We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis to your Saves list
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hennepin Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

My husband and I made a spur of the moment decision to travel to Minneapolis for the weekend. We took a chance and let Hotwire decide where we stayed. We were absolutely thrilled with Le Meridien Chambers. There is nothing about this hotel that is not perfect. I didn’t want to leave and can’t wait to go back. Kudos to the staff and management and thank you for keeping a smile on my face from the moment we stepped through your doors to when we left. Love you!

The restaurant and patio were both beautiful, immaculate and the food fabulous! The location is in close proximity to everything downtown. Oh and this hotel smells fabulous. I don’t know what they are using but it is heavenly.

This is a downtown location and parking is restricted. We found the parking ramps to be very close, 1/2 block from hotel. It is easy to park and walk. This is much more cost effective than paying for a valet ($7 versus $30 + gratuity).

I am a very hard person to please; I have left locations that I found unacceptable and I can tell you that you will not be disappointed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    83
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
20
118
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I booked a room at the Chambers for my sister and brother in-law as a post wedding gift. I called the hotel and asked for a nice room. I booked a classic queen and they were upgraded to a balcony suite. Service from front desk, to bar, to night staff, to house keeping was excellent. We checked out the room and hung out for a while. Room was extremely impressive with original art (wow!!!) and extremely comfortable beds. Beats the W for comfort and urban vibe (Ws tends to use low thread count sheets). They said they thorough enjoyed their stay and received great service. We dropped them off one night and decided to check out the courtyard bar for a drink. Great service from front desk and waitress. Highly recommend. Even though we live in downtown, we plan to check in for a weekend splurge soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

My wife and I stayed in this hotel overnight. What a disappointment. Where do I begin? The inflated rates? We had a 500 night package. They expected you to pay inflated prices for parking. Our room didn't even have a bathtub in the room. The shower is on the shower ceiling so if you didn't want to get your hair wet you are in trouble. There was no shower cap. There was no place in the bathroom for either of us to put our toiletries. I like to relax and read in a tub and couldn't believe our package didn't include a room with a tub. The bed was wonderful and the best part of the stay. The rest of the room was just okay at best. I couldn't believe that in a luxury room, they had flat screen TVs with no HD and lousy reception. It had a weird elevator that was dark with black lights with weird music and sounds. It was creepy! The hotels personal are great. But the hotel and the restaurant and the food is okay to poor at best. The courtyard to sit and relax is right off Hennepin Ave and between two buildings. The traffic is loud and the patio furniture looked old and dirty and wasn't comfortable. This hotel is known for art - well the art is weird or perverted or both. They had a huge picture of a guy that just finished have sex with a blow up doll with KY jelly and Vaseline and porn in the picture. This is a huge picture on a wall! It was in extremely poor taste and offensive to any normal person. They had what I thought was a pile of garbage bags in a pile. It turned out it was art! The restaurant floor is white patterned linoleum and looked dirty. White walls everywhere that had smudge marks. The chairs in the restaurant were old white leather or vinyl or something but full of tears and not comfortable. That was bad because dinner took a long time. They tried to make dinner look fancy but you were eating off a table with no table cloths. The dinner was okay – food okay and presentation horrible. The breakfast was the worst I have ever eaten anywhere at any time. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and also in Le Meridian’s which we normally love. We could not wait to check out of this hotel and left immediately after breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Form trumps function in this artsy hotel, so you really ought to be the type of person who has a sense of humor and can appreciate aesthetics. If you have ever been to the Sagamore on Miami Beach then you'll notice the similarities in the contemporary art and design feel. There's pieces to look at in the lobby, video on flatscreens along the halls, and a "sound experience" in the elevator (we laughed every time we got in the elevator - it is completely dark, except for a few purple LED lights, and we were awash with a calming ambient soundscape. It's like something out of Epcot Center. I happen to like Epcot Center, so this was quite enjoyable!)

Our room was a good size, very sleek and modern. The absolute best part was the feather-top mattress on the bed, the sea of fluffy feather pillows and the down comforter. Best sleep ever.

