We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable culinary treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary

Sanctuary
903 Washington Av. S., Minneapolis, MN (Downtown)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sanctuary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 1,582 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Chicago Avenue
Transit: Washington Avenue buses run in front of Sanctuary. Light rail and other buses stop near the Dome - less than a block South of (behind) Sanctuary.
Description: Sanctuary, with its chandeliers and vaguely gothic ambiance - protected by gargoyles like the sanctuaries of Europe - is elegant, yet comfortable. A fireplace warms cold nights - a patio with flowers and herbs celebrates summer. Sanctuary serves New American Cuisine – delicious, beautiful, out-of-the-ordinary yet satisfying combinations of the familiar with various immigrant touches. Focusing on fresh, local and seasonal, the menu changes every other month, Tasting Menus are served M-Th, Seasonal Specials weekends.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Affordable culinary treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Visiting, a friend reserved a Tuesday dinner. We chose the tasting menu with the wine pairing. It's a great value. The dishes are reasonable portions and are highly creative. One of our courses was a cold watermelon soup with creme fresh spiced up with habanero extract. The wine pairing was not simply wine, one of the courses had a champagne with a dash of balsamic instead of bitters.
For a metro area and a well crafted culinary tour, the $69/person fare is a real value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    30
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went here since the place was one of the top restaurants in Minneapolis on Tripadvisor. Very disappointing experience. i don't get it. The decor was great, the menu sounded great. The food was just ok. And the service was poor, at best. Others pleasant servers would occasionally bring certain courses and drinks, so maybe we just had an abberation, but our waitress was simply consistently inattentive for over 1.5 hours. Even though we let her know at 5:50 we had a 7:30 Guthrie show, we still had to ask for the final course of the tasting menu at the same time as the check to make the show on time. And I have yet to mention the filthy spoon served with the soup as well as a dirty bread plate. We had hoped to have found a new pre-Guthrie spot. I guess not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to push your taste bud... They definitely try to be creative on taste mix and dressing, with a smiling service. However it miss a little kick in this taste to make it fabulous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.paul
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inventive menu, attentive service, attractive prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a wonderful meal here on our way to the Guthrie. The service was relaxed and efficient, we did not feel rushed. Have the tartlet appetizer for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay--nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was so highly touted that I expected a lot. It was fine but nothing special. Menu was okay, food was okay, atmosphere was okay, drinks were okay. Location was good by the Guthrie but other than that, ehh.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanctuary also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.