We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Minneapolis to your Saves list
The Westin Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Dear Westin, thank you for being apart of our 5th anniversary! We are always treated like Royals from valet, check in, at the bank & room service! It doesn't matter you make us feel so welcome! The personal touch in our room each time is so thoughtful and much appreciated. We love the sheets too so crunchy!! To many more memories with you, the Westin!

Green Features: Love how you want to do what you can to protect the earth.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    229
    63
    36
    28
See reviews for
98
269
66
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Westin has a strong reputation with its name and it didn't let me down at all. It was a beautiful building that use to he a bank and we got to see the old vault. The gentleman that checked us in got us through early in order to make our Segway tour and ball game. It was perfectly located in the middle of both activities we had to do for the day as well around the corner from the Metro to Mall of America, Airport, etc. Excellent hotel and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Alfonso M,
Thank you for the great review! I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your loyalty to our hotel and your great feedback on your experience is very special to hear. We are looking forward to having you back for your Twins visit!
Warm Regards
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I made a reservation for my 11th wedding anniversary to stay in a Grand Deluxe room on 8/10/13 that is advertised as a "...corner guestroom..." offering a "...Heavenly Bed and Bath, Glass-Walled Walk-in Shower..."

We get to the room and it certainly did not meet our definition of a corner room (I take this to mean windows on two sides of the room) as the "corner wall" simple bordered an internal hallway in the hotel, not a corner of the building and the only window in the room was a single small window mounted high up on the wall. Instead of "grand deluxe", the room really felt like a coffin and was no different than any standard room that I have stayed in in the past, it was neither "grand" not "deluxe". I inserted a photo in this review of our first room, quite frankly, it does not do the room justice.

Additionally, when Weston advertises that the room has both Heavenly Bath and a shower, I take this to mean that there will be both a bath and a shower in the room. Instead, this is their marketing speak for bath products or something like that. If they want to engage in such marketing speak, then they should clearly include in the room description that it has only a shower and not a bath.

Jason at the front desk did do his best to change our room, which resulted in a room that was in fact a corner room, however, it still only had a shower in it and not the advertised bath. The new room was fine, but the damage had already been done from my perspective. At the end of the day, it was still a disappointment for what was supposed to be a special day and one of the few times we get to spend away from out kids. When you try to plan something special for you spouse and buy into the "grand deluxe" marketing, it really was a let down and disappointment when we walked into the room and put a damper on my evening.

A paying guest should receive what they are promised, they should not have to head back down to the front desk in an attempt to receive the room that they paid for (and in my case, I didn't even get that).

To make matters worse, I cancelled a room at the Hotel Ivy to switch to the Westin, a move that I now regret.

Buyer beware, I really felt like I was getting the bait and switch.

Room Tip: Be careful when the booking description says "corner room" as this does not mean that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Westin Guest;
Please accept our apology for the misunderstanding you encountered due to our website information describing our deluxe rooms. We do mention that it is a room with a Heavenly Bed and Bath. In our king deluxe rooms, the room has our Heavenly Shower as a part of the signature Westin Heavenly Bath. I am sorry for the confusion as the room does not have a bathtub. In no way is our intention ever to mislead our guests on our website room descriptions. I am pleased to hear that the room was changed immediately by our front office team in an attempt to rectify the situation. Our goal was to provide you and relaxing night away for your special occassion and unfortunately we did not exceed your expectations. We hope that we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence in our Westin in for a future visit with us. Thank you again for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor

Regards, WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed one night, and it was nothing special. For a 4 star hotel, it was very lacking. The best part of the hotel were the outside bell men. They were very friendly and helpful. The front desk person was not rude, but not friendly and welcoming. Just a man doing a job. The carpeting needed attention in the hall leading to our room on the 5th floor. Our shower curtain had blood on it. It was just not a good experience. The best thing about this hotel was the location. Very close to dining and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
On behalf of the staff at The Westin Minneapolis, I’d like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay regarding your room cleanliness. We appreciate your honest feedback as it only helps us see where we need to improve upon. I’d like to assure you that we have addressed your concerns with our entire Management Team. Thank you again for your review

Regards
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the most gorgeous suite at the Westin (room 532). My husband and enjoyed a date night in Minneapolis having dinner at Ruth's Chris (amazing) and cocktails at the Union Rooftop (great ambiance). We had breakfast at The Bank (Westin restaurant) which was amazing! The food and service always exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Ally13M,

Thank you for your great review! Your feedback is very important; hearing the positive experience from our guests is truly special to all of our team members. I am thrilled to hear that you had a great stay at our Westin Grand Suite was special and that you had a wonderful visit to BANK. Thank you for your repeat business as we truly value your Loyalty to our Westin. We look forward to your next visit!

Stay Well
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our stay at the Westin Downtown in Minneapolis exceeded all our expectations. The location is great - within waking distance of Target Center, Target Field and a lot of great stores restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They answered all our questions and met all our needs. And lastly, the room itself was incredible. It had a great view of downtown. Plus the bed was super comfortable and the shower was the best. We would definitely stay at the Westin again and highly recommend it to all those traveling to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear nvg210, Thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to hear that you had a great stay at our Westin and enjoyed our Heavenly Bed and our Shower! We hope to see you again for another visit in the near future.

Warm Regards
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My two friends and I stayed here on a Saturday night for a concert at the Target Center. We checked in around 5:15 PM, the front desk clerk asked what brought us there and when we told him it was a concert, he said, "To each their own." I found that to be off-putting and rude.

We then went to our room and found one king bed. We went down to the front desk to ask for a room with two beds, as we requested. We were told, by a different front desk clerk that because we booked through Expedia, we got whatever was left over and they had no rooms available with two beds. We then asked for a roll-away and he said they didn't have any. When we told him that we requested a room with two beds on Expedia, he said, "That's why it's so cheap." I didn't know what to say. At this point, we asked for extra bedding so someone could sleep on the chaise lounge. We never received this bedding.

When we returned from the concert, we asked the front desk about ordering food and they were less than helpful.

Positives- room was large, comfortable and clean. The bar staff was friendly and very helpful. The security officer was very helpful. Valet staff, no problem.

This is very close to the Target Center, so it's perfect for a concert or game, if you don't mind being judged and treated like a 2nd class citizen by the front desk staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Westin Guest;

Please accept my sincere apology for the unfortunate experience you encountered during your recent trip to our Westin Minneapolis. Unfortunately due to the issues that you mentioned, we failed to offer you the experience you anticipated while booking our hotel. Please consider contacting me directly as I would hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel. I value your opinion and thank you for sharing this with me
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Address: 88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.