We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early morning surprise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Minneapolis to your Saves list
The Westin Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Early morning surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was in Minneapolis for business last month and arrived a day earlier than scheduled so I thought I would try my luck with Priceline on a four-star hotel in Minneapolis. As a starting bid, I offered to pay less than half the price of a regular standard room rate. To my surprise, The Westin accepted my bid.

So here I was at a four-star hotel in downtown Minneapolis. Having returned from dinner at the 8th Street Grille, I watched some college hoops (pre-Final Four excitement) on the room's large HDTV, caught up on some emails and went to bed.

Little did I know that my anticipated rest was not to be. About 2:30 am, I was awoken by a commotion in the hallway. From what became crystal clear – via loud talking which morphed into yelling, a group of young women had returned from a night on the town; celebrating one of the foursome’s birthday.

Unfortunately for them, and everyone trying to sleep in nearby rooms, was the fact that the person with the room key-card had entered the room first and shut the door behind her, just before passing out. The remaining members of the party were left stranded in the hallway, outside their room which happened to be right next door to mine.

Now you can imagine what ensued. The three young "ladies" started yelling at their roommate and banging on their guest room door demanding to be let in. Not to insult former or current G.I.s, but the words these women were using would have made a Marine blush.

A night manager from the hotel had responded to the noise and did his best in attempting to get the women to quiet down. But by this point there was no stopping them. They were so angry at their (now former) friend inside the room that they were not going to stop pounding on the door and screaming at the top of their lungs until she woke up and unlocked the door.

So now it’s about 3:15 am (give or take 10 minutes), and the ladies successfully rousted their roommate and gained entry to their room. It was about this time that the Minneapolis Police Department showed up to escort the ladies out of the hotel. Even with the threat of jail hanging over their heads, two members of the party continued yelling all the way down the hall to the elevators, actually hoping to wake up everyone in the hotel, with the officers still back at the room patiently waiting for the remaining two to gather their personal belongings.

Since I purchased the room through Priceline, The Westin was unable to process my request for a credit on my room. I currently have a dispute filed with Priceline through my credit card company.

I don’t fault The Westin or its employees for what happened. It was an unfortunate set of circumstances that could have occurred in any hotel, apparently even a four-star. All I was looking for was a pleasant place to rest my head for the night. What I got was a restless night along with an appreciation for what hotel managers and public safety personnel have to deal with during the ‘graveyard shift’.

While the chances of my slumber being disturbed by a similar incident in the near future are very slim, I doubt I’ll bid on a four-star hotel in downtown Minneapolis again. Maybe I'll try one of the suburbs...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Westin Guest;

Please accept my sincere apology for the unfortunate experience you encountered with room due to the noise from other hotel guests during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately due to the behavior of others we failed to offer you the experience you expect at Westin. Thank you for your kind words regarding our night staff that you observed addressing this very unfortunate situation that affected your stay with us.

Thank You
WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    238
    66
    36
    29
See reviews for
100
273
67
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crosslake, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently had a wonderful Priceline booking with the Minneapolis Westin. We stayed just one night and came in on a Sunday, so downtown Minneapolis was very quiet! Our room was terrific. We loved the comfortable linens and bed and bathroom shower. The only issue we had was with the heating system. The room had it's own thermostat, but the blower kept coming on and off so frequently, it was waking us up. Another critical issue: The Westin only offers valet parking - which if you are going to be coming and going, their price of $36.00 might be a smart choice - as expensive as that sounds. We parked our own car - and still paid $30 in parking fees - which just seems ridiculous. (You'd think Westin could make a better contract with a local parking ramp.) The quality of the rooms - considering that this used to be a bank and office building - was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had a nice stay at The Westin over the weekend and especially enjoyed the friendliness and helpfulness of valet parker, Josh. : ) Not everyone enjoys their job and you can oftentimes sense that. When someone in the service industry is pleasant, it's worth noting. Also, the Westin beds are worth the stay alone. I enjoyed the ambiance of the lobby and bar area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellendale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We got an incredible deal for our nights stay by using 'Hotel Tonight' mobile app. From the front door to the desk - the staff was extremely friendly & helpful. If you are staying in downtown - this is the place to stay - a lot to do w/in walking distance of the hotel. It cost 34 bucks to have them park our car - but I thought it was worth it. I would recommend using the 'Hotel Tonight' app & use the promo code APHOENIX & you can save $25 more off your first booking too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked a room through the Priceline name your own deal tool, so I didn't know until after booking the room that it would be at The Westin Minneapolis.

My entire experience at the Westin was enjoyable. Even though I arrived at midnight and no one was standing outside to take my car to valet parking, a sign on the sidewalk clearly stated that this was the valet parking area, and once I was inside, it was easy to find someone to take the keys and deal with my rental car. The staff were consistently friendly, giving me directions to get around the hotel and around the city, and holding my bags for me while I went out to eat after checking out. They never once made me feel like I was somehow a lesser customer because I had gotten a room through Priceline instead of at full price (which was a complaint I had read from someone else before staying there).

The room was just about perfect. Comfortable beds, a clean bathroom, and a nice television, and no stains or other weirdness that you might find in a lesser hotel. It made me feel like I was in a four star hotel and not a Holiday Inn that was pretending to be fancy.

This is obviously a business-focused hotel. There were not many children running around, and everything seemed oriented towards having business meetings or conferences, but it was extremely comfortable and centrally located in downtown Minneapolis.

Be aware that you are expected to tip for just about everything, and the valet parking is somewhere around $30 per day. Parking on your own is just as expensive (in area parking garages), and you'll wind up walking between the hotel and the garage. I thought it was worth tipping every time I wanted my car, and they were pretty fast about getting it for me.

I did not try the restaurant or bar. They seemed pricey, and I chose to walk down the street instead and try the other options within the city instead.

Overall, I loved staying at the Westin, and I would definitely go back, especially if I can find another great deal on a room. (Not that I don't think the full price is worth it, but a cheaper price still gets the full price treatment, which makes it a great deal!)

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better chance of having some kind of view, if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We couldn't get out of Minnesota for spring break this year so we took the kids to our favorite hotel The Westin. They kids enjoyed the pool and our spacious suite with two separate bedrooms. LOVE heavenly beds!!!! We had amazing dinner and breakfast in the BANK restaurant. The food is amazing and the staff is very attentive. We can't wait to come back to the Westin for another enjoyable time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent one night in downtown Minneapolis to celebrate my birthday and stayed the the Westin. The location is easily accessible to shopping and restaurants downtown. The room was very clean, very comfortable, decent size, and very well appointed. The only think about the room was the small bathroom that was a bit awkward due the location of the toilet and the swing of the door ... other than that, our room was perfect. We were on the fifth floor - the view was okay, nothing spectacular. I did enjoy the black-and-white historical photos throughout the common areas of the hotel. Check-in was quick, easy, and efficient. While they offer valet parking, I chose to self-park. Meters in downtown east of 2nd avenue are not enforced after 6pm on Friday. I was able to leave my car with the valet while I checked-in. After hauling luggage up to my room, I came back downstairs and drove my car 2-1/2 blocks away and was able to park on the street. The lobby is fabulous - formerly a bank lobby. We had a cocktail and enjoyed $5 happy hour appetizers in the lobby bar. We paid $94 +tax which was an excellent value for this property. I highly recommend the Westin Minneapolis

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Address: 88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.