We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every meat eaters dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo de Chao

Fogo de Chao
645 Hennepin Ave., Minneapolis, MN (Downtown)
612-338-1344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,405 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $48 - $48
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th St. S
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Every meat eaters dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Dined here during restaurant week so we could afford it! It lives up to its reputation for mountains of food, mostly meat! DELICOUS meat! I don't usually like buffets, but thought this one was nicely presented with some great selections of smoked salmon, large slices of great Parmesan and mozzarella cheeses. The meat selections served at your table are of a wide variety, from steaks to ribs (which were delicious and I don't even LIKE ribs) to lamb to chicken. The desserts are also very generous and the chocolate mousse cake was fantastic!
It was a bit annoying to wait 30 minutes for a table, even though we had a reservation, but it was very, very busy. Though hurried, the wait staff was generally excellent. We will save up our pennies and our appetites to dine here again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    157
    64
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An avalanche of meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Every now and then we get a craving for meat. The beauty of this place is each meat they serve is a little different in taste and they usually appease every taste.
The only draw back is the buffet style atmosphere but they make it work and we'll be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Worth while if you want a huge meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food is good although some of it is pretty spicy. The price is steep but it is all you can eat and there is plenty of meat. They have a full salad and dessert bar. Those are all you can eat and you serve yourself. The food is a unique taste if you are not used to Brazilian. The help is helpful and they aim to please.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Words can not describe.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Words can not describe our experience at Fogo de Chao. The food was absolutely excellent. The service was outstanding. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Protein Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you love to stuffing your face with chicken, beef, pork, lamb, sausages, etc., this is the place for you. Wow. Talk about great food and service. The gaucho chefs deliver to your table and cut and serve right in front of you. They are all pleasant, prompt and very accomodating. All you have to do is flip your card to green, or wave them down when you are ready for more. The offerings are hot, plentiful and almost overwhelming. It is difficult to pick a favorite, they were all very tasty. They also offer an incredible salad bar which includes cheeses, prosciutto, artichoke hearts, smoked salmon, salami and on and on. The atmosphere is excellent as well, open with lots of conversation and tables and people enjoying themselves. I think the dinner price is a fair price for the food and entire experience. Make sure you go there hungry, because you will leave absolutely satisfied. I would recommend a reservation for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo de Chao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.