We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
madsen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights while watching the Twins play baseball. Excellent location. Once we parked that was it, the truck didn't move again. Who ever recruited their staff deserves a bonus as everyone from the front desk clerk, waiters, cleaning crew, to the bartenders were top drawer. The room was clean, quiet, + the beds comfortable. Downtown Minneapolis is safer than downtown Winnipeg, MB. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
marsfield, wi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is my second stay at the Normandy Inn. It is in the heart of downtown with easy access to everything. We stayed there'd for an event at the University of Minnesota. Other guests were there for the Twin Cities Marathin, US Open Racquetball championships at the Target Center or a Vikings game. We also walked 4 blocks to the Nicolette Mall for shopping.
The staff is so friendly. The parking is in the back and only $7. My favorite touch is the warm chocolate chip cookies served with mild in the evening. There was a longer line for that than I've ever seen at other hotels Happy Hours. There is a pool and hot tub enclosed under a plexiglass roof so it seemed as though you were outside, although the temp was better!
My only nit picky complaints were the scratchy toilet paper and somewhat hard pillows.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool, so it w like looking at a pleasant outdoor garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillpickle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar Bay, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in the downtown area that was nice but affordable and The Normandy was a good fit. It's location allowed us to walk to nearby shopping and restaurants and the hotel also provided a free shuttle to the Twins game only 8 blocks away. It's an older hotel with a classic decor. We found it charming. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theYooperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed five nights recently at this charming hotel. It has clean, lovely rooms and superior, friendly staff. Very comfortable beds & pillows. Pool and hot-tub were very nice.

Dined at the Normandy Kitchen restaurant attached to the hotel (was once a speakeasy!). Delicious food & great service.

Transportation to & from the Convention Center was a wonderful perk.

Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaydee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Best Western Normandy is a great pick for a budget minded traveler the cost was great and location is good. Walking distance to some good restuants and bars. Parking at the hotel is very inexpensive compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I only stayed at this hotel overnight and didn't use many amenities, but the bed was comfortable, staff were nice and the parking was cheap, which is a plus for downtown. I'd stay here again, but prefer a location more in the heart of downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINNIPEG
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This older, historic hotel offered a great price and location downtown. We loved the sitting area in our room. Our bathroom had been upgraded and our room included a fridge and microwave, as well. A great place to stay if visiting for a few days.

The hotel is very close to the Nicolett Mall area and many restaurants and bars. The hotel lounge is small, but friendly. The fitness room is very small and found in the basement of the hotel. Parking is reasonably priced for downtown. This Best Western does not offer a continental breakfast like many other BW's. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sitting areas: sofa bed and chairs. Ours was pool side and quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dakbail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 43 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing