We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terric food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A La Salsa

A La Salsa
Lake St. and Chicago Ave., Minneapolis, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #421 of 1,596 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
evansport, ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terric food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Table of four, we had two specials --the steak with vegetables and smashed potatoes.
Chile rellanos and fish tacos also very good
Shared a sangria carafe with fresh fruit. Wonderful attentive service
Would definitely recommend to groups of friends or families.
Overall exellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mexican Food in Minnesota... About What I Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I really wanted a margarita and we were at the Global Market (which is awesome), so we ended up here. It was totally empty on a Thursday afternoon, so we had great service.
The food, however, was less than great and neither of us cleaned our plates (which we usually do). The margarita was average.
But, really, Mexican food in the middle of the Midwest? Could definitely have been worse.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Had the best Mexican food EVER at A La Salsa! Not only that, but our waiter (Raul) I think gave us the best service, better than any four star restuarant I have ever eaten at in Minneapolis, and I have eaten at a lot of them. Restaurants like Bar La Grassa and Cosmos should send their servers here to see how to give really great service. Also, if you are in the area, go to El Mercado and pick up candy and the mexican candy store, the watermelon suckers with chili powder and salt!
Raul even had the salsa maker make up a special batch for us that wasn't on the menu!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“service was pretty bad last weekend :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

service was pretty bad last weekend :(

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“The food and ambiance are both fantastic. Plus, we were serenaded by an excellent Mexican guitar player and singer...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

The food and ambiance are both fantastic. Plus, we were serenaded by an excellent Mexican guitar player and singer. They also have very affordable carafes of Sangria and excellent Mole sauce!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A La Salsa also viewed

 

Been to A La Salsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A La Salsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.