We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown hotel in the heart of the city's best nightlife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis to your Saves list
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Hennepin Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great downtown hotel in the heart of the city's best nightlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel location is top for Mpls' best downtown bars, clubs, and restaurants - especially in the warmer months when rooftops are open. We splurged a bit on an exec suite - it was fantastic. Big size with 2 bathrooms - but all one room rather than a separate living and sleeping space, so still best for one couple traveling solo. Staff was also really warm and welcoming. Would def stay here again. Breakfast was gross, though, according to my husband. Check out the Walker Arts Center/Loring Park, Seven sushi and steakhouse, and Solera tapas bar all within a short walk (1-2 blocks)...mission was also cool. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Creative Guest Services at Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Greetings esd18,
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your recent experience at Le Méridien Chambers Minneapolis. It's our pleasure to read and respond to your review. I am so glad to hear you loved the location and scope of the guest room. We are sorry to hear your husband did not enjoy his breakfast and want you to know that we believe our guest reviews are vital to the hotel’s success. Please see my follow up message regarding the issues presented in your review to help us deliver a more consistent Le Méridien experience. We invite you back to Le Méridien Chambers for a future art gallery tour, dinner or a guest room stay.

Sincerely,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    70
    19
    13
    5
See reviews for
15
104
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great location in theatre district - right across the street from the Orpheum. Easy 15' minute walk to Walker Art Museum.

Excellent service at front desk. Gay-friendly staff - always a relief for me and my partner when traveling in new cities. Comfortable lobby for getting (complimentary) morning coffee and newspaper. Very interesting, attractive and diverse array of art, including multi-media, in lobby, along hallway walls, in the guest rooms, heck, even in the elevator!

Room was well-insulated from the usual sounds of the city.

Enjoyed the roof-top seating outside the 5th floor bar/restaurant (now closed to guests, I believe). Great views of Minneapolis.

Fitness room was complete with cardio machines, stability ball, free weights and a yoga mat: Who could ask for anything more?

Rating this hotel "very good" and not "excellent" b/c the new lobby-level restaurant and outdoor bar were closed to hotel guests when I stayed there. It was only open to select group of people - seemed like they were "beta-testing" it. Such a tease since both indoor and outdoor venues looked so appealing.

Three out of 4 people in my group staying there liked the matresses and slept well - one of us thought the mattress was too soft and caved-in too much so did not sleep well. She had to remove the pillow-top in order to sleep better!

Parking at the hotel is $30/day if you use their valet service. I recommend you park at the public garage next door for much less. Street parking is pretty good.

Room Tip: See if you can get a deal like I did on Expedia - great value if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Creative Guest Services at Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Greetings, Claire S!
Thank you for sharing details from your recent stay! We were happy to hear you explored the contemporary art collection and took pleasure in our onsite amenities. We invite you back to discover our new restaurant, MARIN, serving up fresh and local ingredients in a farm to table dining style.

Cheers!
Le Méridien Chambers Minneapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just spent the weekend in one of the fabulous corner suites (thanks for the upgrade!). Wow. Beautiful living room, comfy bed, huge bathroom. I believe the shower used 10 gallons a minute, but it was great. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The only downside was a lack of a decent restaurant (note: their new restaurant Marin is set to open soon downstairs). The Chambers on the top floor had an unusual menu and wasn't all that great. Hoping that's not a reflection of what's to come. Fortunately, within a 2 block radius there's tons of places to eat, drink, and shop. The hotel location is nearly perfect for a fun weekend in the city. To avoid the $30 hotel parking, there's a parking garage right next door that was $8 a day. The hotel is attached to an art gallery but some of the pieces were a little odd - the creepy mountain men by the elevators and the exhibit next to it of hefty trash bags didn't really jive with the relaxed, clean vibe a hotel is looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Creative Guest Services at Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Kimwojo1,

We appreciate the detailed feedback form your recent stay at Le Méridien Chambers! We want to apologize that you found the dining experience on the rooftop below expectations. We can promise you that MARIN Restaurant & bar provides culinary excellence with a healthy, sustainable approach with fresh ingredients and impeccable ambiance. MARIN is open and currently servicing hotels guests. We hope to have another opportunity to have you back to experience the newest addition to Le Méridien Chambers.

