We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Westin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Minneapolis to your Saves list
The Westin Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved the Westin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

I stayed at the new Westin in July 2007 (yes, this is a very overdue review). I had a fabulous room and have no complaints. I ended up booking at the last minute after another hotel (shall remain nameless) dropped my reservation. I was upgraded to the rejuvination suite, which was simply amazing. The room was sleek, modern, and very large, and the bathroom was simply HUGE - almost as big as my first apartment in Toronto! I thought the full body shower was also amazing. As always, the linens and heavenly bed were, well... heavenly. I was in Minneapolis on business and almost disappointed I didn't have more time to spend in the hotel room. The service from the front desk staff was great; I didn't really deal with anyone else. Again, I had absolutely no complaints with this hotel and loved the modern decor. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    241
    67
    37
    29
See reviews for
102
274
68
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, ND
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

We checked into our TINY room and I called the front desk since they said they upgraded us. I asked why the rooms were so small and she said all downtown hotels are that small. I have stayed in every one downtown MInneapolis and this is the smallest room I have stayed in EVER. The windows were small. The bathrooms were no frills. There are so many lovely hotels downtown Minneapolis that are far superior to this one for the money. Beds were comfortable, pillows were ok. TV fantastic...Furnishings seemed worn already and no fills for sure. The Bank restaurant was amazing. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone. Parking was the highest of any hotel downtown.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

I stayed at this hotel in Sept of 2007 and had a fantastic stay. We were on floor 9 on an SPG floor, upgraded from the origional reservation ( I called the hotel in advance-we were celebrating my friend's bday). She was extremely impressed by the room-I am in the travel industry and thus a bit jaded, but it was her birthday!
The hotel itself was gorgous-tip-instead of paying the valet parking price, park right around the corner from the hotel for 5.00 (as long as you don't need your car the weekend).
There were a few issues with the bill after I left, but I called the hotel and they were immdiately taken care of. I also left a sweater there and they fed ex'ed it at no charge-great service!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

A fan of old-world architecture I was excited to stay at this new property, located in a renovated historic building. Upon arrival we learned parking is all valet. While that was not a big issue, arrival and departure is a hassle, as there is little space to park and load/unload. Once we found the front desk check in was fine. As a Starwood member I expected and Unwind hour to be offered or a concierge floor, but neither was the case. I was a bit disappointed in the small bathrooms and tight quarters (I was in a traditional room) and my view was that of a building. My wife and I went off property for dinner, but ordered room service later in the evening as we wanted a snack. BIG MISTAKE. We would have been better off going to a gas station for a hot dog. All the staff we encountered seemed a bit somber, but were nice. Overall, the visit to The Westin Minneapolis wasn't overly impressive. I'd consider another hotel next time I visited Minneapolis.

  • Liked — historic building
  • Disliked — doesn't stand out
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY & MN homes
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

The Westin Minneapolis is absolutely a beautiful hotel, however the service was ridiculously condescending. We had 6 executive rooms booked; yet the staff treated us horribly, most likely because we were college students. Check-in was a tedious process and they wanted cash damage deposits. We refused this request and were hassled for 20 minutes, finally a wonderful gentleman, Daryl, stopped the madness. Finally we were 'free' to go to our rooms, only to discover that 2 of them were yet to be cleaned from prior guests!

The day of our checkout we were once again hassled as we had valet park charges, which couldn't be possible, as we had driven a bus in. I explained to the concierge that I had parked the bus 3 blocks over in the public library open lot. She said that her valets could still park a bus, which is great, but they didn't park ours. Finally, my friend came over told the front desk we were leaving to go to our football game and that her attorney father would walk the 2 blocks from his firm in the AT&T tower on Monday to straighten the ordeal out. Surprise, surprise, we were free to go.

The point, check out other downtown hotels such as Graves 301, the Hyatt or IVVY hotel. They are just as classy and I have personally stayed at 2 of them and have been treated professionally. Until the Westin starts hiring educated personal who can treat ALL clients in an acceptable manner, I wholeheartedly urge you to STAY AWAY!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — horrible service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

We stayed here at the end of June and loved it.
We were upgraded to a suite (as Hubby is a platinum SPG member).
The suite was really spaceous and very comfortable.
We had a drink in the bar (the old bank) it was expensive but good.
The hotel is in a very good location in Minneapolis, very close to shops and restaurants. I would go back again!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

The two best Westin properties are in the United States are in the midwest. St Louis Westin I would rank #1 but this is a close #2. Great bar atmosphere in the restaurant bank the rooms are hip. A must stay.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Address: 88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.