We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hotel, Completely Overpriced Though” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Save Saved
You added The Westin Minneapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel, Completely Overpriced Though”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel really is a great place. It is newer, in what seems like an older cool building. The bar/restaurant/reception area is really unique and very attractive. The rooms live up to the Westin Standards with comfortable beds, nice bathroom, and nice amenities.

The workout room was also up to Westin standards, modern, good amount of equipment.

It also is a very good location and is right in the heart of a lot of restaurants, bars, and other downtown attractions.

The only real drawback was the price. I paid 350+ for one night including valet. That seemed excessive. I'd still highly recommend it, just look for a better price if you can get one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    203
    59
    33
    28
See reviews for
85
248
64
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were in Minneapolis last weekend for my daughter's wedding, and most of the guests stayed at the Westin. Since most of the guests flew in (from around the world, nonetheless...), getting to/from the Westin on the lightrail was important. Everyone was so impressed with downtown Minneapolis, the ease of getting around, the hotel accomodations, food/beverages at the hotel, and the very helpful staff at the Westin.....they couldn't say enough good things. Staying at the Westin really made our stay in Minneapolis so enjoyable.....plus, the weather couldn't have been any better. Just a perfect weekend all around!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed whilst visiting the city on a conference, great location, good clean rooms, ticks all the boxes. Connected to the city skywalk system so easy to get around, close to rail station at Nicollet which made the mall of America a 20 minute ride away. If your in town check out the farmers market and the streetside food trucks, awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location, within walking distance to many fine dining establishments, corporate offices, and the shops of Nicollet Mall. We had a large suite, with a cozy/comfy living room and beautiful glass showers. Decor was very modern, yet warm and inviting. The swimming pool was AMAZING; wish I had been able to use it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Westin Guest;

Thank you for the great review on our Westin Minneapolis. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our Westin Grand Suite and Heavenly Shower. Our entire team looks forward to having you back in the near future!

Stay Well
Mark Deinhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, SD
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel was wonderfully located. We were in town for a Vikings game and stayed Sunday night. We were in walking distance to the Metrodome and plenty of bars and restaurants. The hotel is also very beautiful. I do not know that I would stay here again as we were put by neighbors that were arguing and throwing things in their hotel room until 2am. Then up again at 7am. I literally heard everything from their room as if I was actually in it! I was very tired for my 5 hour drive home. I will probably stay somewhere else the next time I am in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Westin Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience while staying at the Westin. Please accept my apology for your experience during your visit due to the noise from the room next door. It is and will remain the goal of the Westin, to have our guests feeling better than they did when they arrive. When a noise complaint is received it is expected that the complaint is followed up on in a courteous and professional manner. Unfortunately we failed to accomplish this in a timely manner.

Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this unfortunate situation in greater detail, Once again thank you for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Mark Deinhart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've been to many hotels around the country and I must say that the Westin in Downtown Minneapolis is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The service is second to none and the food was outstanding. What impressed me the most is just how much the staff there made you feel comfortable and valued. The location is ideal, especially with the skywalk and the rooms were very clean! When you visit Minneapolis put the Westin at the top of your list. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinmpls, General Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Westin Guest;

Thank you for the great feedback in regards to your stay at our Westin! Feedback is a gift, and your's is truly appreciated. Please let me know the next time you will be returning as I would love an opportunity to meet you and to assist you with even the smallest detail you may have.

Mark Deinhart
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night. The location is great, there are a number of great restaurants within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our room. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, and was a nice size. We were at the end of the hallway and it was very quiet. The only thing missing from our room was a refrigerator. There was a locked mini-bar that we called the front desk about and were told we could get a key and try to empty it out and use it, but it didn't seem worth it.

Across the street from the Westin there is a valet parking ramp that is $12 a night. I noticed the Westin valet is $30, which seems pretty steep. If you can walk across the street you can save some $.

Overall we had a great stay and would definitely recommend it for a nice place to stay downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Address: 88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.