We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant small plates at the bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Change

Sea Change
806 Second Street Street, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Downtown)
(612) 225-6499
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sea Change is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #230 of 1,598 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $16 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Chicago Ave.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Elegant small plates at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Well presented small plates at the bar in an elegant setting. Went here after a convention event at neighboring museum and was pleased by the drive and setting in the lobby of the Tyrone Guthrie Theater building.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    49
    26
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have heard about this restaurant from so many friends and finally had a chance to try it last night. It was as wonderful as had been described! A beautiful ambience and a bustling scene. Highly recommend making reservations since the Guthrie Theater crowd fills the restaurant for dinner before the show. Our meals, from the wonderful bread basket to the skirt steak (mine) and cod (husband), were mouth-wateringly fantastic! Our server, Peter, was charming, attentive, but not intrusive. It was a fabulous meal and we are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer Service?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times and it seems to be gradually declining in terms of food and especially service. The food is beautifully presented though portions are quite small. There is a lot going on with each plate and the wait staff rushed to explain what each thing is on our plates.

I was part of a large party and though both waitresses were very nice they were not necessarily engaged in making sure things were running smoothly. We had a dropped plate that actually went behind my friend's back after hitting his suit jacket. No offer of cleaning.

Additionally the restaurant has a frustrating policy that "bar food" cannot be served in the dining room. Someone in the group had eaten french fries before at the bar and ordered several orders for the table to share. We were told that we could not eat them as we are at a table and not at the bar though we were just several feet from the bar.. We were told that this is not flexible and that it was management's decision. We pressed about this and there is no answer nor did the person making the decision ever see fit to discuss it with us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Memorable, in a bad way”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Way to ruin our first anniversary, Sea Change! We decided to dine at the restaurant for our first anniversary dinner. When we arrived, the restaurant was not busy but it took our waiter a while to visit us. He asked if we had ever dined there before, and after we said "no", he started rambling off a slew of information. We intended to order an entree each and a few sides to share. Apparently, this was not what our waiter wanted us to order and somehow with all of his fast, convoluted speech we ended up with a salad and another starter, two entrees and no sides. If I were to have chosen my own salad, I would not have chosen the salad that was given to us. It arrived at the table and we ate it. The busboy came to the table after we finished and asked if we were expecting another side to come so he could set us up with the appropriate silverware. We said, "we think so!?", still very confused. Well, a second side never did arrive at our table. When the entrees were set in front of us, the waiter spewed out a bunch of information about what was on the plate. He said it so quickly and ran off that we had no idea what we were actually eating. He did not even stop by once to ask if the food was good. If he had, I would have let him know that my fish was stone cold. The other entree had the most minuscule portion of fish we had ever seen at a restaurant. So frustrated (and still hungry!) we decided that we just wanted to go home. We waited for our waiter to come back and when he did, my husband asked for the check and said that we were going to "eat and run", meaning that we didn't want to sit and wait there any longer. Apparently, the waiter took that as we were going to "dine and dash" and said, "I will not let you leave, if you do I will tackle you and end you." Wow! Maybe it was a joke, maybe he meant it. Whatever the case, that was severely inappropriate. We were in such shock that we didn't even respond. We paid our $70 (plus an 18% tip because the busboy was attentive) and left, feeling frustrated, mistreated, duped out of our hard earned money and hungry. There are SO many amazing and affordable seafood restaurants in Minneapolis, that we will never, ever return here and we will suggest that no one else does as well. It was a memorable experience for our first anniversary, but unfortunately it will be remembered for all of the wrong reasons.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food but very expensive for such small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had dinner at this place a dew days ago and had a food time. I ordered their frilled octopus which was delicious but expensive and really served in ridiculously small portion. The presentation was very pretty. They have an impressive wine collection but once again very expensive. Our bill came up to $140 for two appetizers two entrees and one bottle of Spanish white wine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Change also viewed

 

Been to Sea Change? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Change, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.