We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Minneapolis Must-Do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe

Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe
1007 W Franklin Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55405-3138
612-870-0065
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 1,595 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Minneapolis Must-Do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Last year we took a visiting friend around the city and this was one of our stops. My husband, who grew up in Minneapolis, had never been here either. I knew it was wonderful and they both loved it too. Now my husband is already talking about summer coming so we can go back for more ice cream :)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    61
    19
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“yum yum YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Best homemade icecream i've ever had! Highly recommend trying something new here - and go for one of their homemade and hand dipped cones - to die for!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yumster!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Even during the dead of winter, Sebastian Joe's is always able to stir some magic into our desert experience. Love these guys!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Salted Caramel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's 9 PM on a Wednesday, it's 9 degrees F out, and there's a line. That's all you pretty much need to know.

The good:
- The ice cream is excellent; stay away from "normal" flavors; Pavarotti and the Salted Caramel were outstanding.
- Service was patient with us, recommending flavors and giving samples.

The bad:
- It's crowded. What do you expect from one of the best places in the city?
- I thought the "Ridiculous Sundae" needed a little more inspiration - two scoops of ice cream, whipped cream, and caramel is not "ridiculous". No cherry?
- It's not always clear what you need to order. I had to ask to figure out how to get a brownie sundae. Not a problem, but I could see how that would be really annoying to the staff at 7 PM on a Friday in the middle of summer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband LOVES their cinnamon, I pretty much like everything I've ever tried except the flavors with cayenne... Go here!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebastian Joe's Ice Cream Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.