We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained, older style hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Well maintained, older style hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 27 and 28 September 2012 on a Cosmos bus tour from New York to Los Angeles. We loved this place with its old style elegance at an affordable price. It feels like a well maintained boutique hotel, not part of any chain. We had a large, well appointed room with two double beds, and everything worked well.
We spent some time just sitting in the lobby and other public areas just soaking up the atmosphere. There is a nice indoor pool with an atrium, and there is a small freezer cabinet in the reception area stocked with fruit juice, yoghurt etc, so we didn't have to go out to buy drinks and snacks.
We would stay here again and spend more time exploring the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    287
    68
    28
    26
See reviews for
208
202
65
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Normandy Inn is part of the Best Western chain, but it has the feel of an independent boutique hotel. Housed in a lovely old building, the charm is apparent from the moment you enter the lobby. Little touches (like an umbrella stand full of umbrellas to borrow) are everywhere.

Our suite was amazing; a spacious living room with kitchenette, desk, sofa/chair grouping and TV was well-separated from the bedroom by a hallway with a European-design bathroom (commode and shower separate from sink/vanity), which allowed my husband to stay up later and watch TV/surf the web while I fell asleep in the comfortable queen-sized bed. The decor and fixtures were elegant but extremely utilitarian; the space overall was very well-planned to allow two people to function fully without bumping into each other. It was almost a mini-apartment!

We especially thank Joey at the front desk during our check-in; he was very solicitous and helpful. (Do ask about any possible rate discounts. You'll never know unless you ask!) All the staff was fabulous, and ready to answer any question at a moment's notice.

The location of the Normandy Inn is only 10 minutes' walk from Nicollet Mall and Hennepin Avenue, and there are great restaurants on the way (we loved eating at Key's at the Foshay). The new light rail system is only four blocks away, and will whisk you to Minnehaha Falls and other suburban sights.

The only down side is that no breakfast is offered with the room, but having the kitchenette made things easy; we just walked down to Target on Nicollet and bought provisions for our stay. There is a restaurant on-site, but we never ate there. Minneapolis has two many other wonderful restaurants downtown!

Parking at $7.00 per day was the best deal we found downtown, and once we parked our car, we could really walk anywhere in the downtown area within 15 to 20 minutes.

If you're interested in worry-free relaxation while you explore the vibrant downtown of Minneapolis, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building (a "1" as the second digit, e.g., room 314). This gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Only stayed one night, since I arrived in Minneapolis for a conference, so we got a discounted conference rate
unfortunately the room was booked late and had to spit the stay between two hotels, and so we booked this for 1 night and the second hotel the remainder of the conference. So did not stay long enough to give in depth comments, just a superficial overview...
The hotel is an easy walk from the train station that comes from the airport (stop nicollet mall)
so that was quite convenient.
Arrived at the hotel, and the staff were nice. The receptionist asked if I minded being changed rooms from one with two queen beds to one with a king bed.
I said that was fine, I had a separate room with sofa, TV, etc in addition to the one in my bedroom, and a small "kitchen corner" as shown on the website, my room looked just like the pictures, and everything was spotlessly clean. This hotel is a few mins further from the convention centre than the second one I ended up staying in, which was connected by skywalk, But they did also offer a shuttle service, which although the distance was walkable, I think this would be necessary once it gets colder. Individual heating and temperature control in the room, which i think is pretty normal in this part of the world. so the room was a comfortable temperature.
Spotlessly clean.
Only fault I saw with the room was that there was coffee in the room, but could not see any milk anywhere (if I was staying more than one morning would have requested, but rushing out the door early in the morning I did not have time to ask, and had coffee with my breakfast in the restaurant)
breakfast was ok but could have been better, the food was a bit too greasy for my liking.
Overall was quite happy with the hotel, clean, spacious, and reasonable value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madsen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights while watching the Twins play baseball. Excellent location. Once we parked that was it, the truck didn't move again. Who ever recruited their staff deserves a bonus as everyone from the front desk clerk, waiters, cleaning crew, to the bartenders were top drawer. The room was clean, quiet, + the beds comfortable. Downtown Minneapolis is safer than downtown Winnipeg, MB. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marsfield, wi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is my second stay at the Normandy Inn. It is in the heart of downtown with easy access to everything. We stayed there'd for an event at the University of Minnesota. Other guests were there for the Twin Cities Marathin, US Open Racquetball championships at the Target Center or a Vikings game. We also walked 4 blocks to the Nicolette Mall for shopping.
The staff is so friendly. The parking is in the back and only $7. My favorite touch is the warm chocolate chip cookies served with mild in the evening. There was a longer line for that than I've ever seen at other hotels Happy Hours. There is a pool and hot tub enclosed under a plexiglass roof so it seemed as though you were outside, although the temp was better!
My only nit picky complaints were the scratchy toilet paper and somewhat hard pillows.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool, so it w like looking at a pleasant outdoor garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar Bay, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in the downtown area that was nice but affordable and The Normandy was a good fit. It's location allowed us to walk to nearby shopping and restaurants and the hotel also provided a free shuttle to the Twins game only 8 blocks away. It's an older hotel with a classic decor. We found it charming. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed five nights recently at this charming hotel. It has clean, lovely rooms and superior, friendly staff. Very comfortable beds & pillows. Pool and hot-tub were very nice.

Dined at the Normandy Kitchen restaurant attached to the hotel (was once a speakeasy!). Delicious food & great service.

Transportation to & from the Convention Center was a wonderful perk.

Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#9 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Minneapolis
#6 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and BookIt.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.