In the bathroom, the TV was handy for watching the World Cup while showering under the rain-style shower head. I also thought the complimentary shampoo and hand lotion have this refreshing scent... something like Aveda or Fresh products. One qualm is that there isn't any counter space for your toiletries and stuff. I don't know, maybe it's just minimalist and "stuff" is overrated, but you know, whatever. You can also stand back and admire the design of the sink with its flat angles and wall faucet, but if you are like me and like to use the sink for common pedestrian purposes like teeth-brushing and face-washing, then don't be surprised when you and everything around you gets splashed. Maybe it's a performance piece and you are the star. Up to your own interpretation.

I found the front desk staff and the valets to be pleasant and very accommodating. Housekeeping did a fine job as well. Chocolates on the bed every night were lovely.

The location is great, right in the theater district and within walking distance to everything - we even walked all the way to the Stone Arch Bridge and across the river.

One thing is that you should try to book through the hotel's website - there's deals there that include complimentary overnight parking and free wi-fi. We didn't, we tried to be frugal and booked through a discount website and wound up paying about $30/night to park (and almost wound up paying $12.95/day for internet but then I realized it wasn't free so we just used the 3G on our phones).

So, if you're that type of person who can appreciate a stay at Le Meridien Chambers, then you'll also skip the Mall of Americas and watch a show at the Guthrie Theater, take a walk along Uptown and through the Walker Sculpture Garden, and spend an afternoon on Lake Calhoun. We had a great time in Minneapolis - we didn't expect too much and were surprised at how incredibly vibrant and happening this city is. Keep that same mentality about the hotel and you will have a pleasantly happy stay too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed with my partner and was a great choice. The building is very modern, loft style, beautiful interiors and contemporary design. It is very sophisiticated and art oriented with pieces of modern art everywhere. The hotel only has 60 rooms so it feels very private and intimate. We did not run into another guest through the entire stay. The place was quiet, clean and inviting to come back to at the end of your day.

The room was very clean and spacious, the bed is really comfortable. The bathrooms are beautiful, very large and modern looking. The contemporary sinks are great - got the same at home, and no it does not splash unless you have some motor skill problem and can't manage the water stream. Would recommend this hotel to business travelers or couples, maybe not so much for small kids (don't spoil the peace and quiet).

The area around the hotel is very urban, with all kinds of businesses, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Really appreciated the location.

The director of rooms Ms. Nicole Leon-Darrell helped us have an unforgetable stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I was fortunate enough to stay two separate nights at this property last week. For the first night we were in a room on the 4th floor on the end. The room was very large and there was minimal street noise and noise from Eden-the properties outdoor eating area with a cool fire pit. I'm a light sleeper, as was not bothered by either in the least. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The property is an easy roughly seven blocks from the Warehouse/Hennepin light rail stop and you can get there from the airport in 30 minutes on the light rail.
For my second night a few days later I was arriving early in the morning so I called to see if I could check in early. I also inquired if they would give me my SPG member upgrade (the upgrade wasn't honored on my first stay). They did upgrade me to a beautiful suite on the 2nd floor. It had the amazing shower with the rainforest waterfall from the ceiling. There was also a neat bathtub. Again, the bed was one of the most comfortable ever and I was glad to sleep in the next morning. Turndown service came that evening; it had not during my first stay. I was concerned when I saw a large party being hosted in the event space on the 5th floor above my room, but I did not hear any noise from it and only minor noise from the street just below.
Le Meridien is my favorite of the Starwood brands. I love the cool art and I love that their staff aren't snobby like I've found at W's.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Beautiful hotel, huge room with contemporary decor, large rainshower, really nice featherbed. Restaurant at the hotel is great both for food and drinks.
We loved this hotel and recommend it to anyone (business or pleasure). The rates vary, we paid $159 and thought it was a very good value if you like high-end modern hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#9 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#8 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Radisson Blu Minneapolis
#5 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#16 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis

Address: 901 Hennepin Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis is the country's first luxury art hotel. We have 60 guest rooms on 5 floors of 2 historic buildings and offer guests free admission to Walker Art Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Chambers Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.