We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo de Chao

Fogo de Chao
645 Hennepin Ave., Minneapolis, MN (Downtown)
612-338-1344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,578 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $48 - $48
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th St. S
Medford, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great fun and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a party of 8 celebrating a wedding. They even gave us a dessert and put "just married" on the plate. very nice ! Food was great. Service was great. However, the Service was a bit zealous for some folks wanting a more leisurely eating. And on Sat night the place was packed. One downside is having to go through lots of meat options to get to the one you want.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    289
    113
    56
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howard Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Similar to churrascaria in Rio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Full disclosure- this place is not cheap. It is worth it, however. I've been to several churrascarias in Rio de Janeiro and Fogo do Chao is comparable, but not quite as good for obvious reasons. Great ambiance and romantic atmosphere. Not sure if I would ever suggest this as a first date, however. You can eat and eat and eat if you want to get your money's worth Well worth the experience! Good accessible location in Minneapolis, as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Perfect for Meat-Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Their salad bar is great, has a diverse picking. Like apple salad to little salmon slices to mushrooms to roasted zucchini. But this isn't where the excitement lies. You turn over your table card to green and you'll have a go at some great meats. If you're like me who don't remember titles very well, it's more of "do I want pork, beef, chicken, or lamb?" Delicious, most meats served were just about tender. I'd go again especially for enjoying as much meat as I want. Great service, too. On their toes, never felt abandoned but not too babied. Great chain. Solid.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

While in Brazil, I was lucky to be introduced to churascaria. Fogo de Chao both brings me back to my travels, and blows me away with great food and spectacular service. While a person could do very well on the veggie offerings, this is a carnivore's paradise. Go hungry!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mouth-watering meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our daughter chose this restaurant for her birthday date night with mom and dad. We were a little hesitant due to the price, but found both the food and experience well worth it! The servers were extremely knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. The salad bar was amazing in itself, but paled in comparison to the meat selections brought around by the servers! Incredible variety, seasoned and cooked to perfection! We would love to go there again soon, but this time we might fast first!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo de Chao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.