We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Minneapolis to your Saves list
The Westin Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chisholm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Bed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great location and unbelievable beds. Ate at the bar/restaurant and was pleased. It is a very unique and quaint building. Try and get a corner room as they are bigger! Enjoy the Twin cities. This hotel is right in the heart of the downtown area. Lots to do nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    254
    75
    39
    29
See reviews for
108
287
71
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Westin in downtown Minneapolis is located in a historic bank building. The lobby/bar area is very pretty. Within walking distance was a mall, eating establishments and a bar with live music. All employees were helpful. It was recommended to us to use valet parking, which we did since the hotel is in a downtown area with little parking available. The Sunday morning breakfast buffet was very good food and reasonably priced at around $12 per person. There is not a fridge in the room - you can request one though. You also have the option of renting workout clothing for $5 if you did not pack yours. We did not try this option so don't know well that works.

Green Features: Literature is in the rooms about promoting environmentally friendly choices, also healthy eating tips.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with an overnight stay at the Westin in downtown Minneapolis. It is an old bank building that has been beautifully redone. The standard rooms were a bit on the small side, but very nicely decorated. The bed was the high point of the room! So comfortable! When we told them it was our anniversary they graciously offered to comp us a dinner or breakfast. We had already made plans, however. I recommend staying at this Westin. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

It's good overall. Nothing charming about it except it's in an old bank building but that's why we stay at Westins. A bit formal and stiff with it's valet parking and long walkway to the front desk but fine. Wouldn't choose to stay here for entire length of project unless the client was within walking / taxi distance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wow what a great experience from the minute I checked into the hotel. The employee at the front desk was so helpful and sincere, not only did he check me in quickly he asked if I needed suggestions for dinner, transportation needs or anything to make my stay more pleasant.
The room as always is clean and spacious.
So most people don't think of the Westin as a hotel to bring a child to... Wrong the staff was over the top friendly with my son from his kiddy cocktail with extra cherries of course to the snail talk with him to make him feel important. The best part about traveling with a child is your not fighting the crowds to use the pool.
Shawn our waiter is so knowledgable and friendly made meals fun and delightful. I would recommend the hanger steak.
If you are traveling to Minneapolis the Westin is the only choice you should think about, you won't be disappointed.
Great job Westin Staff can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at many hotels in North America but this one is the real gem. Pull up to the hotel and the very friendly valet parking staff show up.

The front office staff is very helpful and no problems switching rooms. Overall the staff get 95% for friendliness.

The restaurant is again top in its class.

One of my best stays!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We live in the twin cities, but decided to stay downtown for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The Westin met our needs very well. The location is excellent - only about a block and a half from the light rail, very close to Nicollett Mall and Hennepin Ave. Check-in was very smooth, and we were even upgraded when we mentioned it was our anniversary. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable - we both slept great. It was also very quiet. The pool was a bit small, but nice. If there had been other people using it, it might have been a little crowded.

Overall, it was a great stay. We'd definitely stay here again if/when we decide to get away for a short weekend and will recommend it to others who visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#9 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Radisson Blu Minneapolis
#6 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#8 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#13 of 48 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Address: 88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.