We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo de Chao

Fogo de Chao
645 Hennepin Ave., Minneapolis, MN (Downtown)
612-338-1344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,595 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $48 - $48
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th St. S
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Different, but very good. Must like Meat, and must be very very hungry as you eat non stop. I went with a group of people and the atmosphere was open and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    138
    59
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went for my husbands birthday at lunch time and it was awesome as usual. My husband always laughs at me because I'm probably the only person repeatedly going back to the salad bar. I love everything on their salad bar. The meat is good and the service is top notch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Meat, meat and MEAT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was an awesome experience for me. I went to this restaurant from word of mouth from my boss, and I was not disappointed, at all. I went to the salad bar, and was blown away by everything, especially the apple salad. The cheese bread that is provided on your table, is so much better than my used to be favorite "Red Lobster biscuits". The meats were tender, delicious, and everytime I flipped my card, I had several servers at my table. The entire experience was awesome. The only thing that caught me off guard was the cost for the sodas. Don't get me wrong, the soda was good, but 3.00 bucks a can, I'm not too sure. The server would bring another and another and once I got the bill, 15.00 bucks for soda, really caught me off guard. Best option would be to ask for the water!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When planning your visit, make sure to go hungry and plan on spending a decent amount of time there. It is expensive, and yes it is a buffet, and when comparing other steak houses menus that are a la carte, the pricing is not all that bad. Being that I am not a huge steak fan, having the choice to sample many options of proteins along with a light salad bar is excellent. The sides are included as well, the rice and beans and fried bananas were nice, paired with the excellent service, we enjoyed a two hour meal with plenty of food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you love all you can eat, then this is for you. The food is only OK. It is a buffet with all you want meat. Nothing wowed me for flavor.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo de Chao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.