We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in downtown area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Minneapolis to your Saves list
The Westin Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in downtown area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a very nice downtown hotel. The room size was nice compared to the Radisson nearby. Clean, great location, awesome rain shower head, and connected to the skyway. I did not give this hotel 5 stars because of the restaurant/bar staff. Waitress was not helpful and had an attitude. As stated on another review we missed having a plug near the bed for our phones. Not sure if I have a super sensitive nose, but the lobby area had a very strong floral smell that gave me a headache instantly. Beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    230
    64
    36
    28
See reviews for
98
269
66
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Westin December 23rd 2013 for our 17th wedding aniversary. I sent a message to the hotel when booking that it was our aniversary-and wow! Did they pull out the stops for us. They said Happy Aniversary right off the bat, they gave us an upgrade with a wonderful city view and the experience was just grand. We were in town visiting family for Christmas and bragged to them about our stay in Minneapolis.

The only downside was the awkward pool situation-we were in the pool swimming and the cleaning people chose that time to come and clean the area around the pool, using loud vacumns and making lots of noise. It seemed weird that they do that when the pool was open and people were enjoying the pool. The pool was also (as was the hottub) WAY over chlorinated. We used to have a pool and know they were using too much chlorine. It would be nicer for the guests if they switched to bromine or something like a saltwater pool. Anyway, over all a stellar experience. Go WESTIN!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Got a nice rate prepaid as I'm a Marriott warrior (gold SPG though). Loved the room, great workout facility, bar is expensive, and in general a nice place. I don't understand how a room can be setup where the closest plugin for my phone is at least 5 ft from my bed. Seriously?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I can't understand reviewers downgrading this hotel because of its view. Like many downtowns, there is no scenary and none of Minnesota's legitimate 10,000 lakes are located downtown, so a view of a building or rooftop is pretty much the only option for a central location. This hotel fills the bill. It is skyway connected. Too bad the city of Minneapolis only keeps skyways open for business people and tourists are left stuck out in the cold after 8 pm on weekends. The lobby and public areas are beautifully maintained in the original fashion of the former bank. The central restaurant and bar (Bank) is beautiful but I didn't try it. Our room was well equipped and a good size but we were upgraded to a King suite that had room for a sofa bed. I would imagine the standard rooms are small. The bathroom is too small, but very nice and spa like. (In our larger room they could have sacrificed some of the bedroom to create a larger bath, but that would probably not work in a standard room). Staff was efficient and friendly. Room decor was a bit sterile, but impecably clean welcoming and comfortable. You can save a lot of money using the skyway connected ramp rather than valet parking, unless you plan to go in and out frequently. Then,valet may be a better option as it includes unlimited in and out privledges.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the elevator do pick up peoples voices as they enter and exit the elevator area and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is very clean, exceptionally maintained and run very well. However, if you are expecting a room with a view you might look elsewhere. I am not sure if every room is the same as ours was, but the bottoms of the windows in our room were about 5'+ off the ground. Which meant we had no view unless I went right up to the window to look outside. My wife (5'4") had to stand on a chair. Not a major deal, but a view would be nice. Only other minor complaint was that the front desk was unable to look up my SPG# (forgot to include it when I booked the room), so I had to spend about 5 minutes at the desk looking it up on my phone. The location is fabulous if you are going to any of the major venues downtown (Target Center, Target Field, State Theatre, etc). Also, many restaurants and bars nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The best managed hotel I ever stayed
Nice and very clean
the workers very friendly and professional. I'm definitely coming back
and recommending for everyonl front desk is friendly and professional the room service is excellent
food is great, service perfect
the rooms nice and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a great weekend at the Westin. Hotel was really nice and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Got the executive king room and it was really nice, but slightly small.
Overall it was a great a great weekend with the wife.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Address: 88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.