We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Minneapolis to your Saves list
The Westin Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I am writing this from my room at the Westin, just previous to check out.

After a 6 hour drive, I arrived at the Westin, a hotel at which I have previously stayed. I was given room 715, which is on the Starwood Preferred Floor. Not having an appointment until 11:45, and having to make the return, 6 hour drive after my appointment, I had planned to sleep in. I found that peace and quiet were in short supply on this stay.

The noise started at around 7:00 AM. It sounded as if a wrecking crew was working in the hallway. The housekeeper repeatedly slammed the door to the storage room, slammed guest room doors and seemed to do everything within her power to see to it that no one got any rest. At one point, after watching her slam a guest room door shut, I asked her if she could be just a bit more quiet. Her response was to smile and turn her back on me.

The room itself, was standard Westin. Great bedding, great linens, totally comfortable. I'm really going to miss this place, as I will now be looking for a hotel in Minneapolis where I can get some rest during my frequent visits.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 715. It is near both the elevator and the housekeeping supply closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    207
    59
    34
    28
See reviews for
87
251
64
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We received a travel zoo deal on this hoptel for a one night stay with bottle of wine and apps. The room was great. Unfortunately the apps were over priced.They were to be included in the deal. The taxes and the price was over and added 30.00 for what we thought was included. The waitress did not inform us until after and they could not locate our wine which was all house:( It was a disappointment for what we thought was a value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night before cruising the Mississippi and had an enjoyable night. Everything you might need is right here or with-in walking distance. The downtown area is connected by a series of skywalks so you never have to worry about the weather.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet because the building was an old bank building. Outside walls are very thick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent the weekend in Minneapolis in order to be nearer to Northfield, MN for a college athletic event, and couldn't have been more pleased with the proximity to the airport, downtown restaurants and easy access to the highway. The property is a beautiful, old bank building, refurbished into a hotel. The gracious lobby exudes elegance, and is the perfect place to sit and relax, and enjoy a cocktail before dinner. The room was incredible, with plenty of space to sit. Amazing view of downtown, comfortable surroundings and very clean. The bathroom is spacious, although it would be nice to have another towel bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Convenient Hotel connected to skywalk. Walk to conveniently located restaurants or do some shopping without ever having to face the elements. We brought our 11 and 13 year old. They enjoyed the stainless steel pool. This hotel is in an old bank building. Very beautiful. Rooms were clean and nice. Nice bathrooms. The lobby is a groovy place to hang out and although dinner there was very expensive, it was also very delicious. We noticed a lot of business lunches and dinners and if I had an expense account, I'd probably go there a lot too. Staff treated us well as a gay couple. I would go back here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This property is a great place to stay if you're in Minneapolis to attend Target Field, Target Center, or the Metrodome, walking distance to all. The entire downtown is connected by a series of skywalks so you don't have to worry about the weather or traffic when moving about, that's a plus. Also there are many restaurants, hundreds of stores, and many nightclubs either within the skywalks or on the streets below them, plus a large movie theater so everyone will have something to do before or after your event.

Parking is all valet for $30. day, a little expensive but once they park it you won't need it until you leave, everything is that close. And if you want to take a quick trip to the Mall of America or need an airport pickup, the light rail system is a couple blocks from the hotel, probably a 20 minute ride to either place.

I would consider this one of the best downtown locations for events along with Graves and the Marriot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked the room on Hotwire, and we were upgraded to a room suite at no charge. It was a fantastic room, more like an apartment, and very comfortable, clean, and contemporary.

The lobby is very impressive, and valet parking is $30. Normally I don't use valet parking, but this time I did and it was good value.

The front desk staff was very helpful, and one of them gave a great recommendation to eat at a restaurant in St. Paul's near the Excel Energy Centre as we were attending a concert.

Really enjoyed this hotel and service!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Address: 88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;