We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best customer service in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Chicago Ave. South, Minneapolis, MN 55407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Marshall, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best customer service in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

If your in the Minneapolis downtown area seeking a hotel I would highly recommend this hotel. The customer service is the best I have ever experienced. You are treated like family!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    48
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
38
21
18
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
iowa city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Just returned from two nights at the Sheraton Midtown. Lake Street is maybe not one I'd do too much walking on after dark, but what makes this location great is the proximity to Uptown, downtown and U of M. We brought our bikes and the Greenway, a veritable interstate highway for bikes, runs east and west right behind the hotel! The ENTIRE city is within reach by bike within 20-30 minutes tops. There is also a bus transit center right at the hotel. We hopped the 21 bus going west to get to Uptown. Very convenient. The Midtown Global Exchange is a good place to find a snack or coffee, too. Right across the parking lot. We'd stay here again, and recommend to people who want to get out and explore. (Especially on two wheels!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We spent a long weekend here visiting friends in Minneapolis. Stayed on their club floor & took advantage of their "pay the year you were born" promo, which made the weekend a terrific deal. The room & bath were spacious enough, typical of a good business-class hotel. Indoor pool, whirlpool & fitness center were very nice. Service had some hitches, but generally friendly & accomodating. Weekend buffet breakfast is much better than the weekday club-floor continental. Wonderful pet policy--no extra fees, okay to leave kenneled pets unattended. (Thankfully, ours behaved!) Neighborhood is described as "transitional", an urban area with many small immigrant businesses & an indoor marketplace across the street. Pleasant patio behind hotel & bike/sports trail beyond that. Though we didn't use it, there is some shuttle service. Lounge on club floor is quite large, which made it a great place for our group to hang out.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

My son was flown to Minneapolis the day after he was born because of heart problems. He was at the Children's Hospital downtown for 3 weeks so I ended up bouncing from hotel to hotel. This hotel was by far the best out of all of them! The staff was wonderful! The room was beautiful and clean. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The area doesn't look like much because of the bus depot right there and sketchy people walking the street but I'm from a small North Dakota town and I felt completely staying here all by myself. My son will be 2yrs old now and I'm planning a trip back and this is the hotel I will be staying at!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Had a conference here and decided to stay right in the hotel. Honestly given it was Minneapolis I should have known better, and went for a Super 8 or Doubletree further away. The rooms are much tinier than they appear online. The beds are stiff and not very comfortable. There is no complimentary continental breakfast, you have to pay for parking on top of your bill. I've stayed in much cheaper and much better hotels in my life.For the money I expected a whole lot more, and seeing the bill for 5 days left a sour taste in my mouth, I got took.

  • Liked — The conference was in the hotel
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

This hotel looks average on the outside, but the the interior is quite nice and up to par with most of the many Sheraton's I have stayed at. The rooms are large, and well maintained, and the bathrooms were clean and looked new. The fitness center is excellent, and most of the exercise bikes / ellipticals have their own TV built in. There is also a nice fairly large indoor pool. The location is not great though, it sits in a rough looking area outside of downtown Minneapolis, next to a major bus/train station, and there are usually some sketchy looking folks hanging around. There are also no decent food options nearby within walking distance, not that you would want to be walking around in that area anyhow. But other than that, it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Driving up to the hotel, you would never think that a very nice Sheraton would be in this slightly ramshackle neighborhood. There is a rent-a-cop standing outside the door at night as well. Don't let that scare you away, as it's actually quite safe, and the hotel is one of the better Sheraton's at which I have stayed.

First off, the Internet was free - typically they make you pay an arm and a leg for it. Second, the room was nicely appointed and everything looked very clean and relatively new. The room size was a bit small, but as a solo business traveler, that does not make much difference. The bathroom was also very nicely designed, with some frosted glass in the bathroom door as a nice touch. The breakfast room service was on time and my waffle was still warm.

I would definitely stay here again, particularly if your time took you away from the hotel area. If you're looking for downtown, this is not the place to stay - but if you need a nice place slightly lower in price where you won't spend all your time - this is certainly a place to return to.

  • Liked — Clean, free Internet
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel

Address: 2901 Chicago Ave. South, Minneapolis, MN 55407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#17 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel is steps away from the Midtown Global Market, and also close to The Minneapolis Convention Center, Orchestra Hall, Target Center, the Metrodome and Target Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Minneapolis
Minneapolis Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.