We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A south-side gem with great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Chicago Ave. South, Minneapolis, MN 55407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A south-side gem with great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Spent three nights here for a conference, and found it comfortable, quiet, and well-appointed. Staff were uniformly cheerful, pleasant and courteous, and went above and beyond -- particularly with regard to the shuttle service they provided to and from the conference. The location was good for transit (there's a bus loop right outside) -- frequent buses go to (and past) the Light Rail line which goes downtown, to the airport and beyond to the Mall of America. My room overlooked the bus loop, and the noise from it wasn't intrusive. Room service food was terrific, and arrived ahead of the estimated time; the hamburger I had in the in-house restaurant was also excellent. I liked the Sheraton's option of not having the room made up every day; I can make my own bed and don't need new towels or the toilet cleaned daily, and I appreciated the $5 in-house credit I received for each day I made up my own room. The bathroom had a huge shower stall (no bath) and was quite large in general, though it took me a bit to find the light switch -- located on the wall behind one of the doors -- without a light to find it! The desk ran almost the entire width of the room, which was great to spread my stuff out on.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    50
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
40
23
18
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

A colleague/friend and I stayed at the Sheraton Midtown to attend a conference in St. Paul. The double room was adequate for our needs. I think the photo of the room on the web site is accurate. The beds were comfortable and there is a good-sized workspace. Our room on the 3rd floor faced downtown and the bicycling path. It was clean and quiet.

The conference planners had arranged for the hotel to provide shuttle service to and from St. Paul. The hotel also provides shuttle service to and from locations within a 5 mile (I believe) radius so it was extremely easy to be able to get around the city for a bit of sight-seeing too. The driving staff was great!

The location is somewhat out of the way and the neighborhood maybe a bit iffy so, again, the shuttle service is a terrific bonus. The hotel is very close to a large, regional hospital so it seems to be a good location for people who wish to be nearby hospitalized family members. The hotel restaurant has a limited menu but the food is good with good-sized portions. Being connected to the Global Market is a plus as a variety of food is available there, as well as shopping and an upbeat atmosphere. This was a good place to eat/shop/spend time to avoid the inclement weather.

The pool/spa area was very clean and well maintained. I didn't use the exercise facility but it also looked clean and had a good variety of machines.

I would stay at this hotel again primarily because of the cleanliness and the staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Very nice hotel. Have stayed here twice now. I am not sure I am going to stay here again though. It is a nice place, but in the middle of a very run down area. There is a shipping dock behind the building, and trucks were loading in the middle of the night or something, which kept waking me up every 20 minutes or so, until about 2am.

Other than that a pretty nice place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Stayed here last weekend as we were travelling to Minneapolis for shopping and to attend a hockey game. The hotel is very nice and staff were quite polite and helpful.
Room was nice and clean and the facilities were all very nice as well. Just as good as I had expected. The actual location of the hotel seems a bit odd as it is not in the nicest of areas and there is really nothing of interest within a few blocks. However it is easy access to most of Minneapolis.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

The Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown is a fairly new hotel. I stayed here for several weeks on business. Rooms are comfortable and reasonably spacious, decorated in an understated "clubby" style, with the typical [nice] Sheraton beds. My only minor criticisms are that they have individual air conditioning/heating units rather than central air and that the windows don't open. Corner suites are particularly nice and feature working gas-operated fireplaces. The hotel has a pool and a surprisingly large, well-equipped gym (for a hotel gym, at least). Service was generally very friendly, and while I had an occasional problem or two (for example, they didn't have the type of room I'd booked available one night), they tried hard to rectify the issue. This hotel doesn't try to nickle-and-dime you like many upscale brands; internet access, gym/pool access, and parking are all free. As an SPG platinum member, I was almost always upgraded, either to the club level or to a suite.

The hotel is located next to the Midtown Global Market, an unusual and interesting collection of ethnic shops and restaurants in a renovated Sears building. It's also adjacent to the Midtown Greenway, a bike/pedestrian path connected to Minneapolis' fantastic network of bike paths. It's easy to bike or skate over to Lake Calhoun, Lake of the Isles, or the Mississippi river, as the Greenway leads directly to all of these places. The neighborhood is not the most upscale, however, and I wouldn't feel comfortable taking an extended walk at night. It's very useful to have a car to travel to the downtown or uptown neighborhoods (both of which are close, but not close enough to walk to). There are several good, authentic Mexican restaurants and bakeries in the immediate area.

While not the most luxurious hotel in Minneapolis, this hotel had a winning combination of comfort, reasonable pricing, and friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Great location, basically on Lake which is the place for great (and cheap) Latin food.
Large room & bathroom, and a big shower!
Nice workout area & changing rooms.
Excellent staff.

Drawbacks:
NO drawers in the room. What's up with that?
Also, no light near the wardrobe.
Very little storage space in the bathroom: only one hook, small counter.
The elevators were very slow; we spent a lot of time waiting.
The parking lot was quite small.

We paid extra to stay on the club floor, but would have liked to have its benefits more clearly explained. No evening snacks on the weekend (breakfast instead?) surprised us. There was no outline of what to expect on the Club floor.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

If your in the Minneapolis downtown area seeking a hotel I would highly recommend this hotel. The customer service is the best I have ever experienced. You are treated like family!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel

Address: 2901 Chicago Ave. South, Minneapolis, MN 55407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel is steps away from the Midtown Global Market, and also close to The Minneapolis Convention Center, Orchestra Hall, Target Center, the Metrodome and Target Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Minneapolis
Minneapolis Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.