We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of al Vento

al Vento
5001 34th Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401
612-724-3009
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 1,551 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: 50th & Hiawatha LRT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Was taken to restaurant by my son and wife. They had just moved to Minneapolis and this was our reward for helping unpack the Uhaul. I would definitely unload the truck again if a meal at this place was the payment. The food was outstanding and the waiter was very helpful. Great menu and the wine hit the spot. Would recommend this reataurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    73
    39
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had some bruschetta (the sampler platter), a sausage pizza (with homemade sausage and goat cheese) and a wonderful arugula salad with grapefruit slices. The service was good and the interior was nice. They had some Happy Hour discounts and my friends enjoyed their mixed drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“First Class Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I tried Al Vento a few months ago when they were renovating, and had an ambitious but somewhat strange meal. I recently went back. The renovations were complete an the restaurant had really hit its stride. I had a great meal and a great experience. One of the wonderful things about the restaurant is the excitement an enthusiasm of the staff. The people who work here really like their food, and they are proud of what comes out of the kitchen. The folks at the bar make their own limoncello--much better than the commercial stuff--and a grapefruit version that is truly wonderful. The bar has many unique cocktails, and the bartenders are just as excited about their creations as the kitchen is about the food. I had a fantastic mushroom appetizer stuffed with walnuts, a wonderful veal chop on polenta with snow peas and Gorgonzola butter and an amazing peach semifreddo. Prices are more than reasonable for such great original food, and the service is outstanding. Al Vento is definitely worth a special trip. It is probably the best Italian restaurant in the Twin Cities.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited al Vento for the first time. We choose to sit on the patio, it was a bit hot, but enjoyed it nevertheless. The wine list is fantastic and it half price bottles of wine so how can you go wrong. We started with the fig and Prosciutto pizza. Amazing. So light and tender and flavorful. My bf liked it so much he had it for his entrée. I had the stuffed trout and it was amazing. A lot of meat on that fish. Perfectly cooked. Tender. Light. Crispy. We each ordered a scoop of gelato. Vanilla and spicy chocolate. Really interesting and refreshing. Next time we will for sure try the $20 four course option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“FABULOUS--DATE NIGHT A MUST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My new husband and I visited this restaurant on Tuesday. What we didn't know is they have a "date night" special on Tuesdays and it was fabulous. Four course meal for $20 each, really great deal and the food was fabulous. They also have a very nice patio. Service was a bit slow, but they were busy and it's nice ot not be rushed out. The server was attentive and made sure we were doing ok. Would definitely suggest this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed al Vento also viewed

 

Been to al Vento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage al Vento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.