We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Minneapolis to your Saves list
The Westin Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed at the Westin Mpls for my sister's wedding for the weekend. Amazing room service food and great cocktails at The Bank. By far my family's favorite hotel in Minneapolis!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    219
    60
    35
    28
See reviews for
92
256
64
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Our daughter was married Labor Day weekend and the Minneapolis Westin was our choice for out-of-town guests. Jill Halfond made organizing the weekend easy for me, and our guests all raved about the comfortable rooms and excellent service. The hotel's location on the light rail line made it possible for our guests to experience the city without renting cars. I enthusiastically recommend the Minneapolis Westin for visitors to the Twin Cities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Westin was the "headquarters hotel" for our daughter's September 10th wedding.

As we live in the far western suburbs and the bride, groom and groom's family all live in the DC area, we needed a location that was close the the south Mnneaplos wedding site and the downtown rehearsal dinner and reception sites, where everyone could stay for the entire weekend. The Westin worked beautifully.

Their friendly, professional and accommodating staff worked with us every step of the way-from reserving a block of rooms at an exceptionally reasonable rate, making on-line reservations easy and conveniently linked to the couple's wedding website, to facilitating a post-rehearsal dinner party in the beautiful and intimate Platinum room, and finally to arranging the Sunday morning brunch for our out-of-town guests in the beautiful BANK restaurant before they flew home.

Our room was lovely and spacious enough for the bride to make all of her wedding preparations, and the suite provided to the wedding couple was a luxurious and relaxing space in which to unwind after all the festivities.

We were also able to take some fantastic wedding photos on the grand staircase and in the extraordinary Art-Deco lobby.

The Westin was a key factor in making our daughter's wedding experience perfect in every way!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

One of the nicest business hotels I've ever stayed at. Challenging getting hotel reservations due to hotel's popularity. Elegent decor - hotel occupies a former bank - bar/restaurant is located in the lobby. Nice rooms, friendly GM. Nice gym. Pool small but typical of city hotels. Friendly staff. Business center ins complimentary, which is a +. I don't think you'll get any better in Minneapolis. Walking distance to corporate centers and Minneapolis stadiums/arenas. You won't go wrong staying here...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

In August, my wife and I used the Westin Minneapolis as the home base for our wedding. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiles and the wonderful white tea aroma floating through the air. My bride and her friends all got ready in the well appointed and spacious penthouse. Even with the bride, 6 bridesmaids, 2 mothers, 2 makeup artists, 2 photographers and 2 videographers, there was still plenty of room. The only thing better than the penthouse was the quite suite we were able to escape to as the wedding party came back to the penthouse to continue to celebrate. The Westin Minneapolis was a perfect choice for us and our group!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Got a great rate at the Westin on Priceline for a one night weekend getaway for my husband and I. The room was a little on the small side, but that is too be expected because the hotel is in a historic bank building. The main lobby/restaurant area is very unique and I like that they had the old bank vault on display for guests. A minor quirk was the light switch for the bathroom is actually outside of the bathroom. Not a deal breaker, but it was quite strange.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, ne
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel is great--clean-quiet and wonderful staff. We have stayed here before but this time the pillows were starting to fall apart--i did ask for a new one and they brought another one just like the one on the bed--a small thing but if you don't sleep well it is a big thing.
We had breakfast downstairs and it had great wait staff and good food.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Address: 88 South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.