We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Newer Hotel in So, So Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Chicago Ave. South, Minneapolis, MN 55407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Pewaukee, WIsconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Nice Newer Hotel in So, So Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our family stayed for one night in this hotel while visiting our son at a nearby college. The hotel is either relatively new or was just completely renovated. Our room on the third floor was very nice and luxurious. Nice linens, spacious bathroom, etc. The common areas of the hotel are well appointed. The pool and exercise area was in good condition although the whirlpool was broken during our stay which was a disapointment. The lobby is very inviting with a fireplace and nice furniture. Just off the lobby is a small restaurant and bar. We didn't have any food but we did have some drinks. The bartender was very friendly.

The neighborhood was in an older and not very desirably part of town. There was a transit (bus) transfer point right out the front door so there were people hanging around the parking area which was some what of a concern for us. However, the parking lot was well lit and had a gate. Although the neighborhood wasn't the greatest, it didn't take long to get to downtown Minneapolis or other areas....you just had to go thru some areas that weren't the greatest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments during your recent stay at the Sheraton Midtown. The Hotel is relatively new, built seven years ago. I will be sure to pass along your complimetary comments to the staff regarding your stay. I do apologize about the whirlpool as we had a pump that failed adn needed replacement. I hope that you were able to use our shuttle during your stay as it is nice not to have to find places to park when going downtown.

Warm regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    48
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
38
21
18
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently had my hip resurfaced at the Abbott Medical Center. The Sheraton is on the same complex and offered free shuttle rides to the Medical Center. I also received a discounted rate for my guest who made the trip with me. The room was very comfortable, and was perfect for my needs as patient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Midtown. We are fortunate to be close to the medical facilities as well as having shuttel service. We hope to see you the next time you are in Minneapolis.

Warm regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently had an extended stay at this hotel while a family member had surgery at Abbott Northwest. (The hotel offers a discount if you have family at Abbott) It was bitter cold outside and the skyway connecting the hotel to the hospital is a godsend! The desk employees could not have been more helpful to us. We were able to check in (early) when we arrived and park are car there. Parking at Abbott is tricky and expensive. There is a fee at the Sheraton to park, but there is a shuttle that goes back and forth if one doesn't want to walk. This was also wonderful for my elderly parent to be transported back and forth. Again, the staff was so polite, kind, and helpful. (They let us keep the car there for a few hours after we checked out). The dining room is nice and food is good. The room was very, very comfortable and a relaxing place to go to when one is under so much stress of a families health circumstances. The gym is great and so is the pool. The location of the hotel is not in the best of neighborhoods...but, when one needs to be close to the hospital complex, it is perfect. I wish there were a way to get even a greater discount for families who want to be near their loved one when in a an extended hospital stay. Adds up quickly! But, for a few nights, this is great.

Room Tip: There is a cafeteria in Kinney if you don't want to travel back to the hotel for meals/snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for the great comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Midtown. I will cetainly pass them along to our associates. We are vey lucky to be so close to the hospital as well as having an indoor route to get there if you do not want to take our shuttle. We are also fortunate because the fitness center is a jewel compared to most hotels. In the Summer, the Midtown Greenway is a great way to get to our city lakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stopped by the cafe in the hotel after a visit to the Hospital. It is a charming rustic decor place.
The is reasonable for a Hotel Restaurant in regards to cost. The food is well prepared and the coffee was spot on. I plan to visit here again sometime. Also it helps one forget about the not so good aspect of the midtown area, which can be DISMAL. Enjoy a dine there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. The restaurant staff always does a super job and we love our proximity to Abbott and Children's Hospital. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Ca.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Came to Minneapolis for a couple days in mid December to visit customers. I would say this Sheraton is average. Rooms were quite high and not a great location. Really no good restaurants in the area and far from the nearest light rail.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I hope you will return so we can shuttle you to some fun new neighborhood restaurants. When it gets a little warmer, we have an outdoor patio for dining and a bikeway adjacent to the hotel for easy access to Uptown restaurants.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlland, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

While visiting a sick family member at Abbot Northwestern Hospital we stayed at the Sheraton.

We found the facilty to be in a great location for visiting the hospital. There is a skywalk with access to the hotel connected to the hospital so no need to walk outside or move your car to get to the hospital.

The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable.

I ate grilled swordfish in the restaurant and would highly recommend it. We found meals to be a good value with large portion sizes and service excellent

Most of all we found the staff very friendly and helpful. I would like to especially mention Ceclia who worked at the continental breakfast in the 4th floor club lounge, and Katie in the lobby who went out of their way to help us enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Recent Stay at Midtown - I'm glad your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. I appreciate and will pass along your comments in regards to our team members and our restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.


Warm Regards,


Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for a week. Overall, it is above average. The room is clean and the bed is very comfortable. Although our room facing the main street but still barely can hear the noise from outside.
The only downside is the housekeeping. I noticed there are couple times they don't refill the coffee packs (by right, we should have three Starbucks coffee complimentary), as well as the toilet rolls.
It is not very far from Mall of America (about 4 miles) and also same distances to downtown. Can easily access by the bus at the bus stop beside the hotel.
There is spacious parking lot front of hotel.
Recommend the Global Market just across the street. You can find many different types of food there, like Mexican, american, Vietnamese and etc. The price is reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Above Average - Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your feedback for improvement and I have reviewed your comments our Housekeeping Team. Thanks for your comments in regards to our location, parking, and the Global Market. We believe the Global Market is a great attraction in our Midtown neighborhood. We look forward to your return.


Warm Regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel

Address: 2901 Chicago Ave. South, Minneapolis, MN 55407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#17 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel is steps away from the Midtown Global Market, and also close to The Minneapolis Convention Center, Orchestra Hall, Target Center, the Metrodome and Target Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Minneapolis
Minneapolis Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Minneapolis Midtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.