We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Minneapolis to your Saves list
The Westin Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in the Westin Minneapolis during the Christmas holidays and could not have been happier with our choice. We met our son and his wife plus two daughters on the 21st of December and enjoyed a five day celebration of the holidays. Our rooms were adjoining, beds (king) extremely comfortable, bathroom extremely clean and fashionable; great two-headed shower for shower lovers, which we are. Our room had its own temperature controls so we could be warmer during the day and cooler at night. All of the amenities one comes to expect from a Westin were readily available. When our granddaughter peeked under the bed she found a card there that said "yes, we even clean down here!" We thought that was pretty cool! We used their valet service for parking our car and while we thought it a bit expensive we came to appreciate the young men who ran to get our car for us and delivered it already warmed up, temps were close to zero most mornings so the service certainly paid off. We ate most meals out but our last evening together we chose to stay and eat in their fine restaurant. This was Christmas night, they had a greatly reduced staff (two servers) in order for the greater numbers of staff to celebrate Christmas with
their families. Our service was superb, the food was excellent, a feast of different foods that each member thoroughly enjoyed.
I mentioned our location -- a block away from Nicolette Street where a parade is held every weekend from Thanksgiving to Christmas, also connected to Nicolette Mall. A walk away from a wide variety of restaurants and other types of entertainment.
Did we love it? Yes. Do we recommend this wonderful hotel? Absolutely. They even have works-out rooms, a lap pool, and a hot tub! Can't ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    255
    76
    39
    29
See reviews for
108
287
71
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I usually don't sleep well at any hotel, but The Westin was an exception. This was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The linens were wonderful. We had a corner room with a view of downtown. The bathroom was very large and the "Heavenly Shower" was great. The building itself is historic and beautiful so it's worth a walk around if you have time. I remember having a school savings account at the Farmers & Mechanics Bank back in the 50s! I only have one complaint about the room. The "white" fabric chairs needed a good cleaning, or replacement.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgraded room overlooking the main streets rather than an inside room or you'll ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
519 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Westin Hotel has a fantastic location in central downtown Minneapolis, very close to the IDS Tower and great shopping (very near the light rail line from the airport). In the winter you do not need to go outside as the hotel is connected to the cities skyway system via a 2nd floor access. The building used to be the 1941 Farmers & Mechanics Bank building and the original 34-foot vaulted bank lobby, beautiful marble staircase, and wood carved emblems were largely kept intact when it was transformed into the Westin Hotel. The old bank lobby area is spectacular.

The service at both the restaurant and front desk were fantastic. The rooms were nice and large and the beds were VERY comfortable. It sounds weird but even the free shampoo was nice. The shower was spacious and it had two great shower heads.

If you are staying in Minneapolis, I highly recommend that you choose the Westin Minneapolis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel has everything, from location, excellent customer service to heavenly beds. My collegues and I were amazed at the attention to detail and follow up service. It was almost like the staff was one step ahead of us at every corner meeting and exceeding our needs. This Westin definitely will be our choice when visiting the downtown area. It was also a bonus when the General Manager is graciously welcoming guests at the front desk. Something that rarely happens in other hotels. Top hotel choice all around for Minneapolis!

Room Tip: Spacious rooms. Even the double beds had plenty of room in between. One did not feel as though the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a WONDERFUL stay at the Westin November 30/December 1st 2012! The rooms were amazing. The food is incredible and the staff was so friendly and accommodating! Each moment was thoroughly enjoyable! We had 3 suites since there were several of us and each suite was beautifully designed and different from the other - such a treat! It was like visiting design homes - one even had a terrace with an amazing view of the downtown skyline! We enjoyed dinner together in one of their side "bank conference rooms" which gave intimacy for our group, along with enjoying the historic nostalgia of being in the old bank rooms. We headed down to the Holidazzle parade and enjoyed shopping on Nicollet Mall - so much to do in such a small area. Bar hopping at the Mission, the top of 7 and the W are fun stops too! However, our suites were so enjoyable that we decided next year when we return, we are just going to go out for Happy Hour and the parade and then head back to the Westin and have a party back in our rooms. We enjoyed a wonderful brunch the morning we checked out.

Room Tip: The suites were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a pleasure these two days were in The Westin Minneapolis! We had meetings in Minneapolis and often find this hotel booked solid. As someone who stays in a lot of hotels that don't do it well, this is always a pleasure. Knowledgeable and genuinely friendly staff, really hip bar and stellar food! The best part for me is the cleanliness of The Westin --- not only the room, the restaurant but our meeting room and the ancillary bathrooms were immaculate. We always try to stay here a couple of times a year and are always disappointed when we can't get in. Management obviously has a keen eye for detail as well as those special touches. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise, this hotel sits right downtown Minneapolis. The A/C unit gingerly ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The entire experience was great. The friendliest staff on the planet can't go wrong! The restaurant and lounge are hip and exciting. Great location near restaurants and shops.The entire hotel was perfectly clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#9 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Radisson Blu Minneapolis
#6 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#8 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#13 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Address: 88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.