We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engagement Night dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Vie

La Belle Vie
510 Groveland Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403-3220
612-872-4113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Belle Vie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,587 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Engagement Night dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Best meal of my life. Period.

Had our reservation bumped by 30 minutes, but we were notified ahead of time, and offered free champagne in exchange for the time switch. Of course we said yes.

We did the tasting menu and the wine pairings. I can't say enough how good the food was. The pairings were perfect and delicious/unique. We had a beer/cheese course that was crazy cool and delicious. The presentation, the flavor, the service, and the occasion made it easily the best meal i've ever had. Our server knew everything about anything, and made our night special. So much bubbly!! Thanks LBV

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    24
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“La vie est belle, à la Belle Vie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Let's cut to the chase: 1) James Beard award, 2) three Chef's menu, 3) voted year-after-year best restaurant in town.. so, is La Belle Vie living up to the hype? If you're the kind of gourmet who likes Michelin-starred restaurant, then the answer is a resounding yes (each plate is meticulously prepared with a combination of nouvelle cuisine, artful presentation, and premium ingredients). If you want to have a romantic dinner or a formal business dinner and enjoy a somewhat formal atmosphere, the answer is yes again. And if you don't mind spending over a hundred (closer to two if you go all the way) dollars per person, then LBV is your special occasion restaurant. Otherwise, try something else, like the Butcher and the Boar.
PS: for a taste, try the bar and its appetizers. Especially if you like excellent cocktails.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Fine dining, at it's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I visited La Belle Vie for an early Valentines day dinner and we really enjoyed ourselves. To begin with, the place is quite large, with seperate eating room. We really liked the layout because the different rooms allowed for a more quiet/intimate conversation to be had, instead of talking over the hustle/bussle of the bar. The table spacing was huge, the tables are not close to each other so you actually have a sense of privacy in discussion while you're eating, very well done. The staff are impecably trained and on top of everything; our server was exceptional; an older gentlemen, he wasnt stuffy or stuck-up because he worked at such a nice place, but he was very caring/genuine and overly-concerned about our visit.....A+++

The food was also exceptional. For any reviewers who rate this place low because the portions are smaller, or because the food is expensive, you really need to re-examine where you chose to dine. This place is known for high dollar food because of the skills of the chef's and the high-quality of the experience, its second to few, if none. I had the aged beef and the flavor is simply amazing....literally struggle to think of a better flavored steak...I do wish there was more of it, but totally realize again why there's not. My wife had a shellfish bisque which she was in love with, and what appeared to be a small lobster tail.....she was in heaven.

The wine was outstanding, the ambiance and food were outstanding, the workers from the server, to the coat check person, to the greeter, to the valet kids.....all outstanding and well trained. A+ overall for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“elegant dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

this place has James Beard chef, and excels year after year. do the tasting menu. each plate will demand conversation. it's definitely high end, but this food makes you want to dress up

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Mn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is THE special occasion restaurant in the Twin Cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Twice a year, once for my birthday and once for our anniversary, we visit La Belle Vie.

For a true adventure, the 5 course chef's tasting menu paired with wine is the way to go. There is a 7 course tasting menu, but we don't have the stamina for it.

The menu changes often based on fresh ingredients available. Each dish served is delicious, I find myself saying "that was the best course", then after I'm served the next course, I proclaim, "now, that was the best course." The truth is, everything they create in their kitchen is beautiful, delicious and almost magical.

I've ordered a la carte, but I find the dinner portions too large for my appetite, the tasting is more balanced.

The restaurant is located on the main floor of a historic condominium. The decor blends the old world with the new. The atmosphere is elegant, welcoming and quiet. The service is at an elevated level you would expect for fine dining.

If you want to experience La Belle Vie without spending so much, try the bar. The small plates will give you an idea of what to expect in the main dining room.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Vie also viewed

 

Been to La Belle Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Vie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.