Have a great summer!
Creative Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAn Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was looking for a Starwood property in the central business district of Minneapolis and booked the Meridien Chambers. Having stayed at Le Meridiens before, I was expecting a high-rise property with the typical look of a Le Meridien. When I stepped into the Chambers, I was quite surprised. The hotel felt more like an art studio than a hotel. My room was very large, and very square. And very modern. While it was comfortable, it was too stark for my tastes. The bathroom was large, but there was no tub, and the shower only had the ceiling spout. I found the down mattress pad very soft also. The hotel's location was good as Minneapolis is quite small. 10 minute walk to the Twins stadium and numerous restaurants and bars....Was it OK? Yes. Would I stay there again? Probably not....

Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Creative Guest Services at Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
badgoalie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with Le Méridien Chambers along with the Trip Advisor community. We appreciate the overall positive review and wanted to say thank you for allowing us to offer you a firsthand experience. Although we would love for you to be back at Le Méridien, we hope you enjoyed the possible New Perspective that our hotel might have opened you up to. Please make sure to visit Downtown Minneapolis again; there is so much to offer.

Best,
Le Méridien Chambers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I spent four nights at Le Meridien Chambers and really wish I could have stayed on indefinitely. The staff displayed a perfect mix of professionalism and friendliness. The hotel was absolutely beautiful, from the common spaces to the modern, clean design of the guestrooms. Comfortable bed, great cleaning staff, warm tile floors in the bathroom... It's like they actually want their customers to be comfortable and enjoy their stay. The hotel is also in the middle of everything, and easy walk to performance venues, shopping, or a great meal. And the Walker is a great walk (or quick bus or taxi ride) away as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Creative Guest Services at Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
ChicagoRicky,

Hello from Le Méridien Chambers! Thank you for this generous review; it’s our pleasure to read, share & to respond! We couldn’t be happier that you found our hotel to fit all of your needs during your travel to Minneapolis! Our cultural center is The Walker Art Center which is definitely a must see so it’s great to read you were able to enjoy the current exhibitions being offered! We invite you back to our hotel to enjoy a new perspective; different from the last!

Best,
Creative Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Inspiring spaces, helpful staff, great location. I traveled alone to Minneapolis to check out the music scene and see hometown hero Prince. The staff at Le Meridien helped me get to where I needed to go. My room was spacious and sparkling. I could walk to most places and appreciated being so close to Dakota Jazz Club and First Avenue. I highly recommend this hotel , the price is great for what you get. Appreciated the fresh coffee and Star Tribune or New York Times every morning as well. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Creative Guest Services at Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Broadwayrhythm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your incredible story with the Trip Advisor community! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest during your special trip to Minneapolis! The doors of Le Méridien Chambers await you for your next arrival.

Cheers,
Creative Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Le Meridien Chambers because we were seeing a show at State Theatre. It's conveniently located by both State and Orpheum Theatre and walkable to many other downtown hotspots such as the Local, the Newsroom and the Dakota Jazz Club. The hotel was very boutique feeling and we really enjoyed our stay. I was concerned when I booked the smallest room that it might be a tight squeeze, but it was the perfect size for a traveling couple, any additional room would just be filler.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Creative Guest Services at Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello Molly N,

Thank you for your recent visit to Le Méridien Chambers Minneapolis! We appreciate you taking the time to provide great feedback with us & the Trip Advisor community! It’s great to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel in the heart of the theatre district! We look forward to having you back as a guest soon!

Best,
Creative Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis

Address: 901 Hennepin Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis is the country's first luxury art hotel. We have 60 guest rooms on 5 floors of 2 historic buildings and offer guests free admission to Walker Art Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Chambers Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.