We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinky Town Classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mesa Pizza by the Slice

Mesa Pizza by the Slice
1323 4th St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-2028 (University / Dinkytown)
612-436-3001
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 1,596 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $2 - $3
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: University / Dinkytown
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinky Town Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Mesa is just a classic. Cheap meal, the staff are awesome and the pizza is fantastic! The Mac & Cheese is definitely the classic for U of M students.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza; Quirky variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Stopped in here on the 19th on my way home from work. They have a wide variety of pizzas, such as Chicken Alfredo Pizza, Southwest Taco Pizza, Mac & Cheese Pizza and a few others. Pretty sure they'll do custom, but I can't recall exactly what the sign said.

The Cheese Pizza and Pepperoni Pizza slices are the cheapest @ $3.25 each, while the others are $3.75 each. The slices are quite big - probably from a 16 inch pizza - and they are thin crust with a minimal amount of edge crust (which I like).

I had a slice of Southwest Taco Pizza and a slice of Pepperoni & Sausage Pizza. The sausage was cut into large squares, but otherwise wasn't anything special. The Pepperoni & Sausage was good, but the sausage really didn't have any flavor. The Southwest Taco Pizza was drizzled with cheese sauce, had onions, nicely seasoned ground beef, a little medium salsa, and other toppings you would typically find in a taco. This slice was far and away the better of the two and I highly recommend trying it.

My two slices and a can of soda came to $8 and change. Definitely worth it and I will absolutely return. If the Pepperoni & Sausage Pizza had been better, I would have rated this five stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The variety is a winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

So this is how it works - they lay out a variety of different types of pizzas for you to choose from, and I do mean a variety - at any given time there are at least a dozen to choose from. You pick your slice, they pop it in the oven for a couple of minutes, and you have hot, great, custom slices for a few dollars.

I would make a recommendation, but I there are enough choices that you can find something you like. The only advice I will give is to skip the plain pizza - this a great, low-risk way to try something new.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great variety and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I needed to grab a late lunch, and pizza always works for me. Even at 2 pm, Mesa had a large variety of pizza slices to choose from ranging from standard to innovative/unusual. I went with a boring choice of pepperoni and mushroom. The mushrooms were fresh, not canned, and cut thick so the you really got the mushroom flavor.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A very nice slice! Mashed Potatos? Yup!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Where do you go when you have a hankering for a mashed potato pizza? Now wait, I know what you're thinking, mashed potato pizza? Really? Yes, really! Try a slice of the Southern Gentlemen and you will become a fan like me! This pie stars Cajun chicken, mashed potatoes, bacon, I saw that eye roll, and cheddar cheese. I would never have ordered a whole pie; however, by the slice it was worth a try and I am glad I did.

We found this nondescript typical college pizza joint by accident on a Sunday stroll in Dinkytown. There are only a couple of tables if you choose to munch your slice there, but I suspect their business is mostly takeout. I did see several full pies go out the door while we ate. Although I didn't count the pies on their line, I guess there must have been about a dozen pizzas to choose your slice from. Full pie or slice; totally worth a try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesa Pizza by the Slice also viewed

 

Been to Mesa Pizza by the Slice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mesa Pizza by the Slice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.