We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rate flavor and freshnes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe

Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe
1007 W Franklin Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55405-3138
612-870-0065
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,584 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Top rate flavor and freshnes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The ice cream was some of the best in the cities. I'm very picky about the freshness of my ice cream, because you eat old, freezer burned, stale ice cream you can't get that taste out of your mouth for a month. SJ's is always fresh! Inside decor needs cleaning and freshed up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    100
    57
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
498 helpful votes 498 helpful votes
“Almost as Good as Grand Ole Creamery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

When you arrive at Sebastian Joe's, the long line of customers provides visual assurance that this is one of the best super-premium ice cream parlors in the Twin Cities. While I give the edge to my hometown Grand Ole Creamery, Sebastian Joe's is a close #2 for me in the Twin Cities super-premium ice cream parlor competition. The ice cream is consistently rich and flavorful. The servers are spirited and quick with recommendations. The sidewalk talks a welcome respite on a warm summer evening. The selection is not as broad as GOC, but the taste and serving size will not disappoint. Price is $5 - $6 per person, depending on what you order. However, this is a small price to pay for such a delectable desert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A friend took us to this place in Linden Hills and we loved the
raspberry or mandarin ice cream with chocolate chips. Try it!
Great little shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best ice cream around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We love Sebastian Joe's! It's a great summer go to spot for the whole family. The flavors are original and everything taste like it's REALLY homemade. They switch up the flavors a lot which is nice as some places don't do this as much. My favorite is the hand dipped waffle cone which is sooo yummy here, with whatever coffee flavored ice cream they have at the time. It's also nice to stop in for coffee as they have everything a coffee shop offers. We love to go and sit on the patio as it's gorgeous and the sidewalk is huge and very kid friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ice cream, long line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Anytime I've been here the line has been out the door, but the ice cream is way better than anywhere else. Izzi's is overpriced, but this stuff is worth the extra few bucks. The Nicollet Pot Hole (chocolate everything but covered in salted caramel) is a highlight!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.