We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Toast to Toast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toast Wine Bar & Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Toast Wine Bar & Cafe
415 N 1st St, Minneapolis, MN 55401-4305 (Warehouse District)
612-333-4305
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,582 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $3 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Toast to Toast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My son recently got married in Minneapolis, MN. Being from NY it was not an easy job to plan the rehearsal party long distance. We chose Toast Wine Bar because it was withing walking distance of the hotel where we and most of our out of town guests were staying and because of the great reviews it received from different review sources. Toast did a wonderful job with every aspect of the evening. They even provided vases for us to use for our fresh flowers that we purchased at the farmer's market. The food was delicious and fit different dietary needs. The wine was excellent and Scott the owner even let us bring in a NYS Finger Lakes wine for the toast. Thank you Scott, Todd, Paige and all the behind the scenes staff for making our party the huge success it was.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Toast did a great job hosting our rehearsal dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Toast hosted our rehearsal dinner and did an excellent job. They brought out a great variety of food for our guests and made sure that everything was refilled. The service from the owner and his team was great and they made our guests feel very welcome. The best part of having the dinner at Toast was that we were not confined to a small area with assigned seats. Everyone could move around and get to know one another. I would definitely recommend Toast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wine down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I can't review the food here because we only came by for drinks but just e wine and the atmosphere scores this top points for me.
Scott ( one of the owners maybe) was awesome and chatted to us about the vino as we drank, recommending different types and even offering us samples of some more unusual vintages/flavours!
Toast is located in a cool area of downtown..by all the new trendy warehouse apartments and it's cozy and romantic. While we were there they had various wedding parties coming in so such a great atmosphere.
They have some more unusual wines and the customer service totally won it for me!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lite fare with emphasis on great wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A lovely cafe that is really a wine bar with lite food. It is perfect for a romantic lite supper, or gatherings with friends. It is a favorite with the condo dwellers in the immediate vicinity.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Cheers of wine bars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Toast is tucked underneath an apartment building in the warehouse district. It is cozy and inviting and in nice weather the exterior patio is pleasant and accomodates a goodly number of people. On a recent lovely summer’s night, we had the pleasure of having a light supper there.
Our server, Andrew, was a delight. He was knowledgeable and friendly without being over the top. The wine he suggested that we have with our pizza, a Malbec, was an excellent choice.
It seemed that the servers and the owner knew everyone in the place, or at least welcomed them as if they did, thus the Cheers atmosphere.
There were three of us and we chose 2 pizzas which Andrew had suggested would be the right amount....and he was right. The pizzas have a cracker thin crust and the two that we had were delicious....There were nine to choose from. We had the sundried tomato, mozzarella and Italian herb and the black olive, artichoke, red pepper, goat cheese and spinach. The pizzas are $12-$14 apiece.
There were many other tempting offerings......crostinis, burratas, charcuterie,multiple cheeses, baked polentas and soup and salad. I can’t wait to go back and try them all. And we don't live in the neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Wine Bar & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Toast Wine Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toast Wine Bar & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.