We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Maude

Cafe Maude
5411 Penn Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55419-1538
612-822-5411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 1,597 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $12 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 54th Street
Scituate, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Most Excellent Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you're looking for an outstanding breakfast experience in Minneapolis, look no further! Or do look further, but definitely keep Cafe Maude on your list and absolutely go there! Nuff said... just go!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    12
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful food ~ not so wonderful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have been to Cafe Maude twice within the month and the food is fantastic. Unfortunately both times the service we have received was terrible. From a surly bartender to a distracted server, It is a shame such a great restaurant is missing the mark on service ~ the food deserves better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tasty cocktails, great wine list & friendly bartender”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stopped by the south Minneapolis location recently after a long absence. Enjoyed our wine & cocktail very much; the small plates for a snack didn't disappoint (pickled egg and a hummus plate with grilled pita). Love that we can just stop in on a Sunday evening - feels very comfortable and inviting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Funky neighborhood hang-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Cafe Maude is a small cafe that maintains a limited menu but prepares it well. My wife and I like to meet my sons there for dinner several times a year. The atmosphere is casual and fun. While the menu is small, everyone can find something that they like to eat. There are small plates to share or traditional meals like duck breast or scallops (two of our favorites). We also take advantage of the Prix fixe that give three smaller courses and a glass of house wine for thirty dollars on Sunday and Monday nights.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conn.
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Not a great; not a bad burger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I went early to avoid the rush.I already knew I wanted a Hamburger so it was an easy decision with a burger medium rare w Bacon, gruyere and fried onions. I also ordered a Ray Guy at the advice of the server. The burger arrived open-faced and I first noticed it was loaded with the onions, then a couple of slices of thick bacon and lastly the melted Gruyere cheese on top of the meat. I cut the burger in half and I was disappointed that it was more medium+ than medium rare. I placed a little ketchup on the burger and took my first bite. The meat had a mild flavor but was densely packed when pattied or the kitchen pressed the heck out of it while it cooked; The meat lost all semblance of moisture. The bacon was crispy and gave a nice saltiness, onions were little overpowering and the cheese was a non-event. It was served on a basic hamburger bun and the only accompaniment was a few slices of plum tomato and some lettuce. If I had known that fries were not included I would have ordered some. It would have been nice of the waiter to tell me. I did like the Ray Guy soda, a sweeter root beer-type of beverage.
Overall I would give it a 5 (1-10 scale) and is not worth a return visit for the burger. Maybe other items are better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Maude also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Cafe Maude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Maude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.