We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Became my home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Chicago Ave. South, Minneapolis, MN 55407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
North Dakota
1 review
“Became my home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

My son was flown to Minneapolis the day after he was born because of heart problems. He was at the Children's Hospital downtown for 3 weeks so I ended up bouncing from hotel to hotel. This hotel was by far the best out of all of them! The staff was wonderful! The room was beautiful and clean. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The area doesn't look like much because of the bus depot right there and sketchy people walking the street but I'm from a small North Dakota town and I felt completely staying here all by myself. My son will be 2yrs old now and I'm planning a trip back and this is the hotel I will be staying at!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    53
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
46
24
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Had a conference here and decided to stay right in the hotel. Honestly given it was Minneapolis I should have known better, and went for a Super 8 or Doubletree further away. The rooms are much tinier than they appear online. The beds are stiff and not very comfortable. There is no complimentary continental breakfast, you have to pay for parking on top of your bill. I've stayed in much cheaper and much better hotels in my life.For the money I expected a whole lot more, and seeing the bill for 5 days left a sour taste in my mouth, I got took.

  • Liked — The conference was in the hotel
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

This hotel looks average on the outside, but the the interior is quite nice and up to par with most of the many Sheraton's I have stayed at. The rooms are large, and well maintained, and the bathrooms were clean and looked new. The fitness center is excellent, and most of the exercise bikes / ellipticals have their own TV built in. There is also a nice fairly large indoor pool. The location is not great though, it sits in a rough looking area outside of downtown Minneapolis, next to a major bus/train station, and there are usually some sketchy looking folks hanging around. There are also no decent food options nearby within walking distance, not that you would want to be walking around in that area anyhow. But other than that, it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Driving up to the hotel, you would never think that a very nice Sheraton would be in this slightly ramshackle neighborhood. There is a rent-a-cop standing outside the door at night as well. Don't let that scare you away, as it's actually quite safe, and the hotel is one of the better Sheraton's at which I have stayed.

First off, the Internet was free - typically they make you pay an arm and a leg for it. Second, the room was nicely appointed and everything looked very clean and relatively new. The room size was a bit small, but as a solo business traveler, that does not make much difference. The bathroom was also very nicely designed, with some frosted glass in the bathroom door as a nice touch. The breakfast room service was on time and my waffle was still warm.

I would definitely stay here again, particularly if your time took you away from the hotel area. If you're looking for downtown, this is not the place to stay - but if you need a nice place slightly lower in price where you won't spend all your time - this is certainly a place to return to.

  • Liked — Clean, free Internet
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel a couple times and have found it excellent every time. It's a smaller, boutique hotel . There is a parking lot right in front of the hotel which is very convenient and easy. The hotel is located in a central part of the city - short distance to downtown and the museums. The rooms are nicer than most Westin hotels that I've stayed in. Very clean and modern decor. Free wi-fi. Large flat panel TV. Great products in the bathroom. The only downfall is the neighborhood -it's a little rough but the hotel is secure. This is a gem of a hotel.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — neighborhood
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

This is a really nice and comfortable hotel on an unfortunate part of town. I give this hotel a solid rating for the staff, gym, and rooms, but a low ranking because of the area. If you need to be close to the hospital then this hotel will be the best choice, but if you are planning to visit downtown Minneapolis, the Mall of America, uptown, or St. Paul, I’d choose to stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — comfy beds
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

I almost didn't book my stay with this hotel because of some of the reviews, but I'm so glad that I went with my hunch. From the minute I walked in the door I felt like I was at home. A young female manager walked by and immediately said, "Welcome" I walked to the front desk and checked in quickly, they even walked around the side of the desk to personally hand me my keys and showed me where the elevator was. Most Sheratons i've stayed at I felt like a number, but this was a great overall experience.

I ordered room service and it was quite tasty, the prices were reasonable as well. When I went down to the bar later that evening the manager that welcomed me earlier as I was walking in said hello again to me as soon as I sat down at the bar. Very welcoming, staff in the restaurant was great.

Although it is a couple miles outside of downtown, they have a free shuttle that brought me to the front door of the building my meeting was in.

I would highly reccomend this hotel, great stay!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel

Address: 2901 Chicago Ave. South, Minneapolis, MN 55407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#24 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel is steps away from the Midtown Global Market, and also close to The Minneapolis Convention Center, Orchestra Hall, Target Center, the Metrodome and Target Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Minneapolis
Minneapolis Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.