We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lite fare with emphasis on great wines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toast Wine Bar & Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Toast Wine Bar & Cafe
415 N 1st St, Minneapolis, MN 55401-4305 (Warehouse District)
612-333-4305
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,595 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $3 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lite fare with emphasis on great wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A lovely cafe that is really a wine bar with lite food. It is perfect for a romantic lite supper, or gatherings with friends. It is a favorite with the condo dwellers in the immediate vicinity.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Cheers of wine bars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Toast is tucked underneath an apartment building in the warehouse district. It is cozy and inviting and in nice weather the exterior patio is pleasant and accomodates a goodly number of people. On a recent lovely summer’s night, we had the pleasure of having a light supper there.
Our server, Andrew, was a delight. He was knowledgeable and friendly without being over the top. The wine he suggested that we have with our pizza, a Malbec, was an excellent choice.
It seemed that the servers and the owner knew everyone in the place, or at least welcomed them as if they did, thus the Cheers atmosphere.
There were three of us and we chose 2 pizzas which Andrew had suggested would be the right amount....and he was right. The pizzas have a cracker thin crust and the two that we had were delicious....There were nine to choose from. We had the sundried tomato, mozzarella and Italian herb and the black olive, artichoke, red pepper, goat cheese and spinach. The pizzas are $12-$14 apiece.
There were many other tempting offerings......crostinis, burratas, charcuterie,multiple cheeses, baked polentas and soup and salad. I can’t wait to go back and try them all. And we don't live in the neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fun meal sitting outside in the summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had the crostini platter and a selection of off-beat wines (I've heard of red, white and rose, but never orange!). We quite enjoyed Toast. Its certainly not the cheapest (its located in a yuppy/DINK part of Minneapolis).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best wine bar ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This small wharehouse district wine bar is a bit off the regular downtown pedestrian course but that makes it all the more worth the extra effort if you want to impress your friends with your prowess for ferreting out the hidden gems. The wine list is packed with unexpected surprises from regions you've not heard of and varietals you don't expect from those you have. The menu is just as unexpected featuring amazing antipasti and exotic specialities like a truffle barada that will leave you salivating for more. Proprietor Scott will charm you with his easy smile, his extensive wine knowledge and his gastronomic genius. This is one of the most fun and unique eateries I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great spot for pre or post-dinner drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stopped at Toast Wine Bar & Cafe for drinks prior to heading out for dinner. While our taxi driver and hotel concierge questioned if this was a new restaurant/wine bar, we had heard of it before through the grapevine before, and were assured it has been open for about 6 years now. Somehow it seems to fly under the radar...it is a little off the beaten path and located down a side street just outside of downtown in the North Loop Heritage Landing Building. If you have an appreciation for wines of the world, like a slower paced and more 'classed-up' bar crowd, a wine list with many by the glass or by the bottle options, then this is your place. Although we did not eat at Toast, many people were, and there looked to be some decent menu options available to choose from. Friendly service and great wine suggestions along with indoor and outdoor seating make Toast worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Wine Bar & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Toast Wine Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toast Wine Bar & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.