We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La vie est belle, à la Belle Vie!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Vie

La Belle Vie
510 Groveland Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403-3220
612-872-4113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Belle Vie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,583 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“La vie est belle, à la Belle Vie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Let's cut to the chase: 1) James Beard award, 2) three Chef's menu, 3) voted year-after-year best restaurant in town.. so, is La Belle Vie living up to the hype? If you're the kind of gourmet who likes Michelin-starred restaurant, then the answer is a resounding yes (each plate is meticulously prepared with a combination of nouvelle cuisine, artful presentation, and premium ingredients). If you want to have a romantic dinner or a formal business dinner and enjoy a somewhat formal atmosphere, the answer is yes again. And if you don't mind spending over a hundred (closer to two if you go all the way) dollars per person, then LBV is your special occasion restaurant. Otherwise, try something else, like the Butcher and the Boar.
PS: for a taste, try the bar and its appetizers. Especially if you like excellent cocktails.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    24
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fine dining, at it's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I visited La Belle Vie for an early Valentines day dinner and we really enjoyed ourselves. To begin with, the place is quite large, with seperate eating room. We really liked the layout because the different rooms allowed for a more quiet/intimate conversation to be had, instead of talking over the hustle/bussle of the bar. The table spacing was huge, the tables are not close to each other so you actually have a sense of privacy in discussion while you're eating, very well done. The staff are impecably trained and on top of everything; our server was exceptional; an older gentlemen, he wasnt stuffy or stuck-up because he worked at such a nice place, but he was very caring/genuine and overly-concerned about our visit.....A+++

The food was also exceptional. For any reviewers who rate this place low because the portions are smaller, or because the food is expensive, you really need to re-examine where you chose to dine. This place is known for high dollar food because of the skills of the chef's and the high-quality of the experience, its second to few, if none. I had the aged beef and the flavor is simply amazing....literally struggle to think of a better flavored steak...I do wish there was more of it, but totally realize again why there's not. My wife had a shellfish bisque which she was in love with, and what appeared to be a small lobster tail.....she was in heaven.

The wine was outstanding, the ambiance and food were outstanding, the workers from the server, to the coat check person, to the greeter, to the valet kids.....all outstanding and well trained. A+ overall for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“elegant dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

this place has James Beard chef, and excels year after year. do the tasting menu. each plate will demand conversation. it's definitely high end, but this food makes you want to dress up

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Mn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is THE special occasion restaurant in the Twin Cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Twice a year, once for my birthday and once for our anniversary, we visit La Belle Vie.

For a true adventure, the 5 course chef's tasting menu paired with wine is the way to go. There is a 7 course tasting menu, but we don't have the stamina for it.

The menu changes often based on fresh ingredients available. Each dish served is delicious, I find myself saying "that was the best course", then after I'm served the next course, I proclaim, "now, that was the best course." The truth is, everything they create in their kitchen is beautiful, delicious and almost magical.

I've ordered a la carte, but I find the dinner portions too large for my appetite, the tasting is more balanced.

The restaurant is located on the main floor of a historic condominium. The decor blends the old world with the new. The atmosphere is elegant, welcoming and quiet. The service is at an elevated level you would expect for fine dining.

If you want to experience La Belle Vie without spending so much, try the bar. The small plates will give you an idea of what to expect in the main dining room.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Unquestionably the Best Restaurant in Mpls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Set in a classic old building, La Belle Vie is first class from beginning to end. Start your evening in the large and comfortable bar with a cocktail, and then transfer into the intimate dining room beyond. Our service was impeccable, the food endlessly interesting and delicious, and we left many dollars lighter and agreeing it was worth every penny. The chef has arranged some tasting menus that were really fun to go through, we would recommend them. Try the interesting cocktails too. Not for the cheap of heart.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Vie also viewed

 

Been to La Belle Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Vie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;