We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet for Meat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo de Chao

Fogo de Chao
645 Hennepin Ave., Minneapolis, MN (Downtown)
612-338-1344
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,552 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $48 - $48
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th St. S
Thief River Falls, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Meet for Meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The quality of the food is high, the experience is unique, the setting is very nice. The one-price aspect of this particular concept favors the big eaters. Don't go for if you're just looking for a snack, in fact, it may be best to skip lunch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    277
    107
    54
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a fun experience! I will start by saying the salad bar is nothing short of amazing! Fresh salad greens and the ability to concoct a variety of different salads. My personal favorite was a variation of caprese with fresh mozzerella balls and tomoato slices with balsamic vinegar, oil over salad greens! YUMMY! Once you flip the disc, the meat just pours in. The staff is pretty attentive, but they were swamped. Great atmosphere, amazing Caprihinis. Would recommend and re visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck ND
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nothing bad to say, food was amazing. Only thing is make sure your very hungry and take your time! you pay alot so you wanna get your money worth...Def. would say give it a shot and enjoy! Make sure you do reservations or youll never get in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Place for the meat eaters who like their meat "juicy"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The staff was very helpful, being it was our first time at the restaurant. The salad bar was nice, but I was expecting a little bit more. The meats that i had were good, I like my steaks well done and I hardly got any red meats close to my liking. I did, however fall in love with the bacon covered chicken! Delicious! The hot side dishes are very small to share however, they do bring out more. Over all a great place to those who like their meat med-well or rare, but for those who don't (like myself) its a little difficult, (stick with the bacon covered chicken!) The cost of the meal is just the food, drinks and desserts are extra. But a wonderful place to try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“slivers of meat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was hoping for a thick juicy piece of steak, but because I like mine med well, they kept shaving it off of the slabs of meat that were being paraded by our table. The single serving of potatoes that were placed on the table for the 4 of us to each take a spoonful from was the on going joke of the night. The salad bar was lacking in the basic staples. It was not unlike a night of fondue teasers. Yes, it was unlimited, but waiting in search of the desired meat to wander by, was disruptive to the conversation at our table. It was different, I'll give you that.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Fogo de Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogo de Chao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.