, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building (a "1" as the second digit, e.g., room 314). This gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Only stayed one night, since I arrived in Minneapolis for a conference, so we got a discounted conference rate
unfortunately the room was booked late and had to spit the stay between two hotels, and so we booked this for 1 night and the second hotel the remainder of the conference. So did not stay long enough to give in depth comments, just a superficial overview...
The hotel is an easy walk from the train station that comes from the airport (stop nicollet mall)
so that was quite convenient.
Arrived at the hotel, and the staff were nice. The receptionist asked if I minded being changed rooms from one with two queen beds to one with a king bed.
I said that was fine, I had a separate room with sofa, TV, etc in addition to the one in my bedroom, and a small "kitchen corner" as shown on the website, my room looked just like the pictures, and everything was spotlessly clean. This hotel is a few mins further from the convention centre than the second one I ended up staying in, which was connected by skywalk, But they did also offer a shuttle service, which although the distance was walkable, I think this would be necessary once it gets colder. Individual heating and temperature control in the room, which i think is pretty normal in this part of the world. so the room was a comfortable temperature.
Spotlessly clean.
Only fault I saw with the room was that there was coffee in the room, but could not see any milk anywhere (if I was staying more than one morning would have requested, but rushing out the door early in the morning I did not have time to ask, and had coffee with my breakfast in the restaurant)
breakfast was ok but could have been better, the food was a bit too greasy for my liking.
Overall was quite happy with the hotel, clean, spacious, and reasonable value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South Eighth Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.